Feb
25

Gluten-Free Children’s Vitamins

By · Print This Post Print This Post

This week, I was at the pharmacy looking for children’s vitamins. If you’re new to the gluten-free diet, you may not realize that vitamins and medications may contain gluten. I always check the labels, even if I had previously thought it to be gluten-free. You never know when the manufacturers are going to change their formulas or labels. And, even after carefully checking labels and making a purchase, I usually check the product websites to see what they have to say about the gluten content, too. Here’s what I found out about some:

Flintstone vitamins (all types) do not contain any gluten in the ingredients, and we have never had a problem with them. However, on their website, the company states: “We do not add gluten to any of our products, however we cannot guarantee that they are 100% gluten-free due to the fact that raw materials we receive from outside vendors are not certified as 100% gluten-free.”

Marvel Heroes The Amazing Spider-Man Gummies multiple vitamin and mineral supplement is also gluten-free. After looking online, I found an ingredient list and label that was slightly different from the package I had. It states it contains a “wheat extractive” right above another statement that reads: “Doest not Contain: Salt, Starch, Artificial Flavors, Colors, Preservatives, Yeast, Wheat, Soy, Milk, Fat Free.” So, to resolve my confusion, I called the manufacturer Sundown Naturals. After reading to them the number on the package, they confirmed for me that it is “wheat- and gluten-free.” My son was happy about that, and has had no problems from taking the vitamins. (Update: I was contacted by a representative from Sundown Naturals who pointed me to a page on their site that lists their Gluten and Wheat Free Supplements. No kiddie vitamins, but perhaps useful to the adults in the family.)

So we bought the Spider-Man Gummies for my son, but my daughter prefers the chewables. She is always disappointed that she can’t have the Centrum Kids Complete Dora vitamins. We keep checking the label every time we shop for vitamins, but the label clearly indicates that it contains wheat, milk, and soybean.

This time we bought CVS Pharmacy’s generic brand of Animal Shapes Children’s Chewable Complete. In very tiny, hard-to-read print on the label it states: “No yeast, wheat, gluten, milk, or milk derivatives, lactose, salt.” My daughter was very happy once we got home and opened the bottle to see that the viatmins were pink and purple (and orange, too). Whatever it takes to make them happy and healthy. :o)

For information about the gluten content of other medications, check out www.glutenfreedrugs.com.

13 Comments

1

[...] have two a day (the recommended dosage for adults and kids 2 years or older). Related article here: Gluten-Free Children’s Vitamins. Categories : Product [...]

2

My boys have been taking this new children’s Liquid supplement call Vemma Next, the website does not say gluten free, but I was reading the bottle and it says: “preservative free, no artificial flavors, colors or sweeteners. Hypoallergenic, Gluten free and non-Gma. BPA free packaging.” My boys like the taste, they say it taste like orange juice. Also through the end of the year for every month supply you buy they donate a month supply to the Children’s Miracle Network.

3

James – Great. Thanks for telling us about another gluten-free children’s vitamin.

4

[...] Celiac Family writes about Flintstones, Spider-Man Gummies, CVS brand, and more [...]

5

Yummi Bears Gummi Vitamins Gluten-Free(MOM’S Store)
My girls beg for these every morning.

Also, check with your docs or nutritionists for other essential vitamins your Gluten-free diets may be lacking such as Calcium, B6, B12. To strengthen their soft/brittle bones.

6

Nichole – Thanks for sharing this brand of GF vitamins, and the additional vitamin info.

7

At VitaLove, we have a line of gluten-free children’s vitamins as well. They are all-natural, totally organic and help kids around the globe with every purchase. If you are looking for both gluten-free AND high-quality, low sugar vitamins, we are the ones you should try!

Thanks for your support and let us know if you have any questions at all.

http://www.givevitalove.come

8

Flintstones vitamins are NOT gluten free. The ones I have in the cabinet right now are in a green bottle and labeled “Extra Vitamin C, Immunity Support.” We are still relatively new to the gluten free thing and I didn’t think to check the label before I bought these. It clearly says on the back that they contain wheat. I’ll be replacing them with a gluten free vitamin asap.

9

Ann – Thanks for the reminder to keep reading labels.

10

the Flinstones gummies are NOT gluten-free.

The Flinstones chewables with iron ARE gluten-free.

11

I work for the company Vemma, and it has wonderful vitamins for kids called NEXT! It’s liquid, 100% organic and for every bottle purchased, Vemma donates a bottle to underprivileged kids! Check out my website: MauraMal1.Vemma.com to learn more … then click SHOP NOW and then find the product under Vemma Next (very easy I promise and totally worth it). The product provides essential vitamins and nutrients for growing children ages 2-12, with a creamy orange natural flavor that kids love!

12

Yes the flintsones gummies complete in the orange bottle says it does contain wheat.

13

Kristin – Thanks for your feedback. I haven’t bought those vitamins for years, so it’s nice to get an update. Thanks again.

Leave a Comment