Archive for Holidays

Mar
24

Chocolate Eggs in a Cookie Basket

Posted by: | Comments (9)

img_1995xThis is one of my favorite Easter treats to make for the kids. OK, it’s really a treat for me, but don’t tell them that. :o) Chocolate eggs in a “basket” made of chocolate chip cookie dough — what could be better? You will need an Individual Tart Baking Pan (also known as a tartlette pan). You may also be able to use a Mini Muffin Pan or muffin-top pan, but I’ve always used my non-stick tart baking pan. I think it makes just the right shape for the basket.

.

Chocolate Eggs in a Cookie Basket

Ingredients:

Chocolate Chip Cookie dough (I used Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Cookie Mix.)
Candy-coated chocolate eggs (I used Cadbury Mini Eggs, but you can use M&M’s Chocolate Eggs, too.)

Directions:

  1. img_1985xxMix up chocolate chip cookie dough according to directions, and drop a large mounded tablespoon of dough into each tart impression in the pan.
  2. Bake cookies in the tart pan according to the recipe directions.
  3. When cooking is done, remove pan of cookies from the oven and press chocolate eggs into the center of each cookie tart. Leave in the pan for 5 minutes.
  4. After 5 minutes, gently remove the cookies from the pan by grabbing the edges of the cookies and pulling out with a slight twisting motion. The pan will still be hot, so be careful not to touch it with your fingers!

Additional Notes:

  • If the cookies start to come apart while trying to remove, they are probably too soft and warm. Let them cool down for a few more minutes. If the cookies won’t move at all, they are probably too cool. Set them back in the oven for a couple minutes to warm them up. They should now release easily from the pan. (I’ve never had to spray my non-stick pan, but if yours isn’t a non-stick type, you may want to use a non-stick spray before dropping the cookie dough onto the pan.)
  • If you can’t get the chocolate eggs, or want to make these for another occasion, try using a different chocolate candy. These are really good with Reese’s Miniature Peanut Butter Cups or Hershey’s Kisses, too!
  • One batch makes about 24.

Notable Links:

Mar
17

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Posted by: | Comments (3)

Hope you are enjoying this day with plenty of gluten-free Irish (or at least green) food and beer. Still looking for some recipes or ideas for celebrating the day? I’ve gathered the links below for inspiration.

Irish-inspired Gluten-Free Recipes:

Gluten-Free Beer Reviews:

Comments (3)
Mar
09

Easter Candy

Posted by: | Comments (71)

51-hj4ahzl_sl160_jpg[2010 Update: I can't believe how many different Easter candies show up every year. I've added quite a few this year. I even added a category for pre-filled plastic eggs.

Some items to note: 1) Cadbury's Creme Eggs don't have gluten listed in their ingredients this year. Yay! 2) The original Reese's peanut butter eggs and even the small size do not have gluten in the ingredients. However, there is wheat flour in the the Reese's miniature candies that are foil-wrapped, including the mini Reester Bunnies. Boo!

I've done my best to make accurate updates, and will continue to do so as I find more this month. If you happen to find a mistake, or question the gluten safety of the candy, please add a comment below so everyone can read and benefit from the discussion. Thanks, and have a Happy Easter!]

So I’ve been shopping at our local discount and grocery stores for gluten-free Easter candy. You’ll find my list of Safe and Unsafe Candy below. My determination of “Safe Gluten-Free Candy” and “Unsafe Candy” is based solely on me reading package labels at the stores in my area. After each “unsafe” candy, I have noted why I chose to consider it unsafe. Whether it has gluten in the ingredients or the possibility of trace amounts due to cross-contamination,  you can decide for yourself. Please keep in mind that products do vary their packaging and labeling, so it’s always best if you read the labels yourself. However, I know sometimes that isn’t always possible, especially this time of year when our kids are going to community egg hunts. So, here’s what I found in our stores. I hope it helps and gives you peace of mind while you enjoy the “Safe” Easter candies.

Safe Gluten-Free Candy

Jelly Beans

  • Gimbal’s Jelly Beans (including all flavors and varieties) “Gluten Free, Dairy Free, Peanut Free, Tree Nut Free,  Soy Free, Egg Free” (Nov. 2013)
  • Jelly Belly Jelly Beans (including original and sour flavors)
  • Just Born Jelly Beans (including original fruit flavored, licorice flavored (black), berry flavored, and spice flavored)
  • Jolly Rancher Jelly Beans (including fruit smoothie flavors)
  • Lifesaver Jellybeans
  • Mike and Ike Jelly Beans
  • Nerds Bumpy Jelly Beans (Wonka) (Be careful. This had cross-contamination warnings on the packages I found last year.)
  • Russel Stover Pectin Jelly Beans
  • Spree Jelly Beans (Cherry, Lemon and Green Apple)
  • Starburst Jellybeans (original, tropical, and red fruits)
  • SweeTart Jelly Beans (Be careful. This had cross-contamination warnings on the packages I found last year.)
  • Teenee Beanee Jelly Beans (including Island Breeze, Americana Medley, and Country Retreat flavored packages)

Plastic Eggs Pre-filled with Candy

  • Bee Flowers and Fairies Egg Hunt (includes Smarties, Super Bubble bubble gum, Taffy Werks, Jelly Bean Werks, and Lemonheads)
  • Bee Sport Ball Eggs (includes Smarties, Super Bubble bubble gum, Taffy Werks, Jelly Bean Werks, and Lemonheads)
  • Bee Noah’s Ark Easter Egg Hunt (includes Smarties, Super Bubble bubble gum, Taffy Werks, Jelly Bean Werks, and Lemonheads)
  • Bug Collector Candy Filled Egg Hunt (includes Ferrara Pan jellybeans, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Jaw Busters)
  • Mmmm…Cupcakes Egg Hunt (includes Ferrara Pan jellybeans, Red Hots, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Jaw Busters)
  • Peace and Love Egg Hunt (includes Ferrara Pan jellybeans, Red Hots, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Jaw Busters)
  • Dress Up Candy Filled Egg Hunt (includes Ferrara Pan jellybeans, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Jaw Busters)
  • Farm Friends Candy Filled Egg Hunt (includes Ferrara Pan jellybeans, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Jaw Busters)
  • Game Time Candy Filled Egg Hunt (includes Ferrara Pan jellybeans, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Jaw Busters)
  • Glow in the Dark Egg Hunt (includes Ferrara Pan jellybeans, Red Hots, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Jaw Busters)
  • Nighttime Candy Filled Egg Hunt (includes Ferrara Pan jellybeans, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Jaw Busters)
  • Outdoor Adventure Candy Filled Egg Hunt (includes Ferrara Pan jellybeans, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Jaw Busters)
  • Pet Shop Candy Filled Egg Hunt (includes Ferrara Pan jellybeans, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Jaw Busters)
  • Rainforest Candy Filled Egg Hunt (includes Ferrara Pan jellybeans, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Jaw Busters)
  • Speedster Cars Candy Filled Egg Hunt (includes Ferrara Pan jellybeans, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Jaw Busters)
  • Wonka Egg Hunt with a Golden Egg (includes Nerds, Laffy Taffy, and SweeTarts)
  • Wonka Egg Hunt Zero Gravity (includes Nerds, Laffy Taffy, and SweeTarts)
  • Wonka Egg Hunt Hard 2 Find (includes Nerds, Runts, and SweeTarts)



Other Easter Candy

  • Almond Joy Eggs
  • Andes Creme de Menthe Thins
  • Brach’s Jelly Bean Nougats
  • For Butterfinger candy, look under Nestle
  • Cadbury Chocolatecandy manufactured by the Hershey Company in the US. 1-800-468-1714
    • Cadbury Caramello Bunnies (as found Mar. 2009)
    • Cadbury Dairy Milk Chocolate Bunny
    • Cadbury hollow milk chocolate egg filled with Cadbury mini-eggs — No gluten ingredients are listed, however “Natural Flavors” is listed in the ingredients.
    • Cadbury mini-chocolate eggs – Royal Dark and Dairy Milk Chocolate — No gluten ingredients are listed, however “Natural Flavors” is listed in the ingredients: [Milk chocolate ingredients: "milk chocolate (sugar; milk; chocolate; cocoa butter; lactose; soy lecithin; PGPR, emulsifier; artificial and natural flavors); sugar; contains 2% or less of: cornstarch; gum acacia; artificial color (yellow 6 lake; blue 2 lake; yellow 5; blue 2; red 40); ethyl vanillin artificial flavor."]
    • Cadbury Creme Eggs — This year, the regular and mini eggs I found did not have gluten listed in the ingredients. However, “Natural Flavors” is listed in the ingredients. (Last year “Glucose (wheat)” was listed in the ingredients. Many Celiacs consider the glucose, even from wheat, to be gluten-free due to all the processing.)
    • Cadbury Caramel Eggs — This year, the regular and mini eggs I found did not have gluten listed in the ingredients. However, “Natural Flavors” is listed in the ingredients. (Last year “Glucose (wheat)” was listed in the ingredients. Many Celiacs consider the glucose, even from wheat, to be gluten-free due to all the processing.)
    • Cadbury Orange Creme Eggs
  • Carousel Bubble Gum Eggs
  • Carousel Easter Egg Surprise Lollipops (as found Mar. 2009)
  • Charms Blow Pops and Blow Pop Minis
  • Cry Baby Eggs
  • Dairy Good Easter bunnies (chocolate flavored, foil-wrapped)
  • Dairy Good Easter eggs (chocolate eggs)
  • Dairy Good Chocolate and White Chocolate Crosses
  • Disney Princess plastic eggs with candy and stickers inside
  • Dove Chocolate productsare all gluten-free according to a message on their consumer line (1-800-551-0704).
    • Dove Chocolate Eggs (including milk chocolate, milk chocolate almond, peanut butter, and dark chocolate varieties)
    • Dove Fairy Bunny hollow milk chocolate
    • Dove Solid Chocolate Bunnies, milk chocolate Ingredients: milk chocolate (sugar, cocoa butter, chocolate, skim milk, milkfat, lactose, chocolate processed with alkali, soy lecithin, natural and artificial flavors). Allergy Information: May contain peanuts.
    • Dove Solid Chocolate Bunnies, dark chocolate
    • Dove Truffle Eggs
  • Dubble Bubble Eggs (egg-shaped bubble gum) and Speckled Bubble Gum
  • Easter Bunny Egg-head family filled with Power Candy
  • Farley’s Kiddie Mix includes Now & Laters, Jawbreakers, Super Bubble bubble gum, Tootsie Roll Midgees, Sassy Tarts and Smarties
  • Florida Natural Healthy Treats fruit snacks eggs (as found Mar. 2009)
  • Frankford Marshmallow Chicks and Bunnies
  • Fun Dip (Wonka)
  • Gimbal’s candies, all varieties (see allergen statement)
  • Hershey’schocolate candy
    • Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Bunnies, Springtime Flowers, and Crosses
    • Hershey’s milk chocolate hollow egg with candy-coated milk chocolate eggs inside
    • Hershey’s candy-coated milk chocolate eggs
    • Hershey’s Solid Milk Chocolate Speedy Bunny and Princess Bunny
    • Hershey’s milk chocolate hollow Bunny
    • Hershey’s milk chocolate eggs
    • Hershey’s Special Dark chocolate eggs
    • Hershey’s Marshmallow Eggs
  • Hershey’s Blisschocolate candy
    • Hershey’s Bliss milk chocolate eggs with a meltaway center
    • Hershey’s Bliss dark chocolate eggs
    • Hershey’s Bliss Hollow Milk Chocolate Bunny
  • Hershey’s Kisses
    • Hershey’s Kisses filled with Caramel
    • Hershey’s Kisses with Almond
  • Lifesaver hard candies – Original and Pastels
  • Lifesaver Eggsortment (including jellybeans, gummies and pops)
  • Lifesaver Gummies – Original, and Bunnies and Eggs
  • Lindt white and dark chocolate bunnies as well as Lindt Chocolate Carrots did not have any gluten listed in the ingredients, but are at risk of cross-contamination. (See Lindt listing below.)
  • Melster Chocolate Flavored Marshmallow Bunnies
  • M&M’s — original, peanut, Speck-tacular Eggs, and Bunny Mix
  • Mounds Eggs (as found Mar. 2009)
  • Nestle’s Nest Eggs (Nestle’s Crunch Nest Eggs are not gluten-free.)
  • Nestle’s milk chocolate Nest Eggs
  • Nestle’s creamy caramel Nest Eggs
  • Nestle’s Butterfinger chocolate Nest Eggs
  • Nestle’s Butterfinger Creme Eggs
  • Palmer Holiday Candy see their website for gluten-free candy. One of our readers, Kristin, also noted in the comments that she found that the hollow chocolate bunnies that had hard candy eyes and other body parts often stated that they were “processed with wheat.” The ones that were simply chocolate and wrapped in foil didn’t have that statement.
    • Palmer’s Bunny Bites foil-wrapped eggs (includes both soft caramel and peanut butter flavors)
    • Palmer’s Baby Binks hollow milk chocolate bunny
    • Palmer’s Bunnyettes (milk chocolate)
    • Palmer’s Butter Cream Flavored eggs
    • Palmer’s Carrot Patch Pete (solid milk chocolate bunny)
    • Palmer’s Fudge Filled Big Ears (foil-wrapped bunnies with big ears)
    • Palmer’s Hollow Bunnies (milk flavored and milk chocolate flavored)
    • Palmer’s Little Beauty milk chocolate bunny
    • Palmer’s Milk Chocolate Flavored and premium milk chocolate eggs
    • Palmer’s Peanut Butter Filled  chocolate eggs
    • Palmer Poppin’ Rockin’ Egg (hollow egg filled with Pop Rocks)
    • Palmer’s Soft Caramel Cups
    • Palmer’s Super Sports Balls
    • Palmer’s Quax hollow milk flavored candy duck (“The Yummy Ducky”) — Be careful with this one. In one store, this statement was included on the boxes: “Manufactured on equipment which processes wheat, peanut butter and other tree nuts.” In other stores, this statement was not on the boxes. Made in different facilities?
  • Peeps (all shapes and colors) — “Gluten Free”
  • Peeps milk chocolate covered marshmallow
  • PEZ candy
  • Pixy Stix Green Grass (Wonka)
  • Giant Pixy Stix (Wonka)
  • Pop Rocks in plastic egg
  • Reese’s Peanut ButterChocolate candy
    • Reese’s Easter Assortment Eggs (including peanut butter eggs, white peanut butter eggs, and miniatures) – This does not include the foil-wrapped mini eggs, which do have gluten.
    • Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup miniatures
    • Reese’s Pieces Pastel Eggs
    • Reese’s Peanut Butter Eggs – large and small size, but not the foil-wrapped mini eggs (see Unsafe list below)
    • Reese’s Reester Bunny — large size only, but not the mini-sized (see Unsafe list below)
  • Ring pops
  • Sixlets
  • Skittles eggs and fun-size
  • Smarties candy rolls “Contain none of the following: gluten (from wheat, barley, oats and rye), milk, egg, fish, Crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, wheat, peanuts, or soybeans.”
  • Snickers mini’s
  • Sour Patch Bunnies
  • Starburst fruit chews – funsize
  • Swedish Fish Eggs soft and chewy candy
  • Sunny Seed Drops chocolate covered sunflower seeds
  • Tootsie Rolls (including midgees and fruit rolls)
  • Tootsie Pops
  • Wonka Everlasting Gobstopper Eggbreakers
  • Wonka Giant Pixy Stix
  • Wonka Hoppin’ Nerds
  • Wonka Runts Freckled Eggs
  • York Peppermint Patties
  • Zachary real chocolate Marshmallow Eggs
  • Zachary solid milk chocolate Bunnies
  • Zipperz Lollipops (as found Mar. 2009)


Unsafe Candy (may contain gluten)

Jelly Beans

  • Brach’s Jelly Bird Eggs (includes classic, black, orchard fruit, and premium tiny jelly-bird eggs) — “Packaged on equipment that also packages products containing traces of milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, and/or soy protein.”
  • Brach’s Hawaiian Punch Jelly Beans — “Packaged on equipment that also packages products containing traces of milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, and/or soy protein.”
  • Sour Patch Jelly Beans — “Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts, wheat, milk, soy, cashew nuts.”

Other Easter Candy

  • Brach’s Chocolate Bunnies — “malt extract” is listed in the ingredients. “Manufactured on equipment that also manufactures products containing peanuts, tree nuts and wheat.”
  • Child’s Play Easter Mix — “Packed on equipment that also manufactures products containing peanuts, tree nuts and wheat.” (as found Mar. 2009)
  • Chick Feed sunflower seeds “May contain wheat, peanuts, and tree nuts.”
  • Ferrero Rocher candy — “wheat flour” in ingredients
  • Frankford Cookies and Creme Eggs — “wheat flour” in ingredients
  • Frankford Crispy Eggs (milk chocolate flavored) — “malt extract, milk and soy” listed in ingredients. “Manufactured in a facility that also processes peanuts and wheat.”
  • Frankford solid milk chocolate bunny — “Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts and wheat.”
  • Galerie Edible Easter Grass (imported from Germany) — “May contain wheat.” on label
  • Hershey’s miniatures — “malt” listed in ingredients. “Allergy Information: May contain wheat.”
  • Hershey’s Cookies ‘n’ Creme eggs — “wheat flour” in ingredients
  • Kit Kat Bunny Ears and Kit Kat minis — “wheat flour” in ingredients
  • Lindt Chocolate — Lindt US website addresses the question of gluten with this note: “Unfortunately, at this time we cannot guarantee that Lindt chocolate is gluten free. Our white and extra dark (70% cocoa and above) chocolate products by nature do not contain barley malt. However, because they run on the same production lines as other products there is a chance of cross contamination.”
  • Lindt Lindor Truffles Eggs — “malt powder” listed in ingredients
  • Lindt Assorted Chocolates with smooth filling — “barley malt powder” listed in ingredients
  • Lindt milk chocolate bunnies (Gold Bunny, wrapped in gold foil) — “barley malt extract” listed in ingredients
  • Lindt Bugs & Bees — “wheat and barley malt powder” in the ingredients.
  • Lindt mini eggs, mini lamb, lamb, and mini chicks — “barley malt powder” listed in ingredients
  • Mayfair Kid’s Play basket stuffers (including Fuit Chews, Teaberry Gumballs, Spout Bubble Log, Atomic Fireballs, Super Bubble bubble gum, Easter Pops, Jawbreakers, Airheads, Lemonhead, and Smarties) — “Packed in a facility that processes peanuts, nuts, milk products, soy protein, wheat, eggs and sesame seeds.”
  • Mighty Malts Speckled Malted Milk Eggs — “malted barley and wheat flour” are listed in the ingredients.
  • Milky Way minis — “malted barley” in ingredients
  • Milky Way Bunnies — surprisingly, no gluten was listed in the ingredients; “Allergy Information: May contain peanuts, tree nuts, egg and wheat.”
  • Nestle Butterfinger Egg with pieces in chocolate (this does not include the foil-wrapped eggs or the fun-size butterfingers) — “Made on equipment that also processes nuts and wheat.”
  • Nestle Crunch Nest Eggs — “Barley Malt” listed as an ingredient. “Made on equipment that also processes peanuts, nuts and wheat.”
  • PAAS eggs — “malt” listed in ingredients
  • Palmer Holiday Candy see their website for gluten-free candy. One of our readers, Kristin, also noted in the comments that she found that the hollow chocolate bunnies that had hard candy eyes and other body parts often stated that they were “processed with wheat.” The ones that were simply chocolate and wrapped in foil didn’t have that statement.
    • Palmer’s Double Crisp chocolate candy (including Bunnies, Bunnyettes, Pops, Chick a Dees, Bunny Munny and Eggs) — “barley malt” listed in ingredients
    • Palmer’s Lil’ Crispy chocolate bunny — “malt” listed in ingredients. “Manufactured on equipment which processes wheat, peanut butter, and tree nuts.”
    • Palmer’s My Little Bunny — “barley malt” listed in ingredients; “Manufactured on equipment which processes wheat, peanut butter and tree nuts.”
    • Palmer’s Cookies ‘n Creme Eggs — “bleached wheat flour” is listed in ingredients. “Manufactured on equipment which processes wheat, peanut butter, and tree nuts.”
    • Palmer’s Crispy Peanut Butter flavored eggs — “malt” listed in ingredients.
    • Palmer’s Eggbert Double Crisp — “Barley malt” listed in ingredients.
    • Palmer’s Quax hollow milk flavored candy duck (“The Yummy Ducky”) — Be careful with this one. In one store, this statement was included on the boxes: “Manufactured on equipment which processes wheat, peanut butter and other tree nuts.” In other stores, this statement was not on the boxes. Made in different facilities?
  • Peter Rabbit real milk chocolate bunny — “Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts and wheat.”
  • Peter Rabbit hollow milk chocolate bunny — “Manufactured on shared equipment that processes peanuts, almonds, cashews, walnuts, hazelnuts, wheat and egg.”
  • Reese’s milk chocolate and peanut butter eggs (mini eggs foil-wrapped individually) — “wheat flour” listed in the ingredients
  • Reese’s mini-Reester Bunnies — “wheat flour” in ingredients
  • Russel Stover chocolate candy — With the exception of the jelly beans, every RS product I looked at had a similar statement of cross-contamination: “Products have been produced on shared equipment with peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, and wheat.” Some of their products had additional allergens listed to those above.
  • Snickers Eggs — “Allergy Information: May contain tree nuts, egg, and wheat.”
  • Snickers Creme Sports Eggs — “Allergy Information: May contain tree nuts, egg, and wheat.”
  • SpongeBob Squarepants Eggs plastic egg with sour candy and stickers — “Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts, almonds and wheat.”
  • SpongeBob Squarepants gummy Krabby Patties — “Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts, almonds and wheat.”
  • SweetTart Gummy Bunnies (Wonka) — “wheat” listed as an ingredient
  • Trolli Gummi Bunnies — “Packaged on equipment that also packages products containing traces of milk, eggs, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, and/or soy protein.” (as found Mar. 2009)
  • Twix — “Wheat Flour” listed in ingredients (as found Mar. 2009)
  • Twizzlerscandy
    • Twizzlers Tweeters — “wheat” listed as an ingredient (as found Mar. 2009)
    • Twizzlers Rainbow Twists — “wheat” listed as an ingredient
    • Twizted Strawberry Blast pull-n-peel candy — “wheat” listed as an ingredient
    • Twizzlers Strawberry Mini Bars — “wheat” listed as an ingredient
  • Whitman’s Sampler — “Allergy Information: Products have been processed on shared equipment with tree nuts and wheat.”
  • Whoppers Robin Eggs (includes mini-Robbin Eggs, too) — “barley malt and wheat flour” in ingredients
  • Wonka’s eggs — “oat flour” listed as an ingredient; “Made on equipment that also processes peanuts, nuts and wheat.”
  • Wonka Easter Nerds Rope — “Made in a facility that also processes wheat and egg.”
  • Wonka Mix-Ups (including SweeTart chews, Laffy Taffy, SweeTarts, and Nerds) “Made in a facility that also processes wheat and egg.”

.

Notable Links:

Comments (71)
Feb
16

Gluten-Free Beignet Recipe

Posted by: | Comments (38)

This winter, our family went to the movie theater to watch Disney’s latest animated film “The Princess and the Frog.” We loved the movie. And, although I haven’t spent a lot of time in New Orleans, I was reminded of the fun times and good food I’ve had there in the past. In the movie, there were scenes where Tiana (“the princess”) makes or powders beignets (pronounced ben-YAYs), a kind of doughnut that was made famous by Cafe du Monde in New Orleans. While watching the scenes, I wondered about making these gluten free. Of course, I couldn’t find a gluten-free recipe, so I had to come up with my own.

I am so excited to share this recipe with you. I’ve never actually eaten a lot of beignets – only when I’ve been at the French Quarter in New Orleans. They really are a delicious treat. If you’re not familiar with them, I would describe them as a square doughnut, or bread dough deep fried into little square pillows, and topped with powdered sugar. They are so yummy! If you aren’t celebrating Mardi Gras with a Gluten-Free King Cake this year, then you should definitely indulge in these little gems.

Gluten-Free Beignet Recipe

Ingredients:

1/2 Cup warm water
1/4 Cup sugar
2 tsp yeast
3/4 Cup almond milk (Regular milk should work, too.)
1/2 Cup butter, melted
2 eggs, lightly beaten
2 Cups brown rice flour (I use Authentic Foods finely ground.)
1 Cup potato starch
1/2 Cup sweet rice flour
1 Tbsp xanthan gum
1/2 tsp salt
1 liter vegetable oil for frying beignets
powdered sugar for dusting the beignets after cooking

Directions:

  1. You’ll need a large pot of vegetable oil to fry the beignets. Electric deep fryers are great for keeping the temperature consistent. However, you can use a pot of oil on the stove top, but you’ll need to watch the temperature closely. You should fry the beignets between 360° - 380° F.
  2. Start by combining the yeast with the sugar and the warm water (110° - 115° F is recommended but I don’t usually check the temperature.) in a small bowl. Set it aside.
  3. In a large bowl, mix together the brown rice flour, potato starch, sweet rice flour, xanthan gum, and salt. Add in the melted butter, milk, and eggs and mix thoroughly.
  4. Now stir the yeast mixture into the flour mixture. The dough should start to pull together into a soft ball.
  5. Turn the dough out onto a sheet of parchment paper and top with plastic wrap. Using a rolling pin, roll out the dough until it’s about 1/8″ thick.
  6. Using a pizza cutter, cut the beignets into 2-1/2″ squares. You should be able to make 24 – 30 beignets.
  7. Fry the dough in the heated oil 1 – 3 beignets at a time. Don’t fry too many at once, as it can lower the temperature of the oil too fast. Thus, inhibiting the beignets to puff up like they should. Once the beignets start to brown, flip them over using a slotted spoon or tongs. Once the beignets have been lightly browned on both sides, carefully remove them from the oil and place on paper towels to absorb extra oil. The beignets should only take one or two minutes to brown on each side.
  8. Generously top each beignet with powdered sugar and serve while warm.

Additional Notes:

  • These aren’t terribly sweet. Most of the sweetness comes from the powdered sugar, so you can easily adjust it to your liking. You can even drizzle a little honey on it, like my husband did,  if you have a sweet tooth.
  • In case you’re wondering: I didn’t find it necessary to wait and allow the dough to rise. I simply cut them out and fried them up.
  • This dough wasn’t very sticky, so you might be able to roll out the dough without using the parchment paper and plastic wrap, but I find it convenient. A little dusting of potato starch on the counter and rolling pin should work fine.
  • Just roll out the dough once. I tried to re-roll the dough (balled it up and rolled it out again) to cut perfect squares. As a result, the dough fried up flat and a little tougher.
  • Watch the temperature of the oil while frying. If it’s too low, the beignets won’t puff up. If it’s too high, the center won’t cook through and will be a little gummy. If you’re having trouble, try putting two pieces of dough into the oil at a time when it’s at 380° F.
  • Although I don’t believe it’s traditional, I think these would be nice with a little cinnamon mixed into the dough. I might try that next time.
  • In order to save time for breakfast, the traditional meal time to eat these, make up the dough the night before and keep the dough in the refrigerator. In the morning, roll it out, cut it and fry.

Notable Links

  • I did eventually find another recipe for gluten-free beignets. This one by Teri Gruss at About.com uses a cake mix for the flour.
  • There are more tips for cooking beignets at Cafe Du Monde .
  • I’m linking this to Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays because I only used 1/4 Cup sugar in the dough and I reduced the lactose content by using almond milk.
  • For more gluten-free recipes, visit The Gluten-Free Homemaker at this week’s edition of “What Can I Eat That’s Gluten Free?
  • Know a fan of Disney’s “The Princess and the Frog”? Here are some coloring/activity pages my daughter has enjoyed.
Feb
09

Chocolate Macadamia Nut Candy

Posted by: | Comments (11)

This month I’ve been experimenting with chocolate-covered macadamia nuts. I made three different versions: Easy, Delicious, and Addictive! Plus, some heart-shaped ones for Valentine’s Day. Let me start with the easy recipe:

Easy Chocolate-Covered Macadamia Nuts

Ingredients:

Whole Raw Macadamia Nuts
Dark Cocoa Candy Melts

You’ll also need a Truffles Candy Mold.

Directions:

  1. Melt chocolate candy melts in the microwave. Start by melting at half power for about two minutes. Then, put in for another minute at a time to finish melting.
  2. Fill about a third of each candy truffle mold with the melted chocolate. Push a nut into the melted chocolate in the mold. Then, finish filling the candy mold with more melted chocolate. Tap the mold on the counter to release any air bubbles.
  3. Place the mold in the refrigerator for at least 30 minutes. Then, pull it out of the refrigerator, turn it upside down and pop the candies out.

Additional Notes:

  • The candy melts are so easy to work with, and they make very pretty, shiny candies. However, it isn’t as tasty as using good chocolate. (That doesn’t mean they didn’t disappear as quickly as I made them.)
  • For melting the candy melt discs, I used a plastic squeeze bottle.  It made it easy to melt the candy  and fill the candy mold. You can keep the bottle in a bowl of warm water to keep the chocolate warm while you’re filling the candy molds with nuts. Or, just pop it back into the microwave for a minute or two, if necessary.
  • You can, of course, melt the chocolate on the stove with a double boiler. Just be careful not to get any water into the chocolate, as it can make the chocolate seize.

.

Delicious Chocolate-Covered Macadamia Nuts

For an even better tasting candy, instead of raw macadamia nuts, I used Elana’s recipe for candied macadamia nuts at Elana’s Pantry. It’s a pretty quick and easy recipe, and is a very tasty treat by itself. But, the sweetness of the agave nectar combined with the salt, and then roasted in the oven gives this chocolate candy another tasty layer which is delicious!

..

.

Best Tasting, Addictive Chocolate-Covered Macadamia Nuts

For the best tasting chocolate covered macadamia nuts, use the candied macadamia nuts and use real dark chocolate! Using real chocolate just makes these even better. In order to get the best looking results, too, you’ll have to temper your chocolate. I’m still trying to perfect the tempering process, but even if it doesn’t work for you it will be delicious! It just may not be as pretty. Un-tempered chocolate also has a tendency to bloom at room temperature. So, if you don’t temper your chocolate, eat them right away or store in the refrigerator.

Valentine’s Day Treats
So, for Valentine’s Day, I made some of these with heart-shaped molds. I couldn’t find any candy molds that were deep enough to accommodate the macadamia nuts, so I used these silicone gelatin/ice cube molds I found at the dollar store.

Related Links:


Healthy Snacks with NutsOnline!

Categories : Desserts, Holidays, Recipes
Comments (11)