Mar
09

Easter Candy

By · Print This Post Print This Post

51-hj4ahzl_sl160_jpg[2010 Update: I can't believe how many different Easter candies show up every year. I've added quite a few this year. I even added a category for pre-filled plastic eggs.

Some items to note: 1) Cadbury's Creme Eggs don't have gluten listed in their ingredients this year. Yay! 2) The original Reese's peanut butter eggs and even the small size do not have gluten in the ingredients. However, there is wheat flour in the the Reese's miniature candies that are foil-wrapped, including the mini Reester Bunnies. Boo!

I've done my best to make accurate updates, and will continue to do so as I find more this month. If you happen to find a mistake, or question the gluten safety of the candy, please add a comment below so everyone can read and benefit from the discussion. Thanks, and have a Happy Easter!]

So I’ve been shopping at our local discount and grocery stores for gluten-free Easter candy. You’ll find my list of Safe and Unsafe Candy below. My determination of “Safe Gluten-Free Candy” and “Unsafe Candy” is based solely on me reading package labels at the stores in my area. After each “unsafe” candy, I have noted why I chose to consider it unsafe. Whether it has gluten in the ingredients or the possibility of trace amounts due to cross-contamination,  you can decide for yourself. Please keep in mind that products do vary their packaging and labeling, so it’s always best if you read the labels yourself. However, I know sometimes that isn’t always possible, especially this time of year when our kids are going to community egg hunts. So, here’s what I found in our stores. I hope it helps and gives you peace of mind while you enjoy the “Safe” Easter candies.

Safe Gluten-Free Candy

Jelly Beans

  • Gimbal’s Jelly Beans (including all flavors and varieties) “Gluten Free, Dairy Free, Peanut Free, Tree Nut Free,  Soy Free, Egg Free” (Nov. 2013)
  • Jelly Belly Jelly Beans (including original and sour flavors)
  • Just Born Jelly Beans (including original fruit flavored, licorice flavored (black), berry flavored, and spice flavored)
  • Jolly Rancher Jelly Beans (including fruit smoothie flavors)
  • Lifesaver Jellybeans
  • Mike and Ike Jelly Beans
  • Nerds Bumpy Jelly Beans (Wonka) (Be careful. This had cross-contamination warnings on the packages I found last year.)
  • Russel Stover Pectin Jelly Beans
  • Spree Jelly Beans (Cherry, Lemon and Green Apple)
  • Starburst Jellybeans (original, tropical, and red fruits)
  • SweeTart Jelly Beans (Be careful. This had cross-contamination warnings on the packages I found last year.)
  • Teenee Beanee Jelly Beans (including Island Breeze, Americana Medley, and Country Retreat flavored packages)

Plastic Eggs Pre-filled with Candy

  • Bee Flowers and Fairies Egg Hunt (includes Smarties, Super Bubble bubble gum, Taffy Werks, Jelly Bean Werks, and Lemonheads)
  • Bee Sport Ball Eggs (includes Smarties, Super Bubble bubble gum, Taffy Werks, Jelly Bean Werks, and Lemonheads)
  • Bee Noah’s Ark Easter Egg Hunt (includes Smarties, Super Bubble bubble gum, Taffy Werks, Jelly Bean Werks, and Lemonheads)
  • Bug Collector Candy Filled Egg Hunt (includes Ferrara Pan jellybeans, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Jaw Busters)
  • Mmmm…Cupcakes Egg Hunt (includes Ferrara Pan jellybeans, Red Hots, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Jaw Busters)
  • Peace and Love Egg Hunt (includes Ferrara Pan jellybeans, Red Hots, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Jaw Busters)
  • Dress Up Candy Filled Egg Hunt (includes Ferrara Pan jellybeans, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Jaw Busters)
  • Farm Friends Candy Filled Egg Hunt (includes Ferrara Pan jellybeans, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Jaw Busters)
  • Game Time Candy Filled Egg Hunt (includes Ferrara Pan jellybeans, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Jaw Busters)
  • Glow in the Dark Egg Hunt (includes Ferrara Pan jellybeans, Red Hots, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Jaw Busters)
  • Nighttime Candy Filled Egg Hunt (includes Ferrara Pan jellybeans, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Jaw Busters)
  • Outdoor Adventure Candy Filled Egg Hunt (includes Ferrara Pan jellybeans, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Jaw Busters)
  • Pet Shop Candy Filled Egg Hunt (includes Ferrara Pan jellybeans, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Jaw Busters)
  • Rainforest Candy Filled Egg Hunt (includes Ferrara Pan jellybeans, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Jaw Busters)
  • Speedster Cars Candy Filled Egg Hunt (includes Ferrara Pan jellybeans, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Jaw Busters)
  • Wonka Egg Hunt with a Golden Egg (includes Nerds, Laffy Taffy, and SweeTarts)
  • Wonka Egg Hunt Zero Gravity (includes Nerds, Laffy Taffy, and SweeTarts)
  • Wonka Egg Hunt Hard 2 Find (includes Nerds, Runts, and SweeTarts)



Other Easter Candy

  • Almond Joy Eggs
  • Andes Creme de Menthe Thins
  • Brach’s Jelly Bean Nougats
  • For Butterfinger candy, look under Nestle
  • Cadbury Chocolatecandy manufactured by the Hershey Company in the US. 1-800-468-1714
    • Cadbury Caramello Bunnies (as found Mar. 2009)
    • Cadbury Dairy Milk Chocolate Bunny
    • Cadbury hollow milk chocolate egg filled with Cadbury mini-eggs — No gluten ingredients are listed, however “Natural Flavors” is listed in the ingredients.
    • Cadbury mini-chocolate eggs – Royal Dark and Dairy Milk Chocolate — No gluten ingredients are listed, however “Natural Flavors” is listed in the ingredients: [Milk chocolate ingredients: "milk chocolate (sugar; milk; chocolate; cocoa butter; lactose; soy lecithin; PGPR, emulsifier; artificial and natural flavors); sugar; contains 2% or less of: cornstarch; gum acacia; artificial color (yellow 6 lake; blue 2 lake; yellow 5; blue 2; red 40); ethyl vanillin artificial flavor."]
    • Cadbury Creme Eggs — This year, the regular and mini eggs I found did not have gluten listed in the ingredients. However, “Natural Flavors” is listed in the ingredients. (Last year “Glucose (wheat)” was listed in the ingredients. Many Celiacs consider the glucose, even from wheat, to be gluten-free due to all the processing.)
    • Cadbury Caramel Eggs — This year, the regular and mini eggs I found did not have gluten listed in the ingredients. However, “Natural Flavors” is listed in the ingredients. (Last year “Glucose (wheat)” was listed in the ingredients. Many Celiacs consider the glucose, even from wheat, to be gluten-free due to all the processing.)
    • Cadbury Orange Creme Eggs
  • Carousel Bubble Gum Eggs
  • Carousel Easter Egg Surprise Lollipops (as found Mar. 2009)
  • Charms Blow Pops and Blow Pop Minis
  • Cry Baby Eggs
  • Dairy Good Easter bunnies (chocolate flavored, foil-wrapped)
  • Dairy Good Easter eggs (chocolate eggs)
  • Dairy Good Chocolate and White Chocolate Crosses
  • Disney Princess plastic eggs with candy and stickers inside
  • Dove Chocolate productsare all gluten-free according to a message on their consumer line (1-800-551-0704).
    • Dove Chocolate Eggs (including milk chocolate, milk chocolate almond, peanut butter, and dark chocolate varieties)
    • Dove Fairy Bunny hollow milk chocolate
    • Dove Solid Chocolate Bunnies, milk chocolate Ingredients: milk chocolate (sugar, cocoa butter, chocolate, skim milk, milkfat, lactose, chocolate processed with alkali, soy lecithin, natural and artificial flavors). Allergy Information: May contain peanuts.
    • Dove Solid Chocolate Bunnies, dark chocolate
    • Dove Truffle Eggs
  • Dubble Bubble Eggs (egg-shaped bubble gum) and Speckled Bubble Gum
  • Easter Bunny Egg-head family filled with Power Candy
  • Farley’s Kiddie Mix includes Now & Laters, Jawbreakers, Super Bubble bubble gum, Tootsie Roll Midgees, Sassy Tarts and Smarties
  • Florida Natural Healthy Treats fruit snacks eggs (as found Mar. 2009)
  • Frankford Marshmallow Chicks and Bunnies
  • Fun Dip (Wonka)
  • Gimbal’s candies, all varieties (see allergen statement)
  • Hershey’schocolate candy
    • Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Bunnies, Springtime Flowers, and Crosses
    • Hershey’s milk chocolate hollow egg with candy-coated milk chocolate eggs inside
    • Hershey’s candy-coated milk chocolate eggs
    • Hershey’s Solid Milk Chocolate Speedy Bunny and Princess Bunny
    • Hershey’s milk chocolate hollow Bunny
    • Hershey’s milk chocolate eggs
    • Hershey’s Special Dark chocolate eggs
    • Hershey’s Marshmallow Eggs
  • Hershey’s Blisschocolate candy
    • Hershey’s Bliss milk chocolate eggs with a meltaway center
    • Hershey’s Bliss dark chocolate eggs
    • Hershey’s Bliss Hollow Milk Chocolate Bunny
  • Hershey’s Kisses
    • Hershey’s Kisses filled with Caramel
    • Hershey’s Kisses with Almond
  • Lifesaver hard candies – Original and Pastels
  • Lifesaver Eggsortment (including jellybeans, gummies and pops)
  • Lifesaver Gummies – Original, and Bunnies and Eggs
  • Lindt white and dark chocolate bunnies as well as Lindt Chocolate Carrots did not have any gluten listed in the ingredients, but are at risk of cross-contamination. (See Lindt listing below.)
  • Melster Chocolate Flavored Marshmallow Bunnies
  • M&M’s — original, peanut, Speck-tacular Eggs, and Bunny Mix
  • Mounds Eggs (as found Mar. 2009)
  • Nestle’s Nest Eggs (Nestle’s Crunch Nest Eggs are not gluten-free.)
  • Nestle’s milk chocolate Nest Eggs
  • Nestle’s creamy caramel Nest Eggs
  • Nestle’s Butterfinger chocolate Nest Eggs
  • Nestle’s Butterfinger Creme Eggs
  • Palmer Holiday Candy see their website for gluten-free candy. One of our readers, Kristin, also noted in the comments that she found that the hollow chocolate bunnies that had hard candy eyes and other body parts often stated that they were “processed with wheat.” The ones that were simply chocolate and wrapped in foil didn’t have that statement.
    • Palmer’s Bunny Bites foil-wrapped eggs (includes both soft caramel and peanut butter flavors)
    • Palmer’s Baby Binks hollow milk chocolate bunny
    • Palmer’s Bunnyettes (milk chocolate)
    • Palmer’s Butter Cream Flavored eggs
    • Palmer’s Carrot Patch Pete (solid milk chocolate bunny)
    • Palmer’s Fudge Filled Big Ears (foil-wrapped bunnies with big ears)
    • Palmer’s Hollow Bunnies (milk flavored and milk chocolate flavored)
    • Palmer’s Little Beauty milk chocolate bunny
    • Palmer’s Milk Chocolate Flavored and premium milk chocolate eggs
    • Palmer’s Peanut Butter Filled  chocolate eggs
    • Palmer Poppin’ Rockin’ Egg (hollow egg filled with Pop Rocks)
    • Palmer’s Soft Caramel Cups
    • Palmer’s Super Sports Balls
    • Palmer’s Quax hollow milk flavored candy duck (“The Yummy Ducky”) — Be careful with this one. In one store, this statement was included on the boxes: “Manufactured on equipment which processes wheat, peanut butter and other tree nuts.” In other stores, this statement was not on the boxes. Made in different facilities?
  • Peeps (all shapes and colors) — “Gluten Free”
  • Peeps milk chocolate covered marshmallow
  • PEZ candy
  • Pixy Stix Green Grass (Wonka)
  • Giant Pixy Stix (Wonka)
  • Pop Rocks in plastic egg
  • Reese’s Peanut ButterChocolate candy
    • Reese’s Easter Assortment Eggs (including peanut butter eggs, white peanut butter eggs, and miniatures) – This does not include the foil-wrapped mini eggs, which do have gluten.
    • Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup miniatures
    • Reese’s Pieces Pastel Eggs
    • Reese’s Peanut Butter Eggs – large and small size, but not the foil-wrapped mini eggs (see Unsafe list below)
    • Reese’s Reester Bunny — large size only, but not the mini-sized (see Unsafe list below)
  • Ring pops
  • Sixlets
  • Skittles eggs and fun-size
  • Smarties candy rolls “Contain none of the following: gluten (from wheat, barley, oats and rye), milk, egg, fish, Crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, wheat, peanuts, or soybeans.”
  • Snickers mini’s
  • Sour Patch Bunnies
  • Starburst fruit chews – funsize
  • Swedish Fish Eggs soft and chewy candy
  • Sunny Seed Drops chocolate covered sunflower seeds
  • Tootsie Rolls (including midgees and fruit rolls)
  • Tootsie Pops
  • Wonka Everlasting Gobstopper Eggbreakers
  • Wonka Giant Pixy Stix
  • Wonka Hoppin’ Nerds
  • Wonka Runts Freckled Eggs
  • York Peppermint Patties
  • Zachary real chocolate Marshmallow Eggs
  • Zachary solid milk chocolate Bunnies
  • Zipperz Lollipops (as found Mar. 2009)


Unsafe Candy (may contain gluten)

Jelly Beans

  • Brach’s Jelly Bird Eggs (includes classic, black, orchard fruit, and premium tiny jelly-bird eggs) — “Packaged on equipment that also packages products containing traces of milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, and/or soy protein.”
  • Brach’s Hawaiian Punch Jelly Beans — “Packaged on equipment that also packages products containing traces of milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, and/or soy protein.”
  • Sour Patch Jelly Beans — “Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts, wheat, milk, soy, cashew nuts.”

Other Easter Candy

  • Brach’s Chocolate Bunnies — “malt extract” is listed in the ingredients. “Manufactured on equipment that also manufactures products containing peanuts, tree nuts and wheat.”
  • Child’s Play Easter Mix — “Packed on equipment that also manufactures products containing peanuts, tree nuts and wheat.” (as found Mar. 2009)
  • Chick Feed sunflower seeds “May contain wheat, peanuts, and tree nuts.”
  • Ferrero Rocher candy — “wheat flour” in ingredients
  • Frankford Cookies and Creme Eggs — “wheat flour” in ingredients
  • Frankford Crispy Eggs (milk chocolate flavored) — “malt extract, milk and soy” listed in ingredients. “Manufactured in a facility that also processes peanuts and wheat.”
  • Frankford solid milk chocolate bunny — “Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts and wheat.”
  • Galerie Edible Easter Grass (imported from Germany) — “May contain wheat.” on label
  • Hershey’s miniatures — “malt” listed in ingredients. “Allergy Information: May contain wheat.”
  • Hershey’s Cookies ‘n’ Creme eggs — “wheat flour” in ingredients
  • Kit Kat Bunny Ears and Kit Kat minis — “wheat flour” in ingredients
  • Lindt Chocolate — Lindt US website addresses the question of gluten with this note: “Unfortunately, at this time we cannot guarantee that Lindt chocolate is gluten free. Our white and extra dark (70% cocoa and above) chocolate products by nature do not contain barley malt. However, because they run on the same production lines as other products there is a chance of cross contamination.”
  • Lindt Lindor Truffles Eggs — “malt powder” listed in ingredients
  • Lindt Assorted Chocolates with smooth filling — “barley malt powder” listed in ingredients
  • Lindt milk chocolate bunnies (Gold Bunny, wrapped in gold foil) — “barley malt extract” listed in ingredients
  • Lindt Bugs & Bees — “wheat and barley malt powder” in the ingredients.
  • Lindt mini eggs, mini lamb, lamb, and mini chicks — “barley malt powder” listed in ingredients
  • Mayfair Kid’s Play basket stuffers (including Fuit Chews, Teaberry Gumballs, Spout Bubble Log, Atomic Fireballs, Super Bubble bubble gum, Easter Pops, Jawbreakers, Airheads, Lemonhead, and Smarties) — “Packed in a facility that processes peanuts, nuts, milk products, soy protein, wheat, eggs and sesame seeds.”
  • Mighty Malts Speckled Malted Milk Eggs — “malted barley and wheat flour” are listed in the ingredients.
  • Milky Way minis — “malted barley” in ingredients
  • Milky Way Bunnies — surprisingly, no gluten was listed in the ingredients; “Allergy Information: May contain peanuts, tree nuts, egg and wheat.”
  • Nestle Butterfinger Egg with pieces in chocolate (this does not include the foil-wrapped eggs or the fun-size butterfingers) — “Made on equipment that also processes nuts and wheat.”
  • Nestle Crunch Nest Eggs — “Barley Malt” listed as an ingredient. “Made on equipment that also processes peanuts, nuts and wheat.”
  • PAAS eggs — “malt” listed in ingredients
  • Palmer Holiday Candy see their website for gluten-free candy. One of our readers, Kristin, also noted in the comments that she found that the hollow chocolate bunnies that had hard candy eyes and other body parts often stated that they were “processed with wheat.” The ones that were simply chocolate and wrapped in foil didn’t have that statement.
    • Palmer’s Double Crisp chocolate candy (including Bunnies, Bunnyettes, Pops, Chick a Dees, Bunny Munny and Eggs) — “barley malt” listed in ingredients
    • Palmer’s Lil’ Crispy chocolate bunny — “malt” listed in ingredients. “Manufactured on equipment which processes wheat, peanut butter, and tree nuts.”
    • Palmer’s My Little Bunny — “barley malt” listed in ingredients; “Manufactured on equipment which processes wheat, peanut butter and tree nuts.”
    • Palmer’s Cookies ‘n Creme Eggs — “bleached wheat flour” is listed in ingredients. “Manufactured on equipment which processes wheat, peanut butter, and tree nuts.”
    • Palmer’s Crispy Peanut Butter flavored eggs — “malt” listed in ingredients.
    • Palmer’s Eggbert Double Crisp — “Barley malt” listed in ingredients.
    • Palmer’s Quax hollow milk flavored candy duck (“The Yummy Ducky”) — Be careful with this one. In one store, this statement was included on the boxes: “Manufactured on equipment which processes wheat, peanut butter and other tree nuts.” In other stores, this statement was not on the boxes. Made in different facilities?
  • Peter Rabbit real milk chocolate bunny — “Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts and wheat.”
  • Peter Rabbit hollow milk chocolate bunny — “Manufactured on shared equipment that processes peanuts, almonds, cashews, walnuts, hazelnuts, wheat and egg.”
  • Reese’s milk chocolate and peanut butter eggs (mini eggs foil-wrapped individually) — “wheat flour” listed in the ingredients
  • Reese’s mini-Reester Bunnies — “wheat flour” in ingredients
  • Russel Stover chocolate candy — With the exception of the jelly beans, every RS product I looked at had a similar statement of cross-contamination: “Products have been produced on shared equipment with peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, and wheat.” Some of their products had additional allergens listed to those above.
  • Snickers Eggs — “Allergy Information: May contain tree nuts, egg, and wheat.”
  • Snickers Creme Sports Eggs — “Allergy Information: May contain tree nuts, egg, and wheat.”
  • SpongeBob Squarepants Eggs plastic egg with sour candy and stickers — “Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts, almonds and wheat.”
  • SpongeBob Squarepants gummy Krabby Patties — “Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts, almonds and wheat.”
  • SweetTart Gummy Bunnies (Wonka) — “wheat” listed as an ingredient
  • Trolli Gummi Bunnies — “Packaged on equipment that also packages products containing traces of milk, eggs, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, and/or soy protein.” (as found Mar. 2009)
  • Twix — “Wheat Flour” listed in ingredients (as found Mar. 2009)
  • Twizzlerscandy
    • Twizzlers Tweeters — “wheat” listed as an ingredient (as found Mar. 2009)
    • Twizzlers Rainbow Twists — “wheat” listed as an ingredient
    • Twizted Strawberry Blast pull-n-peel candy — “wheat” listed as an ingredient
    • Twizzlers Strawberry Mini Bars — “wheat” listed as an ingredient
  • Whitman’s Sampler — “Allergy Information: Products have been processed on shared equipment with tree nuts and wheat.”
  • Whoppers Robin Eggs (includes mini-Robbin Eggs, too) — “barley malt and wheat flour” in ingredients
  • Wonka’s eggs — “oat flour” listed as an ingredient; “Made on equipment that also processes peanuts, nuts and wheat.”
  • Wonka Easter Nerds Rope — “Made in a facility that also processes wheat and egg.”
  • Wonka Mix-Ups (including SweeTart chews, Laffy Taffy, SweeTarts, and Nerds) “Made in a facility that also processes wheat and egg.”

.

Notable Links:

70 Comments

1

Hi- I just wanted to let you know that if glucose is listed as being derived from wheat it is still considered gluten free because the glucose syrup is so processed. It is similiar to the reason why distilled alcohol, even from gluten containing grains, are gluten free.

2

Thank you for the update. I had read that recently, but couldn’t find any research or authoritative sources to confirm it. I also found that some people still couldn’t get over the word “wheat” being on the label. So, I left it on the Unsafe list for them and for people with wheat allergies to decide for themselves. I’ll try to make this more clear on the list. Thanks!

3

Great list!
I wrote an article about glucose syrup:
Is glucose syrup gluten-free?
But I also talked to Cadbury on the phone and they said that they cannot guarantee that there is not gluten in the natural flavors.
Celebrating Easter gluten-free and allergen-free

4

Thanks for the additional information about Cadbury’s Creme Eggs. It would be nice if they would actually test their products for gluten, so we would actually know one way or the other. I suppose some people will take the risk and some will play it safe. I didn’t buy any this year. My kids don’t care for them, and my husband and I decided we didn’t need the extra sugar and calories.

5

The Lindt Milk Chocolate Bunnies are not gluten free. The gold wrapped bunnies with the bell around the neck. The milk chocolate has barely something in it and made me very upset after I ate it. Just wanted to let you know to perhaps take this out of the ‘safe’ category.

6

Thank you for sharing your information. After looking at the Lindt website, it looks like it may have barley malt in it from cross-contamination. I have updated the list to reflect this information.

7

FYI, glucose is sugar not wheat. Glucose is not the same as gluten even though they have the same first three letters.

If you see glucose on a label, that is not a problem at all. There are other potential sources of gluten to watch for, but not this.

8

Lorraine, thank you for the clarification. I agree that glucose is sugar not wheat. However, glucose can be derived from wheat. If glucose is derived from wheat, (in the US) it must be stated in the ingredients or in an allergy statement. Such as in the Cadbury creme eggs ingredients it reads: “glucose (wheat)” in the ingredients. Some people still argue whether or not glucose derived from wheat is safe. Some say there is no gluten protein present due to processing it goes through. Others don’t want to take a chance. I’ve listed it in both Safe and Unsafe, so each person can make their own informed decision.

9

Great list! Thanks for putting that together.

10

Thank you so much for all of this great information. One of my favorite brands of Jelly beans are Gimbal’s. They are similar to jelly belly but are allergen-free and half the price! You can order online but, I get them at my grocery store. I always thought Jelly Belly’s had gluten in them so, I stopped buying them. I’m also happy to hear about the reese’s eggs. I’m always researching for what is G-free and what is not. Thanks for the work you put into it. :)

11

G. – Thanks for the information about Gimbals. I found a link to their candy online, so I’ll add it to the above list.

12

Thank you so much!!!!! I have not been eating many of these candies because I thought they contained gluten!!! Now I can’t wait to get down to the candy store.

13

Thanks for the list of NOT GF candies. That’s so helpful.
Eve
http://www.glutenfreenosh.com

14

Great list, thank you!

How did you determine that so many of the Wonka candies are safe? I have spoken to two different c.s.reps at Wonka, (Valentine’s day timeline), and both told me that they couldn’t say with certainty that many of the candies you have listed as safe are truly gluten free and without any cross contamination concerns.

Thanks

15

Teresa – All of the determinations I make are based on the package labels I read at the stores. (There may be an occasional exception if I contact the companies or find statements from candy companies online.) If there is nothing listed in the ingredients that indicates gluten, and nothing in the cross-contamination statements that indicate gluten, then I have listed the candy in the “safe” list. The Wonka candies that have labeled cross-contamination as an issue have been placed in the “unsafe” list. The comment from Wonka customer service reps sounds like a safe, legal response to me. Of course anyone who is buying processed foods has to decide for herself whether or not to trust the accuracy of the labeling.

16

[...] presents Gluten-Free Easter Candy List posted at Celiac [...]

17

Thank you so much for the Easter Candy list! You have put a lot of work into it and it is appreciated. My 4 year old can’t wait for Easter.

18

Cadbury Mini Eggs contain natural flavors, most of the time when natural flavors are in something they include some form of gluten. Mini Eggs are one of these products. I noticed that your list does not have any products with natural flavors on the “Unsafe” list. Does this mean that you have not checked for natural flavors and their origins on the approved list?

The list is really great and thanks for completing, but I dont think it is quite through enough. I make it a rule to avoid ANY product with natural flavors in it because it is often a big toss up. I also contacted Cadbury about their Mini Eggs and they sent me a very sketchy and nondescript response, I would not eat them.

19

Grace, Thanks for bringing “Natural Flavors” to my attention. I admit that since the FDA labeling act went into effect in 2006, I have been more relaxed about Natural Flavors. If there is any wheat in the “natural flavors,” it must be clearly stated in plain English either in the ingredients or in a separate statement that declares it contains wheat. If barley is used, it is usually noted in the ingredients. Our family has not had problems eating Cadbury mini eggs, but I will note “natural flavors” on the listing so others can make their own informed decisions. I will do the same for other candy as I find it.

20

I was noticed the Palmers hollow bunnies (some with “processed with wheat…” and some without). It looked like the ones that were “processed with wheat…” had candy eyes and other body parts. The ones with out were wrapped in foil and did not contain any candy, just chocolate.

21

Kristin – Great observation. Thanks for sharing the insight with us!

22

Thank you so much for this list! We just went on an Easter Egg Hunt and I was going to start researching what my kids could and could not have. You made this so easy for me!! :-) We went GF a couple months ago. Honestly, the holiday’s and party’s are the worst.
Thanks again for taking the time!!

23

Thanks so much for these lists–my daughter is 5 and she just got diagnosed with celiac disease about 2 months ago, so this is our first round of holidays. Your very exhaustive list is much appreciated!

24

What a fantastic resource! Thanks for sharing!

25

Thank you!

26

[...] celiacfamily.com – a comprehensive list of safe and unsafe candies and chocolates. A must read! [...]

27

Thank you for this list. I am shocked and dismayed (and grateful at the same time!) to read about some of the items on the ‘unsafe’ list that I stupidly had been assuming were ‘safe.’ I do things like that and then wonder why I’m still getting reactions some times. Reality checks are good. :)

28

We do not have Celiac, but our son has severe egg and nut allergies. I usually have to get Gluten free products in order to find egg and nut free.

29

Just so you know, wheat IS listed as an ingredient in the Cadbury Creme Eggs we purchased this year (2010), but not in the Caramel Eggs. Foil wrappers are difficult to read.

30

Adam – Thanks for the info. Another good reason to keep reading labels. The ones we got did not have wheat listed. Thanks!

31

I don’t see Hershey’s kisses on the list, milk chocolate. I get a gluten reaction to them even though they don’t have gluten ingredients.

32

[...] Easter Candy–Comprehensive lists can be found at: GlutenFreeMom.Typepad.com CeliacFamily.com [...]

33

I also am getting gluten-type reactions to Hershey kisses! GOSH! Twice in a row! Don’t know if I even want to try them a 3rd time – I really don’t.

34

By the way, thanks for this wonderful list!

35

[...] my lists for Halloween Candy or Easter Candy. Categories : Candy, Holidays, Product [...]

36

[...] list of safe Easter choices and a list of unsafe choices on the blog “Celiac Family.”  Here is a link to the blog post, and I have also copied the information from that post [...]

37

I bought a bag of Peepsters Dark Chocolate with marshmallow flavored creme and just noticed that under the ingredients list is this Allergy Information: May contain peanuts, tree nuts and wheat! There’s no way I can put them in Easter baskets.
Thanks for the service you provide – I don’t know why I didn’t check here first – you have tons of good suggestions. The page I went to for g-f Easter Candy gave the assurance that the chocolate peeps were okay.

38

About 90% of Bissinger’s Chocolates are gluten free and delicious!! Find them at all four Draeger’s locations in the Bakery. Danville, San Mateo, Menlo Park and Los Altos, California. Best Easter candies too!!

http://www.bissingers.com/

39

[...] that they have researched. You may have to do your own research. A good place to start is the Celiac Family Easter Candy List 2010. Yes, it does say 2010, so obviously this list is outdated, however, Heather from Celiac Family has [...]

40

Thought I got sick from Reese’s Pastel Eggs but now realize, from reading your list, that it was actually the Lindt Gold Foil Bunny I ate. Will be on the lookout for the dreaded “barley malt” in ingredient lists from now on. Thank you.

41

I am definitely getting sick from the Hershey kisses this year. I don’t know what they changed, but by process of elimination, it is the kisses that are evil!

42

You know, having eliminated Hershey kisses two months ago, I haven’t had a single blemish of DH rash AT ALL! After years of having the rash and thinking I had eliminated gluten and had no more gluten to eliminate.

Coincidence? I think not. I agree, they are evil (for us)

43

Thank you for the helpful information. I love candy and was just diagnosed with Celiac Disease.

44

I am new to gluten/wheat allergies. I actually break out in a horrible rash when I ingest it. I would like to know what you think about candies made from a local family resteraunt, made by the owner? I got some ribbon candy for Christmas and after eating it, I broke out in a rash. The ingredients are sugar, corn syrup, water, artificial and natural flavors, food colorings, citric adcid in fruit flavorings. I called the resteraunt and asked if they powdered the counter with flour and they said no, just confectionary sugar. I read one statement that said natural flavorings can something include some form of gluten. ( #18)You then preceded to say that according to the FDA labeling Act, it must be stated. What about local resteraunts making holiday candy? Are they required to list such things? (They sell the candy in their resteraunt, not in stores) There is no warning on the box that states that it is made in a facility where it can be contaminated with wheat. I am sure however that it is; being a family resteraunt.. I am of course not going to eat anymore. I would like to know your imput on this so I can avoid any future mistakes. thanks

45

Hi Cheryl,

Unfortunately, the restaurant is not required to say it’s gluten-free. They don’t have a certified gluten-free facility. I’m sure other items in the restaurant are made with gluten and cross-contamination happens easily. I found this on Answers.com: “Powdered sugar is usually gluten-free, but it is important to always check the label. Some brands even label the package as gluten-free. Most commercial powdered sugars are blended with corn starch to keep them fluffy. Occasionally, some manufacturers have been known to use wheat products instead of corn starch, so ALWAYS check the label every time you buy!”

You may have a secondary allergy to corn as well. I just found out I had a secondary allergy to dairy. Because you are very sensitive, you must steer clear of artificial colorings and flavorings. This makes things so difficult. I’m sorry you had to go through this.

46

Cheryl, You bring up a very good point, and I agree with Mary Claire. Cross-contamination is always a risk, especially in a restaurant setting where foods with gluten & wheat are being prepared. If you are highly sensitive, you may want to stick to those food products that are certified gluten-free or manufactured on dedicated gluten-free equipment. Hope you’re feeling better soon.

47

thank you Mary Claire and Heather for your quick responses. I am a bit frustrated right now; this site does help.

48

We now have a full selection of all gluten free Easter baskets and treats at http://www.soluckygifts.com .

49

Thanks so much. I am not much of a sweet eater but Easter calls for a treat. This was very helpfull.

50

Just bought a bag of Starburst jelly beans- my favorites, and I had a massive gluten response. I tried a second time after symptoms subsided, because they’ve always been gluten free. I got a reactiona the second time also. Starburst must have changed something at the plant, I suspect cross contamination because the ingredient list looks ok.

51

Just to let you know Russell Stover’s website says their candy is all processed on the same equipment, so they can’t guarantee no cross contamination with wheat-containing products has occurred. You may want to take them off your gluten free list or at least put that warning on there.

52

Yes, Kathy, good comment – I ALWAYS break out with my DH rash whenever I eat Russell Stover! So I just STAY AWAY from it! It’s horrible for me to eat it.

53

Kathy – Thanks for your comment. I can appreciate your concern with the Russell Stover candy. I do have Russel Stover candy on the UNSAFE candy list for all their chocolate products, since they are processed on the same equipment with wheat-containing candies. However, the way jelly beans are processed is completely different from chocolates and is made on different equipment. Last I checked, the company is very good about including a cross-contamination statement on their chocolates. But because the jelly beans are not made on the same equipment as the chocolates, it does not include the cross-contamination statement. I will take another look at it, and update it as necessary. Thanks.

54

Antonia – Thanks for taking the time to respond regarding Russell Stover candy. I, too stay away from their chocolates and have them listed on the UNSAFE candy list. Since the jelly beans are made on different equipment, I didn’t think they were contaminated with gluten. I was wondering if you have had a reaction from eating the jelly beans, or just the chocolate candies? Thanks.

55

Cindi – Thanks for your comment. Sorry to hear you had a reaction to the jelly beans. It has been brought to my attention that the company has removed the words “GLUTEN FREE” from their packaging. I’m not sure if they have changed facilities, manufacturing processes, or just got worried about making claims of being Gluten-free without testing. Whatever the case, it looks like the candy list may need to be updated. Hope you’re feeling better.

56

I just bought a snickers egg today and it doesn’t list wheat under their allergy information. Im not sure if that means they are gluten free or not

57

Chrysta – Snickers products are usually gluten-free, but I don’t know for sure about the egg-shaped variety. Wheat is certainly the biggest concern for gluten. However, when checking ingredients, you should also avoid barley, malt, malt flavoring, etc. You can check the complete list of unsafe ingredients on celiac.com. Hope that helps.

58

[...] A listing of potentially Gluten-Free candies for Easter time from 2009 (with some updates in 2010), including chocolate products, is listed at [...]

59

I seen some hawaian tropical punch brand jelly beans (not sure of the exact name) of the candy. They come in a blue bag with the little hawaian guy on the front. These are not safe. Yall have it hard. My family does not have any dietary restrictions. We have become aware of gluten free products because of a little boy in my son’s class. It is a challenge to find something that all can enjoy. I don’t want him to feel excluded, so I go the extra mile for him. It isn’t easy by no means. I wish yall the best and hopefully manufacturers will consider not cross contaminating so many products.

60

[...] baskets full of safe treats and non-food toys or stuffed animals. There are a lot of gluten-free options and dairy free candy options available in familiar brands, but not a whole lot of sugar, food [...]

61

[...] Compendio de lista provista por Celiac Family Share this:TwitterFacebookEmailLinkedInLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Filed under [...]

62

I know this is an older article but I just wanted to say thank you so much for taking the time to put this food list together!

63

Thank you so much for the list and to everyone who has responded! My daughter has been recently dx with celiac and I think she developed a DH rash on her legs from some Easter candy! I only bought three prefixed eggs…starburst jelly beans, skittles and m&m! After reading others comments I assume the jelly beans are the problem! Just when I thought it was okay! I read the
Labels mostly looking for “wheat barley rye malt ” ingrediants and didn’t notice them as listed! I am unfortunately happy to see that others have had the same reaction to the jelly beans as I have been worrying what I have done wrong! Still stressing over every meal for her at this point!
Again thank you and everyone for yor advice and help!

Oh and happy belated Easter:)

A

64

I recently purchased a bag of Cadbury mini eggs (Dark Royal). I love these candies and have not had a problem in the past, until now. I have only had a handful in the past two days and have broken out in a rash on my face. It is extremely itchy and swollen. Things do change but so do recipes. Be-careful I am now on my 3rd day of constant itching and swelling. My bag had “NO” warning label on it!!!!!

65

[...] free. I stumbled upon a site that I have book marked for future reference: celiacfamily.com. Click HERE to check out an entire list of gluten-free candy. So while the Cadbury Egg may destroy all my [...]

66

Thank you so much for this list! I do want to add however, that your listed says Reese’s Peanut butter eggs are gluten free, however i had a terrible gluten reaction to them. Upon research, i stumbled across Hersey’s website of Gluten Free products and found that they claim that all reese’s peanut butter cups are gluten free EXCEPT for seasonal items (i.e. egg). I tried looking for more information on this but couldn’t seem to find it. It must be a cross contamination issue or an ingredient with hidden gluten in it. The link to their list is here! https://www.thehersheycompany.com/brands/special-nutrition.aspx#/Gluten-Free

67

Bre – Thanks for sharing your experience. Sorry to hear you had a reaction. I haven’t updated this list for a while, and I can see it is needed.

68

I know this is an old post, but it’s still very helpful! I usually always read the ingredients lists, but didn’t realize there could be gluten in “natural flavors.” Cadbury mini eggs are my favorite candy, but this year I got a really bad reaction from them, and I don’t get the rashes or digestive issues, I get the brain fog and fatigue, which is AWFUL :-(

69

I’m glad you guys shared about HERSHEY’S KISSES. I have not been feeling as awesome as I used to and after a short detox from processed food I popped a few kisses on the commute home and I was crap within the hour. Tension headache & gluten fog.

70

[…] Celiac Family About.com Celiac Disease Foundation […]

Leave a Comment