- celiacfamily.com - http://celiacfamily.com -

Banana – Menu Plan April 1

Posted By Heather On April 1, 2013 @ 10:30 am In Menu Plan | 9 Comments

[2]

Banana [3]What a wild spring we’ve had so far:  snowy cold, sunny warmth, lots of wind, rain…we’ve had it all. And on this April Fools’ Day, I awoke to sunshine and snow. :)

The Gluten-Free Menu Swap roundup is below. This week’s theme is Banana. Unlike last week’s theme of lamb, I buy bananas every week. I buy a large bunch to keep on the counter to slice up for breakfast, include in lunches, and after school snacks. The nutritional benefits of bananas [4] start with high potassium to help with the cardiovascular system and continue with B6 to help with mood swings. Perhaps the most notable benefit for those of us on a gluten-free diet is how it aids in the digestive process – alleviating heartburn, guarding against ulcers, etc.

In our house, bananas usually get eaten raw. But if any start to get too ripe, they get reserved for other uses. I peel them, cut in half, seal in storage containers, and put them into the freezer. Then, they are easy to pull out in the morning to add to smoothies. Our favorite is Banana Berry – (frozen half-banana, strawberries, blueberries, pineapple juice, almond milk).

I’ve also been known to use bananas to make delicious Tropical Mimosas [5] for special occasions. And, over-ripe bananas get used to bake yummy treats, like Banana Coffee Cake [6] and Chocolate Chip Banana Mini-Muffins [7].

Banana Coffee Cake [6]

Banana Coffee Cake

Chocolate Chip Banana Mini-Muffins [7]

Choc. Chip Banana Muffins

Tropical Mimosas [5]

Tropical Mimosas

Bananas are not usually served with dinner at our house, but I’m anxious to see if they are at anyone else’s house. Check out the Gluten-Free Menu Swap roundup below for more gluten-free menus, recipe links, and perhaps ideas for including bananas in your meals.

Celiac Family’s Menu This Week:

Monday –  Eating Out [8] – maybe Red Robin [9]

Tuesday – Rotisserie Chicken, Roasted Potatoes, Steamed Broccoli

Wednesday – Chili with Cornbread [10]

Thursday – Fish Tacos, Pineapple Mango Salsa

Friday – Easy, Slow-cooked Pulled Pork [11], Spicy Slaw, Steamed Green Beans

Saturday – Pizza [12], Spinach Salad

Sunday – leftovers

Gluten Free Menu Swap Roundup

Mom’s Plans: Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free Menu [13]
This week, Melissa’s family will be eating Lighter Meatloaf, Spaghetti and Meatballs, The Pioneer Woman’s Eggs in Hash Brown Nests [14], Cabbage and Beef Soup, and Macaroni Chili Soup. She’s also planning to use the weekend to cook meals for the freezer.

Angela’s Kitchen: Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free Menu
Angela shares her recipes for Banana Bread [15], Banana Pecan Oatmeal Bread [16], and Kiwi Banana Smoothies [17] this week. She also has Banana-Blueberry (or strawberry) Muffins [18] and Baked Apple Oatmeal [19] on her breakfast menu this week. For her dinner menu, she is planning Deviled Egg Salad [20] (a great way to use up those dyed Easter eggs!), Mac and Cheese (dairy-free), Chicken with Cauliflower and Apples, Tortilla and Black Bean Pie with Santa Fe-style Quinoa Salad, and White Bean and Ham Soup for the slow-cooker.

The Peaceful Mom: Simple Gluten-Free Menu
It looks like Kimberlee is serving banana with Cheese toast for breakfast this week. For dinners, she’ll be having Easy Potato Soup [21], Greek Pasta Salad with Chicken, BBQ Chicken, Pasta with Meat Sauce, Crockpot Chili and Gluten-Free Waffles [22].

Awkward Girl Gets Fit: Gluten-Free, Grain-Free, Sugar-Free Menu [23]
Samantha is getting started on an “almost Whole 30″ diet (a short-term nutritional reset [24] with her own modifications) this week. She’s starting the week with Pressure Cooker Chicken, Burgers with Guacamole, Broccoli Beef, and Shredded Beef Tacos [25]. Her week finishes with Grilled Chicken, Buffalo Chicken Ranch Meatballs, and Omelettes with Bacon.

The Girl Who Couldn’t Eat Anything: eating without Gluten, Dairy, Peanuts, Oats, or Meat [26]
Elisabeth is joining us for the first time this week, so be sure to stop by her site [26] and welcome her to the menu swap. She’s making Whole Living’s Banana Oat Pancakes [27] (using quinoa flakes instead of oats) and Banana Apple Muffins [28] for breakfast this week. And for dinners, she’s planning on fish, Tomato and Avocado Salad, Zucchini and Potato Casserole, Chickpea of the Sea, GF/DF Lasagna, and Pizza.

Thanks for joining us for the menu swap this week. Come back next week when our theme will be Bacon.

Want to join Gluten-Free Menu Swap?

  • For this week’s roundup, email your menu link to celiacfamily[AT]gmail[DOT]com. Or, simply put your menu link in the comments below.
  • Come back next week for ideas of including Bacon in your meals.
  • The Gluten-Free Menu Swap Page [29] has the current schedule of themes and hosts [30]. If you’d like to host a future week, please send me an email (celiacfamily[AT]gmail[DOT]com) with your preferred date and theme.

Need more menu ideas?

  • smallbutton [31]Laura at OrgJunkie.com [31] hosts Menu Plan Monday every week. You’ll find links to hundreds of meal plans (not necessarily gluten-free) there.
  • Or, check out some of my past menu plans [32].

 


Article printed from celiacfamily.com: http://celiacfamily.com

URL to article: http://celiacfamily.com/banana-menu-plan-april-1/

URLs in this post:

[1] : http://celiacfamily.comhttp%3A%2F%2Fceliacfamily.com%2Fbanana-menu-plan-april-1%2F

[2] Image: http://pinterest.com/pin/create/button/?url=http%3A%2F%2Fceliacfamily.com%2Fbanana-menu-plan-april-1%2F&media=http%3A%2F%2Fceliacfamily.com%2Fwp-content%2Fuploads%2F2013%2F04%2FBanana.png&description=Banana%20%26%238211%3B%20Menu%20Plan%20April%201

[3] Image: http://celiacfamily.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/Banana.png

[4] nutritional benefits of bananas: http://www.naturalnews.com/034151_bananas_nutrition_facts.html

[5] Tropical Mimosas: http://celiacfamily.com/tropical-mimosas/

[6] Banana Coffee Cake: http://celiacfamily.com/banana-coffee-cake-revised/

[7] Chocolate Chip Banana Mini-Muffins: http://celiacfamily.com/chocolate-chip-banana-mini-muffins/

[8] Eating Out: http://celiacfamily.com/eating-out/

[9] Red Robin: http://www.redrobin.com/img/content/cms/Wheat_Gluten_Allergen_Menu-3.pdf

[10] Cornbread: http://celiacfamily.com/gluten-free-cornbread/

[11] Easy, Slow-cooked Pulled Pork: http://celiacfamily.com/pulled-pork-recipe/

[12] Pizza: http://celiacfamily.com/mexican-pizza/

[13] Mom’s Plans: Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free Menu: http://www.momsplans.com/2013/03/menu-planning-for-march-31-2013/

[14] Eggs in Hash Brown Nests: http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2013/03/eggs-in-hash-brown-nests/

[15] Banana Bread: http://angelaskitchen.com/2007/03/24/gluten-free-dairy-free-gfcf-banana-or-muffins-bread/

[16] Banana Pecan Oatmeal Bread: http://angelaskitchen.com/2012/09/01/gluten-free-dairy-free-banana-pecan-oatmeal-bread/

[17] Kiwi Banana Smoothies: http://angelaskitchen.com/2010/10/03/kiwi-banana-smoothie/

[18] Banana-Blueberry (or strawberry) Muffins: http://angelaskitchen.com/2011/04/08/gluten-free-zer-friday-strawberry-banana-muffins/

[19] Baked Apple Oatmeal: http://angelaskitchen.com/2012/10/15/secret-recipe-club-gluten-free-dairy-free-apple-baked-oatmeal/

[20] Deviled Egg Salad: http://angelaskitchen.com/2012/05/23/deviled-egg-salad/

[21] Easy Potato Soup: http://thepeacefulmom.com/2010/07/23/simple-gluten-free-easy-potato-soup/

[22] Gluten-Free Waffles: http://thepeacefulmom.com/2012/04/02/gluten-free-waffle-recipe/

[23] Awkward Girl Gets Fit: Gluten-Free, Grain-Free, Sugar-Free Menu: http://awkwardgirlgetsfit.com/2013/04/01/whole30-menu-plan-monday-04-01-13/

[24] short-term nutritional reset: http://whole9life.com/category/whole-30/

[25] Shredded Beef Tacos: http://awkwardgirlgetsfit.com/2012/09/25/real-food-basics-shredded-beef-taco-roast/

[26] The Girl Who Couldn’t Eat Anything: eating without Gluten, Dairy, Peanuts, Oats, or Meat: http://thegirlwhocouldnteatanything.wordpress.com/2013/04/01/menu-plan-monday-2/

[27] Banana Oat Pancakes: http://www.wholeliving.com/216571/banana-oat-pancakes

[28] Banana Apple Muffins: http://www.wholeliving.com/216610/banana-apple-buckwheat-muffins

[29] Gluten-Free Menu Swap Page: http://celiacfamily.com/gluten-free-menu-swap/

[30] schedule of themes and hosts: http://celiacfamily.com/gluten-free-menu-swap/schedule/

[31] Image: http://orgjunkie.com/2013/04/menu-plan-monday-april-12013.html

[32] past menu plans: http://celiacfamily.com../category/menu-plan/

Copyright © 2009 celiacfamily.com. All rights reserved.