Archive for March, 2009
If you’re still getting cold weather, you may want to warm up with this recipe for clam chowder. My husband made it last weekend and it was delicious. It’s a New England-style chowder with lots of milk and cream, so I didn’t eat too much. But it wasn’t easy to resist; it was really good. This would be a good recipe to serve to non-celiacs because it doesn’t call for very much flour. Actually, you don’t have to use flour at all! And, did I mention it was delicious?
Gluten-Free Clam Chowder Recipe
4 slices bacon
1/2 large onion, chopped (about 1 Cup)
4 Cups diced potatoes
1 (8 oz.) bottle of clam juice
1 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
2 (6 oz.) cans of clams (one can minced clams, one can whole clams)
3 TBSP brown rice flour* (or 1 1/2 TBSP cornstarch or 2 TBSP arrowroot starch)
2 Cups half-and-half
1 Cup milk
* Since this is just used to thicken the soup, you can use a variety of flours or starches. We used superfinely ground brown rice flour, but cornstarch works very well, as does arrowroot starch.
- In a large saucepan, cook bacon over medium-low heat until crispy. Remove bacon and allow to drain on paper towels and cool.
- Add onion to the saucepan and cook in the bacon fat. Cook the onion on medium heat until tender and translucent.
- Add potatoes, clam juice, salt and pepper. Cover and simmer until the potatoes are tender — about 15 minutes.
- Then add the clams (with liquid) and half-and-half to the saucepan.
- In a small bowl, whisk the flour (or starch) into the milk, and add to the saucepan.
- Stirring frequently, cook over medium heat until the chowder thickens — about 5 minutes.
- Crumble the cooked bacon and sprinkle on top of individual servings. Makes 4 – 6 servings, depending on your appetite.
For more gluten-free meal ideas, be sure to visit “What Can I Eat That’s Gluten-Free?” at The Gluten-Free Homemaker.
Check out these gluten-free events happening around the U.S. in March.
Yes, you can celebrate St. Patrick’s Day with beer! As you know, most beer is made with wheat and barley, grains that contain gluten — not good for Celiacs and others on a gluten-free diet. Fortunately, there are some breweries that are starting to make beer from gluten-free grains. Each one I’ve tried is a little different from the others (pale ales, ambers, etc.), but all of them taste like you would expect beer to taste! We haven’t found one yet that replaces Guinness, but we’ll keep looking. 🙂