Archive for Product Advisory

If you’re looking for a more complete list of Gluten-Free Halloween Candy, check out the updated Gluten-Free Halloween Candy list, which also includes a list of unsafe candies. These are just a few new gluten-free products I thought deserved a little more explanation:

candycornStarburst Fruit-Flavored Candy CornEvery year I’m on the hunt for gluten-free candy corn. The usual brands I find in the stores (Brach’s, for example) are exposed to gluten through cross-contamination. And with our systems already being stressed by the increased amount of sugar in our bodies, I don’t want to risk consuming even traces of gluten. This year, I ran across these fruit-flavored candy corn from Starburst. It doesn’t have the flavor I was looking for, but it certainly has the shape and texture. My kids love the fruity flavors: Cherry, Strawberry, Lemon, and Orange. For that expected candy corn flavor, try the Jelly Belly brand.

suncupsSun Cups are a great option for gluten-free friends who are also peanut/nut-free. Sun Cups are made with a sunflower butter instead of peanut butter and are produced in a gluten-free and nut-free facility. It’s great for those with nut allergies, but it does contain dairy. Sun Cups sent me some samples so I could try the different flavor varieties I’ve had trouble finding in the stores: Milk Chocolate Sunflower Butter Cups, Dark Chocolate Sunflower Butter Cups, Milk Chocolate Caramel Cups (which my kids love!), and Dark Chocolate Mint Cups.

sixletsSweet Works is a great resource for gluten-free candy. I was recently introduced to their website where I found a wide array of gluten-free candies: SixletsGumJawbreakers, and more. Click on any of the candy products on their site to find a complete ingredient list, as well as notations about allergens. Be sure to look for the “Allergen Info.”, as well as the “Gluten Free and Made in a nut free facility” notation in “Additional Info.” in the details on each product.

Comments (1)
Oct
26

Safe Gluten-Free Halloween Candy!

Posted by: | Comments (136)

Oct. 26, 2013 - I didn’t scour the shelves to make updates to the Gluten-Free Halloween Candy List this year. However, I did make updates as I came across new products and reviewed ingredients labels on candy previously listed. Scroll down for the Complete Gluten-Free Halloween Candy List and unsafe halloween candy list. Check out a few of the new ones I recently found:

candycorn

Starburst’s new Fruit Flavored Candy Corn

suncups

Sun Cups Gluten-Free and Peanut-Free Chocolate Candy

sixlets

Sweet Works Gluten-Free and Nut-Free Candies

Details and links about these items can be found at More Gluten-Free Halloween Candy Information.

October 25, 2012 - You can read the 2010 update below for the details about the organization of the list. The short version is this: The green listing is for candies I believe to be gluten-free and safe to eat. The orange listing is for candies that don’t have gluten ingredients listed, but may have gluten due to cross-contamination or other possible concerns. You may want to avoid candies in the orange listing if you are a celiac and/or are strict about adherence to a gluten-free diet. The red listing is candy that contains gluten and should not be eaten by anyone on a gluten-free diet.

We all want to make the best decisions we can for ourselves and our families. So, as I’ve said in the past: If you find additions or corrections to make to the list, please put them in the comments so that others may benefit from the information and discussion. Thank you, and have a safe and happy Halloween!

Gluten-Free (Safe) Candy and Treats

  • 3 Musketeers Mint with dark chocolate Bar and Fun size (Oct. 2012)
  • Act II Popcorn Balls (Oct. 2009)
  • Albert’s Gummy Eyeballs (Oct. 2009)
  • Albert’s Iced Halloween pops (lollipops) (Oct. 2009)
  • Almond Joy fun size bars “Manufactured in a facility that also processes peanuts.”
  • Angry Birds Fruit Gummies and Fruit Snacks “Nut Free — Gluten Free” (Oct. 2012)
  • Baby Ruth bars and fun size
  • Barrels of Candy by Treat Street (Oct. 2010)
  • Bazooka Big Mix (includes bubble gum, bubble gum filled candy, candy chews, and bubble gum filled lollipops) (Oct. 2012)
  • Betty Crocker Fruit by the Foot (Oct 2012) Wicked Webs Berry Wave mini feet (Oct. 2011)
  • Betty Crocker Halloween fruit flavored snacks, Screamin’ Strawberry Tattoos (Oct. 2012) Fruit Gushers, Fruit Roll-ups, and Mini Rolls – “Gluten Free” (Oct. 2011)
  • Bit•O•Honey (Oct. 2009)
  • Big Blow bubblegum (Oct. 2012)
  • Black Forest Fruit Snacks Little Monsters (Oct. 2012) “This product was manufactured in a facility where milk, tree nuts, peanuts and soy are used in the production of other products.”
  • Black Forest Gummy Tarantulas (Oct. 2010)
  • Black Forest Gummy Fun Bugs Juicy Oozers (Oct. 2010)
  • Bloody Bones candy by Oak Lear – “Gluten Free” (Oct. 2013)
  • Bloody Skulls candy by Oak Leaf – “Gluten Free” (Oct. 2013)
  • Bubbly lollipop + gum (Oct. 2009)
  • Butterfinger original bar and fun size (Oct. 2012) “Contains peanut, milk and soy ingredients.”
  • Candy Checkers (made for Target 2009)
  • Caramel Apple Pops (lollipops made by Tootsie Roll) (Oct. 2011)
  • Charleston Chew fun size (Oct. 2011)
  • Charms Blow Pops and Blow Pop Minis “Milk and Soy may be present.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Charms Candy Carnival Package (Blow Pops, Sugar Babies, Zip a Dee mini pops, Sugar Daddy, Pops, Sugar Mama Caramel, Tear Jerkers sour bubble gum, Blow Pop Bubble Gum) (Oct. 2009)
  • Charms Fluffy Stuff Spider Web cotton candy (Oct. 2009)
  • Chewy Lemonheads and Friends (Oct. 2012)
  • Child’s Play “Produced in a facility that does not use peanuts, tree nuts, eggs or gluten.” (Oct. 2011)
  • Colombina Scary Eyeballs bubblegum (Oct. 2009)
  • Colombina Fizzy Pops (Oct. 2009)
  • Comix Mix Candy Sticks (Tom and Jerry, Flintstones, Scooby Doo, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Popeye) – “Gluten Free” (Oct. 2009)
  • Cracker Jack caramel coated popcorn and peanuts (Oct. 2012)
  • Disney Halloween Candy Mix (jelly beans, gummies, candy bracelets and candy characters from Cars, Tinkerbell and Toy Story) “Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts, hazelnuts, almonds, walnuts, milk and soy.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Dove pieces (Dark Chocolate, Milk Chocolate, Peanut Butter Milk Chocolate, Caramel Milk Chocolate) (Oct. 2011)
  • Dots Gumdrops – including Candy Corn Dots (candy corn flavored), Ghost Dots (assorted fruit flavored), and Bat Dots (blood orange flavored) (Oct. 2013)
  • Dubble Bubble bubblegum “Milk and Soy may be present.” (Oct. 2011)
  • Dum Dums Lollipops (including Shrek Pops-2010) – “This product does not contain peanuts, tree nuts, milk, eggs, wheat or gluten. It has been manufactured on dedicated equipment.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Dum Dums Chewy Pops – “This product does not contain peanuts, tree nuts, milk, eggs, wheat or gluten. It has been manufactured on dedicated equipment.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Farley’s Kiddie Mix (includes Smarties, SweetTarts, Now and Later, Jaw Breakers, Super Bubble and Lolli-pops) (Oct. 2009)
  • Ferrara Pan Caramels “This product contains milk and soy. This product distributed in a facility where peanuts and tree nuts are used in the production of other products.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Ferrara Pan Lemonhead & Friends candy mix (includes Applehead, Cherryhead, Grapehead, Chewy Lemonhead & Friends, Chewy Atomic Fireball, and Red Hots) (Oct. 2012)
  • Florida’s Natural Healthy Treats Nuggets, Sour String, Fruit Stiks – “Gluten Free” (Oct. 2009)
  • Fright Fingers Popcorn Kit (Oct. 2009)
  • Frankford‘s Bugs Gummy Candy (Oct. 2009) *reports of quality issues in 2010, see comments below*
  • Frankford‘s Gummy Body Parts (Oct. 2009) *reports of quality issues in 2010, see comments below*
  • Frankford‘s Marshmallow Pals (Oct. 2009) *reports of quality issues in 2010, see comments below*
  • Fruit Ninja Sour Gummies “Nut Free — Gluten Free” (Oct. 2012)
  • Game Night boxes of candy game pieces (includes Operation, Sorry!, Monopoly, Life, and Clue) (Oct. 2009)
  • Ghoulish Gourmet Popcorn Balls (found at Walmart) “Gluten Free” “Nut Free” Contains soy. (Oct. 2012) 
  • Gimbal’s Harvest Mix jelly beans (Oct. 2013)
  • Grave Gummies (Yummy Gummies) (Oct. 2013)
  • Gummy Pirate Choppers (Oct. 2009)
  • Haribo Gummi-Bears including original and Gold-Bears minis (Oct. 2012)
  • Heath milk chocolate English toffee bar snack size “Contains almonds.” (Oct. 2012)
  • HERSHEY’S Gluten-Free Listing - Be sure to check the unsafe lists below for Hershey’s candy that may contain gluten.
  • Hershey’s Kisses (Candy Corn flavored candy, Caramel, Caramel Apple flavored filling, Milk Chocolate, Chocolate Meltaway, Pumpkin Spice, Hugs, Hugs & Kisses, Cherry Cordial Creme, Milk Chocolate with Almonds, Special Dark) (Oct. 2012)
  • Hershey’s Milk Chocolate bars and snack-size bars “Manufactured on the same equipment that processes almonds.” (Only the 1.55 oz. size in on Hershey’s gluten-free list. Oct. 2012)
  • Hershey’s Milk Chocolate with Almonds bars and snack-size bars (Only the 1.45 oz. size in on Hershey’s gluten-free list. Oct. 2012)
  • Hot Tamales – “Gluten Free” (Oct. 2012)
  • Humphrey Popcorn Balls - “Gluten Free” (Oct. 2012)
  • Jelly Belly jelly beans
  • Jelly Belly candy corn “Manufactured in a plant that processes peanuts.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Jolly Rancher hard candy and Doubles Candy (Oct. 2011)
  • Jolly Rancher Hard Candy Stix, Lollipops and Fruit Chews (Oct. 2012)
  • Jr. Mints fun size “Milk and eggs may be present. Nut Free, Gluten Free, Peanut Free” (Oct. 2012)
  • Jujyfruits (Oct. 2009)
  • Kellogg’s Spongebob Squarepants fruit flavored snacks (Oct. 2012)
  • Kraft Jet-Puffed Boo Mallows and Ghost Mallows marshmallows (Oct. 2011)
  • Lemonheads (Oct. 2012)
  • LifeSavers Gummies including Big Ring Gummies, Sweet ‘n’ Sour, and Scary Assortment (Oct. 2012)
  • Lightning Bugs gummy candy “Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts, almonds, hazelnuts, walnuts, milk and soy.” (Oct. 2012)
  • M&M’s (original, peanut, peanut butter) Check the unsafe lists below for which M&M products to avoid. (Oct. 2012)
  • Mallo Cup (Oct. 2009)
  • Marvel Heroes Candy Sticks (Hulk, Spiderman, Wolverine) – “Gluten Free.”
  • Melster Peanut Butter Kisses ”Contains peanuts, milk, soy.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Mike and Ike including Original Fruits, Red Rageous, and Zours – “Gluten Free” (Oct. 2012)
  • Milky Way Midnight Bar (Original Milky Way Bars are NOT gluten-free. See the Red Unsafe List below.) Contains milk, egg, and soy. “May contain peanuts.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Mentos (Oct. 2012)
  • Mini Sour Dudes Straws (Oct. 2009)
  • Monstaz Pops (jack-o-lantern lollipops) (Oct. 2009)
  • Monster Hunt plastic monster eggs filled with candy bones, skulls and pumpkins (made for Target 2009)
  • Mounds dark chocolate fun size bars “Manufactured on the same equipment that processes almonds. Manufactured in a facility that also processes peanuts.” (Oct. 2011)
  • Necco’s list of gluten-free products (Oct. 2012)
  • Necco’s Mary Jane Peanut Butter Kisses “Contains peanuts and soy. Manufactured in a facility that also processes tree nuts, milk, and eggs.” (Oct. 2011)
  • Necco’s Sky Bar 4 in 1 chocolate bar (Oct. 2009)
  • Nestle Milk Chocolate fun size bars (Oct. 2009)
  • Nestle Raisinets (milk chocolate) fun size “Made on equipment that also processes peanuts.”
  • Nik-L-Nip wax bottles with juice
  • Now and Later (Farley’s & Sathers) (Oct. 2011)
  • Operation Gummy Candy (Oct. 2009)
  • Palmer Peanut Butter Cups (Oct. 2009)
  • PayDay peanut caramel bar snack size
  • Peanut M&M’s (Oct. 2012)
  • Pearson’s Bun candy (maple, caramel, and vanilla) (Oct. 2012 – Pearson’s FAQ’s indicate “Gluten Free”)
  • Peeps Jack-o-lanterns, Ghosts and Chocolate Mousse Cats – “Gluten Free” (Oct. 2011)
  • PEZ candy – “PEZ candy is tree nut, peanut and gluten free.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Pop Rocks (Oct. 2012)
  • Rain•Blo Bubble Gum Eyes of Terror (Oct. 2009)
  • Raisinets (Oct. 2010)
  • Razzles candy gum
  • Not all Reese’s candy is gluten-free. Seasonal-shaped candies may contain wheat starch, or gluten. Read labels carefully.
  • Reese’s Fast Break candy bars and snack size (Oct. 2012)
  • Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups snack size and miniatures (Oct. 2012)
  • Reese’s Peanut Butter Pumpkins (Oct. 2011)
  • Reese’s Pieces (Oct. 2012)
  • Reese’s Select Peanut Butter Cremes (Oct. 2011)
  • Reese’s Select Clusters (Oct. 2011)
  • Reese’s Whipps (Oct. 2011)
  • Ring Pop (Oct. 2012)
  • Sixlets - “Gluten Free” “Made in a facility that does not process nuts.” (Oct. 2013) Does contain whey/milk. 
  • Skeleton Pops (lollipops) (Oct. 2009)
  • Skittles includes Original, Sour, Wild Berry, Fizzl’d Fruits, and Crazy Core – “Gluten Free”
  • Smarties (this is the small candies sold in rolls, not Nestle’s chocolate candies) – “Contains none of the following: gluten (from wheat, barley, oats and rye), milk, egg, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, wheat, peanuts, or soy beans.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Snickers original bars, fun size and mini’s - Contains milk, soy, peanuts, and egg. “May contain almonds.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Snickers Almond - Contains milk, soy, almonds, and egg. “May contain peanuts.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Snickers Peanut Butter Squared fun size – Contains milk, soy, peanuts, and egg. “May contain almonds.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Snickers Fudge bar mini’s (Oct. 2009)
  • Snickers Dark – Contains milk, soy, peanuts, and egg. “May contain almonds.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Sour Patch Kids candy (Oct. 2012)
  • Spooky Eyes Bubble Gum – “Gluten Free” (Oct. 2013)
  • Starburst Fruit Chews includes Original, Sour and Sweet, and Tropical – “Gluten Free” (Oct. 2012)
  • Starburst Fruit Flavored Candy Corn (Oct. 2013)
  • Starburst Gummibursts and Sour Gummibursts – “Gluten Free”
  • Sugar Babies caramel candies – “Nut free, gluten free, peanut free. Contains soy and milk. Egg may be present.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Sugar Daddy Caramel Pops  - “Nut free, gluten free, peanut free. Contains soy and milk.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Sun Cups (including milk chocolate sunflower butter cups, dark chocolate sunflower butter cups, milk chocolate caramel cups, and dark chocolate mint cups) - “Does not contain gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, corn or soy. Our facility is nut and gluten-free. Contains Dairy.” (Oct. 2013)
  • Super Bubble bubble gum (Farley’s & Sathers) – (Oct. 2012)
  • Swedish Fish (Oct. 2012)
  • Sweethearts conversation hearts Forbidden Fruits (candy packaging of The Twilight Saga, New Moon the movie) (Oct. 2009)
  • Sweet’s Candy Corn Taffy – “This product is Gluten Free. Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts and tree nuts.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Timebomb Jawbreakers – “Gluten Free” (Oct. 2013)
  • Tootsie Pops (original and miniatures) - “Nut free, gluten free, peanut free. Contains soy and milk.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Tootsie Rolls midgies and snack bars - “Nut free, gluten free, peanut free. Contains soy and milk.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Transformers Candy Mix (gummy shields, fruit chews, candy shields, gum rocks) (Oct. 2009)
  • Trolli Gummy Candy Mix including Classic Bears, Big Bold Bears, and Sour Brite Crawlers (Oct. 2012) *Trolli Sour Frite Crawlers did have a cross-contamination warning on packages in 2010.
  • Wack-O-Wax lips and fangs (Oct. 2010)
  • Warheads Extreme Sour hard candy and Sour QBZ chewy cubes (Oct. 2012) *Warheads Sour Twists contain Wheat Flour.
  • Wonka Bottlecaps – (Oct. 2012)
  • Wonka Chocolate Laffy Taffy (Oct. 2009)
  • Wonka Gobstoppers – (Oct. 2012)
  • Wonka Pixy Stix (original and giant) (Oct. 2011)
  • Wonka Laffy Taffy (original, Howlin’ Laffy Taffy, and Ropes) (Oct. 2013)
  • Wonka Lik-M-Aid Fun Dip (Oct. 2012)
  • Wonka Sluggles Gummies – Made on equipment that also processes milk. (Oct. 2012)
  • X-scream Mouth Morphers Fruit Gushers – “Gluten Free” (Oct. 2009)
  • York Peppermint Patties Pumpkins – on Hershey’s Gluten Free List (Oct. 2012)


JellyBelly.com

Use Caution with these treats. (May contain traces of gluten.)

  • AirHeads – On packaging: “Manufactured in a facility that processes wheat flour.” (Oct. 2011) On Airheads.com FAQs: “Airheads do not contain gluten; however, they are processed in a facility that uses wheat flour in other items, so Perfetti Van Melle does not claim that Airheads are gluten free.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Brach’s Autumn Mix – Contains soy. “Made on equipment that processes milk, egg, and soy. Milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and soy may be present in the manufacturing and packaging area.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Brach’s Candy Corn – Contains milk and soy. “Made on equipment that processes milk, egg, and soy. Milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and soy may be present in the manufacturing and packaging area.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Brach’s Caramel Apple Candy Corn -  Contains milk, soy, and natural flavor. “Made on equipment that processes milk, egg, and soy. Milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and soy may be present in the manufacturing and packaging area.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Brach’s Caramel Candy Corn - Contains milk, soy, and natural flavor. “Made on equipment that processes milk, egg, and soy. Milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and soy may be present in the manufacturing and packaging area.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Brach’s Chocolate Caramel Candy Corn – Contains milk, soy, and natural flavor. “Made on equipment that processes milk, egg, and soy. Milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and soy may be present in the manufacturing and packaging area.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Brach’s Halloween Mellowcremes - Contains soy and natural flavor. ”Made on equipment that processes milk, egg, and soy. Milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and soy may be present in the manufacturing and packaging area.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Brach’s Indian Corn - Contains soy. “Made on equipment that processes milk, egg, and soy. Milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and soy may be present in the manufacturing and packaging area.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Brach’s Mellowcreme Pumpkins - ”Made on equipment that processes milk, egg, and soy. Milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and soy may be present in the manufacturing and packaging area.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Brach’s Sweet and Salty Mix - Contains milk, soy, and peanuts. “Made on equipment that processes milk, egg, and soy. Milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and soy may be present in the manufacturing and packaging area.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Brach’s Milk Maid Royals Nougats  “Manufactured in a facility that also manufactures products containing traces of wheat, peanuts and/or tree nuts.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Chuckles Ju Jubes – “Packed on equipment that also packages products containing traces of milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, and/or soy protein.” (Oct. 2009)
  • Farley’s Harvest Mix and Candy Corn – This product is made by Brach’s. See the Brach’s listings.
  • Flash Pop Ring! – Contains High Maltose Syrup. “This product may contain traces of gluten, soy, peanuts, tree nuts and seed.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Hershey’s Bliss (Milk Chocolate, Milk Chocolate with Almonds, Milk Chocolate with Meltaway Center, White Chocolate with Meltaway Center, Milk Chocolate with Raspberry Meltaway Center, Dark Chocolate)  (Oct. 2012 – Although I found no gluten ingredients, this is not on Hershey’s gluten-free list 2012.)
  • Hershey’s Nuggets (Milk Chocolate, Milk Chocolate with Almonds, Milk Chocolate with Toffee and Almonds, Special Dark, Special Dark with Almonds) There does not appear to be any gluten in the ingredients, nor does the packaging have a statement warning of possible cross-contamination. Hershey’s claims that these have no gluten in them. (2012) There were, however, some readers who commented in 2010 that they had reactions to these. That doesn’t mean these candies do have gluten, but if you are like some other readers, you may experience similar reactions.
  • Hershey’s Mr. Goodbar fun size (Oct. 2012 – Although I found no gluten ingredients, this is not on Hershey’s gluten-free list 2012.)
  • Hershey’s Rolo chocolate covered caramels (Oct. 2012 – Although I found no gluten ingredients, this is not on Hershey’s gluten-free list 2012.)
  • Milk Duds (Oct. 2012 – Although I found no gluten ingredients, this is not on Hershey’s gluten-free list 2012.)
  • Palmer Fright Bites (vampire teeth) – “Manufactured on equipment which also processes peanuts, wheat, and tree nuts” (Oct. 2009)
  • Palmer Bag of Boo’s fudge bars – “Manufactured on equipment which also processes peanuts, wheat, and tree nuts” (Oct. 2009)
  • Palmer Tricky Treats (mix of Googly Eyes, Boneheads, and Pumpkin Patch chocolate candies) – “Manufactured on equipment which also processes wheat, peanut butter and tree nuts.” Be very careful with these Palmer candies. I found another package labeled Palmer Trick or Treat Mix that contains barley malt.
  • Russell Stover’s Assorted Chocolates – “Products have been produced on shared equipment with peanuts, tree nuts, eggs and wheat.” (Oct. 2009) Statement on the Russell Stover website: “Most of our products do not contain gluten from added ingredients. Those that do contain wheat gluten, such as S’Mores and the Cookies and Cream Rabbit, clearly show the presence of wheat in the ingredient listings. However, please be aware that products containing wheat are produced on equipment that’s also used to make our other products. So, we can’t rule out the possibility of cross-contact, despite efforts to prevent it. Because of that possibility, we do not declare any of our products to be gluten-free.
  • Spongebob Squarepants Gummy Krabby Patties – “Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts, almonds, wheat, and eggs.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Trolli gummy candy Sour Frite Crawlers“Packaged on equipment that also packages products containing traces of milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.” (Oct. 2010) 
  • Wonka Spooky Nerds – “Made in a facility that also processes wheat and egg.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Wonka Chewy Runts – Contains egg. ”Made in a facility that also processes wheat.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Wonka Chewy Spree – Contains egg.  ”Made in a facility that also processes wheat.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Wonka Shockers - ”Made in a facility that also processes wheat.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Wonka SweeTarts Boo Bag – Packages of SweeTarts, SweeTarts Twist and Mini Chewy SweeTarts were labeled with “Made in a facility that also processes egg and wheat.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Wonka Mix-Ups (SweeTarts Skulls and Bones, Bottle Caps, Spooky Nerds, Howlin’ Laffy Taffy) The Laffy Taffy did not have a warning, but the other candies were labeled with this warning: – “Made in a facility that also processes egg and wheat.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Wonka Monster Treats (SweeTarts Skulls and Bones, Spooky Nerds, Howlin’ Laffy Taffy) The Laffy Taffy did not have a warning, but the other candies were labeled with this warning: – “Made in a facility that also processes egg and wheat.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Wonka Giant and Mini Chewy SweeTarts – “Made in a facility that also processes wheat.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Wonka Nerds – “Made in a facility that also processes egg and wheat.” (Oct. 2013)
  • Wonka SweeTarts – “Made in a facility that also processes egg and wheat.” (Oct. 2013)
  • Wonka SweeTarts Variety Mix – “Made in a facility that also processes egg and wheat.” (Oct. 2013)
  • Zed Candy Skulls and Bones (fruit flavored hard candy) (Oct. 2009) Not sure if these candies are out this year (2010). Last year, there were news reports of recalling this candy due to foreign material being present. To be clear, I saw no indication of them containing gluten.


Unsafe Candy and Treats (Do not eat these if you cannot tolerate gluten in your diet.)

  • 100 Grand – contains barley malt “Made on equipment that also processes peanuts, egg, and soy.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Butterfinger Crisp – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2012)
  • Chex Mix – contains wheat (Oct. 2012)
  • Clark Bar Wicked Mix (includes mini Clark, Dark Clark, Clark Coconut and Clark Peanut Butter Crunch) – contains malt flavoring, peanuts, milk, soy, wheat and barley. “Processed in a facility that also processes eggs and tree nuts.” (Oct. 2009)
  • Farley’s Chewy Mix (includes Caramel Creams, Bit-O-Honey, Slo Poke and Assorted Toffees) – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2009)
  • Frankford Fun Size Mix (Peanut Butter, Caramel and Crispy Chocolate Covered Candies) Crispy Candies contain malt extract. Contains milk and peanuts. (Oct. 2010)
  • Goetze’s Caramel Creams – Contains wheat flour, milk, and soy. (Oct. 2010)
  • Good & Plenty – contains wheat flour. (Oct. 2012)
  • HERSHEY’S gluten-free list
  • Hershey’s Cookies & Creme snack size bars – contains wheat flour “Manufactured on same equipment that processes almonds.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Hershey’s Kisses Cookies and Creme – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2010)
  • Hershey’s miniatures – contains malt (Oct. 2010)
  • Hershey’s Take 5 Bar – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2010)
  • Keebler Gripz Chips Deluxe cookies – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2009)
  • Kit Kat snack size – “Contains milk, wheat, and soy. Manufactured in a facility that also processes peanuts.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Licorice – Almost ALL brands of licorice and licorice flavored candy contain wheat flour.
  • Lindt milk chocolate with smooth filling truffle balls with jack-o-lantern wrapping – contains barley malt powder (Oct. 2010)
  • Milky Way bars, fun size and mini’s – Contains milk, egg, soy, and malted barley. “May contain peanuts.”
  • Mini Oreo packs – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2010)
  • Nestle Crunch bars and fun size – contains barley malt; “Made on equipment that also processes peanuts, nuts and wheat” (Oct. 2010)
  • Nestle Crunch Crisp – contains wheat flour and barley malt (Oct. 2010) “Contains milk and soy ingredients. May contain peanuts, nuts and wheat.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Palmer Double Crisp Googly Eyes – contains barley malt; “Manufactured on equipment which also processes peanuts, wheat, and tree nuts” (Oct. 2009)
  • Palmer Double Crisp Monster Munny – contains barley malt; “Manufactured on equipment which also processes peanuts, wheat, and tree nuts” (Oct. 2009)
  • Palmer Ghostly Goodies – contains barley malt; “Manufactured on equipment which also processes peanuts, wheat, and tree nuts” (Oct. 2009)
  • Palmer Trick or Treat Mix – contains barley malt “Manufactured on equipment which also processes wheat, peanut butter and tree nuts.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Pepperidge Farm Goldfish cheddar crackers – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2012)
  • Quaker Chewy Fright Night Chocolate Chip granola bars – contains rolled oats, malted barley, whole grain rolled wheat, whole wheat flour (Oct. 2009)
  • Reese’s Sticks wafer bars – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2009)
  • Rice Krispies Treats mini squares – contains malt flavoring (Oct. 2009)
  • Riesen Chocolate Caramels – “Contains milk, wheat, and soybeans. Processed in a facility where peanuts, hazelnuts, almonds, and other tree nuts are found.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Ritz Bits peanut butter sandwiches – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2009)
  • Snyder’s Pretzel snack sacks – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2012)
  • Stauffer’s Animal Crackers – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2009)
  • Teddy Grahams packs – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2009)
  • Toad-Ally Snax Popcorn Plus – contains wheat flour and malt “May contain traces of peanuts, tree nuts, milk, soy, wheat, and eggs.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Twix fun size – “Contains milk, soybean and wheat products. May contain peanuts.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Twizzlers (twists and rainbow twists) – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2012)
  • Twizzlers Pull-n-Peel Candy – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2012)
  • Utz Halloween Pretzel treats – contains wheat flour and malt syrup (derived from barley) (Oct. 2009)
  • Warheads Sour Twists contain wheat flour. (Oct. 2012)
  • Whoppers – contains barley malt and wheat flour (Oct. 2012)
  • Wonka Kazoozles – Contains wheat flour. “Made in a facility that also processes egg. (Oct. 2011)

 

[Oct. 23, 2010 - The candy list is updated! I made some changes to the list because I get so many questions and comments. First of all, you should know that the category I put the candy in is determined by me, a concerned parent, based on reading the ingredients, allergy statements, and cross-contamination warnings on candy packages I find in the stores in our area. I also review websites for product information and contact companies if necessary. If you see a date after the product, that is the last date I actually read the label. If you see any statements in quotation marks, that means I have taken it directly from the packaging. If, while I’m shopping, I read allergy statements that refer to other allergens, I may include them in my list for people avoiding them. It's always best if you can check the ingredients of the candy yourself because it can vary if they were packaged or manufactured in different facilities or on different dates. But let’s face it, there is a lot of different candy out there. So, I hope this helps some of you.

Second, I’ve reorganized the candy list a little. The first green section is candy that I believe to be safe for people avoiding gluten. I didn’t find any questionable ingredients on the labels, nor did I find cross-contamination warnings. Or, I was able to confirm with the company through their website or emails that the candy is safe. The second section I created is for questionable candies. These are candies that appear to have no gluten in the ingredients. However, I feel uncertain about its gluten status, or the candy packaging may include a statement that warns of possible cross-contamination with gluten. Whatever, the case, I have listed the reason for being in this section so you can determine what you are comfortable eating. I personally do not allow my kids to eat any candy unless it is in the safe, green section. The last red section is for the Unsafe Candy. This is the candy that I would not recommend to anyone on a gluten-free diet. The packaging labels clearly state that the candy has gluten in the ingredients. I color-coded the sections to make it easier to determine which list you were reading. Let me know if you think that it makes it easier to read or worse.

Now, my disclosure statement: I’m not a doctor, nor an expert about candy or gluten. I’m simply someone who has been trying to keep gluten out of my family’s diet for 7+ years. I hope that the information I’ve provided helps other families, too. If you find additions or corrections to make to the list, please put them in the comments so that others may benefit from the information. Thanks. I hope you have a Happy Halloween!]

History of my Halloween Candy List:

Ever since my kids started getting candy from trick-or-treating, I’ve been trying to figure out which candy has gluten and which doesn’t. It was easy in the beginning because they didn’t really get much candy, and I could always just throw it out (or give away to non-celiacs) without them realizing it. Then, I found the list that circulates around the web every year. It’s a list that Melonie Katz and many other parents of celiac children put together. They combined resources to look up ingredients and call companies to get a list of safe and unsafe candies for celiacs. Here is the 2009 GF Candy List .

Then, my kids started having Halloween parties at school, and getting more candy from trick-or-treating. Sometimes, they would get some unusual candies that you only see at Halloween time. They are a little more difficult to look up online. As a result, I just started reading all the packages of candy in stores. I started doing it just casually, out of curiosity. Then, I started to write it down, so I could better remember come Halloween night. Now, I go to several stores (grocery, discount, dollar, etc.) to see what candy our neighbors and classmates might be offering for Halloween treats. Since not everyone is as crazy as me, I thought I would share with you my findings.

 

Categories : Candy, Product Advisory
Comments (136)
Oct
19

Van’s New Gluten-Free Products

Posted by: | Comments (13)

VansGFA while back I was sent a box of gluten-free food items from Van’s Natural Foods. They don’t just make gluten-free frozen waffles anymore! (That was one of the first items we were able to buy in the stores over eight years ago when my son was diagnosed with Celiac Disease.) Van’s has really expanded their gluten-free line of products. Maybe you’ve already seen some of these products in the stores and wondered what they taste like. If you haven’t seen them in the stores and want to try them for yourself, you can check out the Store Locator on their site. You may also want to check out the Coupons and Specials page on their site. I found them available at Walmart stores. If you’ve already tried some of the Van’s gluten-free products, please add your thoughts about them in the comments below, so we can all benefit from your opinions, too.

vanbarMy favorite product in the box was the Cranberry Almond Snack Bars. I bought these this summer for a quick snack while out running errands. I didn’t want to stop for a meal, and this was just what I needed. Even before the weather started cooling down around here, I didn’t have to worry about it melting in my car or purse. They aren’t overly sweet, and are great to refuel for after-school sports and activities, too. They are a soft, chewy bar, so if you’re looking for some crunch, this isn’t the one for you. They have some other flavors, too  – Chocolate Chip and Peanut Butter Chocolate — but this one is my favorite.

VansCrackersEveryone will enjoy these crackers whether they follow a gluten-free diet or not. If you’ve been gluten-free for several years, you may remember how difficult it was to find crispy snack crackers. Well, not anymore. Van’s crackers are very light and crispy. The Fire-Roasted Veggie crackers paired with my Corn and Black Bean Salad made a delicious, quick lunch.

My husband got to try the cheddar crackers. He’s the only one in our house who eats cheese anymore. He said they were good and really appreciated the individual packaging so he could pack it in a suitcase for traveling or simply grab it for a quick snack at work. Kids’ lunches, anyone?

CinnHeavenSpoonAnd finally, we tried Van’s new gluten-free cereals. My son loves cinnamon, so he was anxious to try the Cinnamon Heaven cereal. He thought it was great. It was a good crunchy cereal, but I personally prefer a crispier texture. I also bought the Honey Nut flavored cereal to try. The texture was the same, and the consensus was that we liked the cinnamon flavor better.

Overall, I’d say I was pleasantly surprised by the crackers and will buy these for entertaining this holiday season. And, the snack bars will also have a place in my pantry and purse.

So, what do you think? Have you tried any of these products? I’d love to read your thoughts in the comments.

Categories : Food, Product Advisory
Comments (13)

PillsburyPrizeSetThanks to everyone who shared in our excitement of the new Gluten-Free Pillsbury® Dough products. I had a great time baking and experimenting with the new doughs. I’m sure the giveaway winner will enjoy them, too.PillsburycookiePillsburyPie

Congratulations to our winner, Mandy, who will receive a 3-piece baking set to go along with coupons for free Pillsbury® gluten-free dough. She contributed to the discussions with the following comment:

CeliacFamilyPillsburyWinnerAug2013

And, thanks to Pillsbury® for sponsoring the discussion and giveaway. For those of you who didn’t win, but still want to try the new gluten-free products, check your local grocery store. Or, check Pillsbury’s product locator if you have trouble finding them. Happy Baking! :)

Categories : Giveaway
Comments (2)

GIVEAWAY IS NOW CLOSED. THE WINNER WILL BE ANNOUNCED IN A POST ON AUG. 26, 2013.
Giveaway details listed below.
If you missed the first two reviews I wrote of the Pillsbury® Gluten-Free Doughs, you may want to read them, too:  Pillsbury® Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough and Pillsbury® Gltuen-Free Pizza Dough.

peachpieslicepeachpieNow, for the last of their current doughs available — Pillsbury® Gluten-Free Pie and Pastry Dough.

Earlier this year, my son discovered the joy of my mother’s apple crumb pie. He raves about it every time apple pie, or any pie, is mentioned. So, when I received Pillsbury pie dough in the mail, apple pie was immediately requested (perhaps demanded).

However, when shopping at the farmers’ market last week, I just couldn’t resist the fresh peaches. And, when the vendor offered me a flat of bruised peaches to me for a big discount, I knew I was going to make a Peach Crumb Pie instead. My son was a little disappointed that it wasn’t “Grandma’s Apple Pie,” but he seemed to enjoy the peach pie just the same. And, then I made him an Apple Crumb Pie, too. :)

When, I first opened the tub of pie crust dough, it looked dry and crumbly. Don’t let that discourage you. It only takes a little kneading to get the dough to a smooth consistency. When I made the apple pie, I rolled out the dough using parchment paper on the bottom and plastic wrap on the top. The crust tore a little when transferring to the pie tin, but it was easily fixed by pressing the dough together again with my fingers. For the Peach Pie, I didn’t even roll out the dough. Just pressing the dough into the pie tin works just as well, and I think it’s faster and easier. The results? We’ll, it isn’t a buttery, flaky, homemade pie crust. It is made with oil, and behaves like an oil pie crust. That didn’t bother us a bit. We all loved the taste and texture of the crust as it was — rolled or pressed out, it was very tasty and had a nice tender crumb to it.

Each tub of pie and pastry dough makes two 9″ pie crusts. So, I used half the dough for the crust and the other half for the crumb topping. What a time saver! This really is the easiest gluten-free crumb pie I’ve ever made. With the dough already made, preparing the peaches takes the most time. But if you’ve got farm fresh peaches, the pit and skin remove very easily. Easy peasy!

piedoughpiecrustPillsburyPie

Gluten-Free Peach Pie with Crumb Topping Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 7-9 Fresh Peaches – sliced, peeled and pit removed
  • 1/2 Cup Brown Sugar
  • 1 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp Nutmeg
  • 2 Tbsp Corn Starch or Tapioca Flour
  • 1/4 Cup sugar

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400° F. Prepare the peaches by removing the pits, peeling off the skin, and slicing.
  2. piepeachesRemove the gluten-free pie dough from the tub and cut in half. You’ll use one half for the bottom crust and the other half for the crumb topping.
  3. For the crust: Dump 1/2 of the pie dough into a pie tin. Knead the dough with your hands until it is smooth. Now flatten and push the dough into the pie tin until it evenly covers the entire inside of the tin and becomes the crust. I like to push a little extra dough to the edge of the tin, so that I can pinch the edges of the dough with my fingers to create a decorative edge.
  4. piecinnamonFor the filling: Place the peach slices into the pie crust and arrange so that you get the most fruit in as possible. In a small bowl, whisk together the brown sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg and cornstarch. Then, sprinkle it evenly over the top of the peaches in the pie tin.
  5. Using the same small bowl, use a fork to mix together the 1/4 Cup sugar and remaining pie crust dough. Just combine (and fluff?) until crumbly. Now pour the crumb mixture on top of the pie, carefully covering the entire pie.
  6. piecrumbPlace the pie in the oven and bake at 400º for 40 min. I used a Pie Crust Shield to keep the edges of the crust from burning. You could use strips of foil instead, as Pillsbury’s baking directions suggest.

 

 

Additional notes about the pie dough:

  • pieedgeThere was no need to grease the pie tin. I didn’t have problems with the pie crust sticking to the tin.
  • The directions for baking the crust says to bake at 425° F. I opted to bake a little longer at 400° instead.
  • “Ingredients: Soybean Oil, Water, Corn Starch, Modified Potato Starch, Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, Rice Flour, Whole Sorghum Flour, Fructose. Contains 2% or less of: Sugar, Salt, Xanthan Gum, Sodium Propionate and Potassium Sorbate (preservatives), Guar Gum, Citric Acid.
  • I paid $4.99 in the grocery store.  (Pillsbury® sent me one tub to try, but I bought another tub myself to make an apple pie, too.)
  • I thought the crust tasted great, and I loved the ease of working with the dough. Now I am thinking about trying some of the ideas below as well as a few new ideas of my own. :)

More recipe inspiration:

Giveaway Details:
GIVEAWAY IS NOW CLOSED. THE WINNER WILL BE ANNOUNCED IN A POST ON AUG. 26, 2013.

Pillsbury® has agreed to let one of Celiac Family’s readers try the new products, too!

PillsburyPrizeSet
What: Premium Baking Set with a Cookie Sheet, Pie Tin, and Pizza Cutter, and coupons for free Pillsbury® gluten-free dough.

When: Beginning now and continuing through Aug. 23, 2013. One winner will be announced on Aug. 26, 2016.

How to Enter: Do you want to try the Pillsbury® gluten-free dough? Enter the giveaway by simply leaving a comment on this post or the other two CeliacFamily posts about Pillsbury’s® Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough and Pillsbury’s® Pizza Dough. Tell me why you’re excited to try the new Pillsbury® gluten-free products, and how it will make your life better.

Additional Details: Although you are welcome to and encouraged to comment on each post about the new Gluten-Free Pillsbury® dough products, only one winner will be chosen from CeliacFamily.com.

 Thanks to Pillsbury® for sponsoring today’s post and giveaway. All opinions are my own. :)

Comments (9)