- celiacfamily.com - http://celiacfamily.com -

Artichokes — Gluten-Free Menu Plan March 24

Posted By Heather On March 24, 2014 @ 12:06 am In Menu Plan | 4 Comments

[2]

[3]It’s spring break at my house, and it seemed like a perfect time to try artichokes with my kids again. It also worked out to choose another Menu Plan Replay for this week: 

“It is officially spring, and I’ve chosen a spring vegetable for this week’s Gluten-Free Menu Swap theme – Artichokes. Artichokes can be a nice way to slow down your meal. You know…steam it fresh [4], peel and eat each leaf one at a time [5]. It’s kind of fun. Of course, most of us don’t have time to do that with our busy schedules. We’re rushing around and grabbing the can of artichoke hearts or maybe the jar of marinated artichoke hearts. And that’s good for me, too. I love to add the hearts to a salad or casserole.

According to Ocean Mist Farms [6], artichokes are a good source of Potassium, Magnesium, Vitamin C, Fiber, and Antioxidants. So don’t forget about this beautiful vegetable when you’re planning your meals this season. For more ideas of including them in your meals, check out the roundup of gluten-free menus below.”

Happy Spring, Friends!

Celiac Family’s Menu This Week:

[7]

Wild Rice Salad

[8]

Slow-Cooker Pulled Pork

[9]

Greek Pasta Salad

Monday -  Rotisserie Chicken served with Wild Rice Salad [10] (with Artichoke Hearts)

TuesdaySlow-cooked BBQ Pulled Pork [11] served with Spicy Slaw [12] and Roasted Sweet Potatoes

Wednesday - Grilled Steaks served with baked potatoes and steamed broccoli

ThursdayGluten-Free Pasta Salad [13] with Chicken and Artichoke Hearts served with garlic bread (gluten-free, of course)

Friday - Hamburgers, Fries, Tossed Green Salad

Saturday - Leftover Buffet

Sunday – Grilled Chicken, Quinoa with Broccoli, Mushrooms, and Artichokes [14]

Gluten Free Menu Swap Roundup

Mom’s Plans: Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free Menu [15]
Melissa has two menu plans posted this week. One is gluten-free and dairy-free for her family. The other one, for her, is further restricted for an anti-candida diet. No artichokes on the menus, but you will find Stuffed Pepper Casserole, Spaghetti with Ground Turkey, Pumpkin Beef Chili, Pork Roast, Chicken “Noodle” Soup [16], Green Chile Turkey Burgers, and Mexican Chicken and Rice [17]. The Avocado Coleslaw [18] looks good, too!

The Peaceful Mom: Simple Gluten-Free Menu
No artichokes on Kimberlee’s menu either this week. She does have a couple tasty soups, though: Beef and Veggie Soup [19], and Easy Potato Soup [20]. She is also planning for Roast Beef, Taco Bowls, Waffles, and Cheeseburgers. Don’t forget to check out her full menu [21] for breakfast and lunch ideas, too.

Angela’s Kitchen: Gluten-Free and Dairy-Free Menu
Angela has several recipes with artichokes: Braised Mediterranean Chicken [22], as a filling in Gluten Free Stromboli [23]Tuna Noodle Casserole [24], and Hummus Tostada “Pizza” [25]. For dinner this week, her family will be enjoying Carrot Cake Pancakes, Pineapple Pork Chops, Chicken Breasts with Spicy Honey-Orange Glaze, Tuna Noodle Casserole with artichokes, and Goulash.

The Gluten Free Week: Gluten-Free
Lori has lots of artichokes on her menu this week. She’s starting the week with Roasted Turkey served with steamed artichokes, and then later a Turkey and Artichoke Salad [26]. Also on her menu this week is a Spinach Frittata, Hummus and Veggie Wraps, Asian Peanut Pasta, and Salmon and Capers.

Thanks for joining us this week. Join us again next week for more gluten-free menus and ideas for including Asparagus in your meals.

Want to join Gluten-Free Menu Swap?

  • For this week’s roundup, email your menu link to celiacfamily[AT]gmail[DOT]com. Or, simply put your menu link in the comments below.
  • Join us again next week back at CeliacFamily.com for more gluten-free menus and ideas for including Asparagus in your meals.
  • The Gluten-Free Menu Swap Page [27] has the current schedule of themes and hosts [28]. If you’d like to host a future week, please send me an email (celiacfamily[AT]gmail[DOT]com) with your preferred date and theme.

Need more menu ideas?

  • smallbutton [29]Laura at OrgJunkie.com [29] hosts Menu Plan Monday every week. You’ll find links to hundreds of meal plans (not necessarily gluten-free) there.
  • Or, check out some of my past menu plans [30].

 


Article printed from celiacfamily.com: http://celiacfamily.com

URL to article: http://celiacfamily.com/artichokes-gluten-free-menu-plan-march-24/

URLs in this post:

[1] : http://celiacfamily.comhttp%3A%2F%2Fceliacfamily.com%2Fartichokes-gluten-free-menu-plan-march-24%2F

[2] Image: http://pinterest.com/pin/create/button/?url=http%3A%2F%2Fceliacfamily.com%2Fartichokes-gluten-free-menu-plan-march-24%2F&media=http%3A%2F%2Fceliacfamily.com%2Fwp-content%2Fuploads%2F2012%2F03%2FArtichokes.png&description=Artichokes%20%26%238212%3B%20Gluten-Free%20Menu%20Plan%20March%2024

[3] Image: http://celiacfamily.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/03/Artichokes.png

[4] steam it fresh: http://www.oceanmist.com/products/how-to-prepare/how-to-steam-an-artichoke.aspx

[5] peel and eat each leaf one at a time: http://www.oceanmist.com/products/how-to-prepare/how-to-eat-an-artichoke.aspx

[6] Ocean Mist Farms: http://www.oceanmist.com/health/vitamin.aspx

[7] Image: http://celiacfamily.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/08/IMG_6244x.jpg

[8] Image: http://celiacfamily.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/06/img_3642x.jpg

[9] Image: http://celiacfamily.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/08/IMG_6178x.jpg

[10] Wild Rice Salad: http://celiacfamily.com/wild-rice-salad/

[11] Slow-cooked BBQ Pulled Pork: http://celiacfamily.com/pulled-pork-recipe/

[12] Spicy Slaw: http://celiacfamily.com/pupusas-and-spicy-slaw/

[13] Gluten-Free Pasta Salad: http://celiacfamily.com/greek-pasta-salad-with-chicken/

[14] Quinoa with Broccoli, Mushrooms, and Artichokes: http://celiacfamily.com/quick-quinoa-recipe/

[15] Mom’s Plans: Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free Menu: http://www.momsplans.com/2014/03/menu-planning-march-22-2014/

[16] Chicken “Noodle” Soup: http://www.elanaspantry.com/chicken-noodle-soup/

[17] Mexican Chicken and Rice: http://www.elanaspantry.com/mexican-chicken-and-rice/

[18] Avocado Coleslaw: http://candidadefined.wordpress.com/2012/07/27/avocado-coleslaw/

[19] Beef and Veggie Soup: http://thepeacefulmom.com/2011/10/19/easy-beef-and-veggie-soup-gf/

[20] Easy Potato Soup: http://thepeacefulmom.com/2010/07/23/simple-gluten-free-easy-potato-soup/

[21] her full menu: http://thepeacefulmom.com/2014/03/24/gluten-free-weekly-menu-easy-gluten-free-recipes-6/

[22] Braised Mediterranean Chicken: http://angelaskitchen.com/2012/12/21/gluten-free-zer-friday-braised-mediterranean-chicken/

[23] Gluten Free Stromboli: http://angelaskitchen.com/2009/10/02/gluten-free-zer-friday-gluten-free-stromboli/

[24] Tuna Noodle Casserole: http://angelaskitchen.com/2010/02/19/gluten-free-zer-friday-february-2010-once-a-month-mom-gluten-dairy-free-dinner-adaptions/

[25] Hummus Tostada “Pizza”: http://angelaskitchen.com/2007/08/04/hummus-tostada-%E2%80%9Cpizza%E2%80%9D/

[26] Turkey and Artichoke Salad: http://www.glutenfreeweek.com/content/turkey-and-artichoke-salad

[27] Gluten-Free Menu Swap Page: http://celiacfamily.com/gluten-free-menu-swap/

[28] schedule of themes and hosts: http://celiacfamily.com/gluten-free-menu-swap/schedule/

[29] Image: http://orgjunkie.com/2014/03/menu-plan-monday-march-2414.html

[30] past menu plans: http://celiacfamily.com../category/menu-plan/

Copyright © 2009 celiacfamily.com. All rights reserved.