Jan
27

Brach’s Valentine Hearts Aren’t Gluten-free, Buy Necco instead

By · Print This Post Print This Post

When shopping for gluten-free valentine candy, don’t buy Brach’s brand. Brach’s and their parent company Farley’s & Sathers do not consider any of their products to be gluten-free due to cross-contamination issues and changes to their manufacturing and packaging processes.

Find the Necco brand conversation hearts instead. According to the Necco web site they make the following products which do not contain gluten from wheat, rye, oats or barley: , Mary Janes, Mary Jane Peanut Butter Kisses, Sweethearts Conversation Hearts (Valentines only), Canada Mint & Wintergreen Lozenges, Haviland Thin Mints and Candy Stix. (In addition, Clark Bars, Skybars, Haviland Peppermint & Wintergreen Patties, Necco Candy Eggs (Easter), Talking Pumpkins (Halloween), Squirrel Nut Caramels and Squirrel Nut Zippers, Banana Split and Mint Julep Chews, ULTRAMINTS are also gluten free.)

*****Product Update Feb. 2009***** You may want to reconsider buying Necco Conversation Hearts. The following allergy statement on the back of the bag of Necco Sweethearts Conversation Hearts reads: “ALLERGY INFORMATION: This product is made in a facility that also processes peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, wheat, oats, soy and milk.”

*****Product Update Feb. 2010*****The packages (individual boxes and bag) of these Sweetheart Conversation Hearts did not have the Allergy Information statement on them this year. However, you may still find some with the statement from last year in discount stores. Check out the Valentine Candy List for information on other gluten-free candy.

Categories : Candy, Product Advisory

1 Comments

1

[...] I’ve read labels, called companies, and checked websites numerous times. As I stated in my post on Jan. 27 I considered Brach’s Conversation Heart candy to be unsafe for Celiacs, but Necco Sweetheart [...]

Leave a Comment