Safe Gluten-Free Halloween Candy!

By · Print This Post Print This Post

Oct. 26, 2013 – I didn’t scour the shelves to make updates to the Gluten-Free Halloween Candy List this year. However, I did make updates as I came across new products and reviewed ingredients labels on candy previously listed. Scroll down for the Complete Gluten-Free Halloween Candy List and unsafe halloween candy list. Check out a few of the new ones I recently found:


Starburst’s new Fruit Flavored Candy Corn


Sun Cups Gluten-Free and Peanut-Free Chocolate Candy


Sweet Works Gluten-Free and Nut-Free Candies

Details and links about these items can be found at More Gluten-Free Halloween Candy Information.

October 25, 2012 – You can read the 2010 update below for the details about the organization of the list. The short version is this: The green listing is for candies I believe to be gluten-free and safe to eat. The orange listing is for candies that don’t have gluten ingredients listed, but may have gluten due to cross-contamination or other possible concerns. You may want to avoid candies in the orange listing if you are a celiac and/or are strict about adherence to a gluten-free diet. The red listing is candy that contains gluten and should not be eaten by anyone on a gluten-free diet.

We all want to make the best decisions we can for ourselves and our families. So, as I’ve said in the past: If you find additions or corrections to make to the list, please put them in the comments so that others may benefit from the information and discussion. Thank you, and have a safe and happy Halloween!

Gluten-Free (Safe) Candy and Treats

  • 3 Musketeers Mint with dark chocolate Bar and Fun size (Oct. 2012)
  • Act II Popcorn Balls (Oct. 2009)
  • Albert’s Gummy Eyeballs (Oct. 2009)
  • Albert’s Iced Halloween pops (lollipops) (Oct. 2009)
  • Almond Joy fun size bars “Manufactured in a facility that also processes peanuts.”
  • Angry Birds Fruit Gummies and Fruit Snacks “Nut Free — Gluten Free” (Oct. 2012)
  • Baby Ruth bars and fun size
  • Barrels of Candy by Treat Street (Oct. 2010)
  • Bazooka Big Mix (includes bubble gum, bubble gum filled candy, candy chews, and bubble gum filled lollipops) (Oct. 2012)
  • Betty Crocker Fruit by the Foot (Oct 2012) Wicked Webs Berry Wave mini feet (Oct. 2011)
  • Betty Crocker Halloween fruit flavored snacks, Screamin’ Strawberry Tattoos (Oct. 2012) Fruit Gushers, Fruit Roll-ups, and Mini Rolls – “Gluten Free” (Oct. 2011)
  • Bit•O•Honey (Oct. 2009)
  • Big Blow bubblegum (Oct. 2012)
  • Black Forest Fruit Snacks Little Monsters (Oct. 2012) “This product was manufactured in a facility where milk, tree nuts, peanuts and soy are used in the production of other products.”
  • Black Forest Gummy Tarantulas (Oct. 2010)
  • Black Forest Gummy Fun Bugs Juicy Oozers (Oct. 2010)
  • Bloody Bones candy by Oak Lear – “Gluten Free” (Oct. 2013)
  • Bloody Skulls candy by Oak Leaf – “Gluten Free” (Oct. 2013)
  • Bubbly lollipop + gum (Oct. 2009)
  • Butterfinger original bar and fun size (Oct. 2012) “Contains peanut, milk and soy ingredients.”
  • Candy Checkers (made for Target 2009)
  • Caramel Apple Pops (lollipops made by Tootsie Roll) (Oct. 2011)
  • Charleston Chew fun size (Oct. 2011)
  • Charms Blow Pops and Blow Pop Minis “Milk and Soy may be present.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Charms Candy Carnival Package (Blow Pops, Sugar Babies, Zip a Dee mini pops, Sugar Daddy, Pops, Sugar Mama Caramel, Tear Jerkers sour bubble gum, Blow Pop Bubble Gum) (Oct. 2009)
  • Charms Fluffy Stuff Spider Web cotton candy (Oct. 2009)
  • Chewy Lemonheads and Friends (Oct. 2012)
  • Child’s Play “Produced in a facility that does not use peanuts, tree nuts, eggs or gluten.” (Oct. 2011)
  • Colombina Scary Eyeballs bubblegum (Oct. 2009)
  • Colombina Fizzy Pops (Oct. 2009)
  • Comix Mix Candy Sticks (Tom and Jerry, Flintstones, Scooby Doo, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Popeye) – “Gluten Free” (Oct. 2009)
  • Cracker Jack caramel coated popcorn and peanuts (Oct. 2012)
  • Disney Halloween Candy Mix (jelly beans, gummies, candy bracelets and candy characters from Cars, Tinkerbell and Toy Story) “Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts, hazelnuts, almonds, walnuts, milk and soy.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Dove pieces (Dark Chocolate, Milk Chocolate, Peanut Butter Milk Chocolate, Caramel Milk Chocolate) (Oct. 2011)
  • Dots Gumdrops – including Candy Corn Dots (candy corn flavored), Ghost Dots (assorted fruit flavored), and Bat Dots (blood orange flavored) (Oct. 2013)
  • Dubble Bubble bubblegum “Milk and Soy may be present.” (Oct. 2011)
  • Dum Dums Lollipops (including Shrek Pops-2010) – “This product does not contain peanuts, tree nuts, milk, eggs, wheat or gluten. It has been manufactured on dedicated equipment.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Dum Dums Chewy Pops – “This product does not contain peanuts, tree nuts, milk, eggs, wheat or gluten. It has been manufactured on dedicated equipment.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Farley’s Kiddie Mix (includes Smarties, SweetTarts, Now and Later, Jaw Breakers, Super Bubble and Lolli-pops) (Oct. 2009)
  • Ferrara Pan Caramels “This product contains milk and soy. This product distributed in a facility where peanuts and tree nuts are used in the production of other products.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Ferrara Pan Lemonhead & Friends candy mix (includes Applehead, Cherryhead, Grapehead, Chewy Lemonhead & Friends, Chewy Atomic Fireball, and Red Hots) (Oct. 2012)
  • Florida’s Natural Healthy Treats Nuggets, Sour String, Fruit Stiks – “Gluten Free” (Oct. 2009)
  • Fright Fingers Popcorn Kit (Oct. 2009)
  • Frankford‘s Bugs Gummy Candy (Oct. 2009) *reports of quality issues in 2010, see comments below*
  • Frankford‘s Gummy Body Parts (Oct. 2009) *reports of quality issues in 2010, see comments below*
  • Frankford‘s Marshmallow Pals (Oct. 2009) *reports of quality issues in 2010, see comments below*
  • Fruit Ninja Sour Gummies “Nut Free — Gluten Free” (Oct. 2012)
  • Game Night boxes of candy game pieces (includes Operation, Sorry!, Monopoly, Life, and Clue) (Oct. 2009)
  • Ghoulish Gourmet Popcorn Balls (found at Walmart) “Gluten Free” “Nut Free” Contains soy. (Oct. 2012) 
  • Gimbal’s Harvest Mix jelly beans (Oct. 2013)
  • Grave Gummies (Yummy Gummies) (Oct. 2013)
  • Gummy Pirate Choppers (Oct. 2009)
  • Haribo Gummi-Bears including original and Gold-Bears minis (Oct. 2012)
  • Heath milk chocolate English toffee bar snack size “Contains almonds.” (Oct. 2012)
  • HERSHEY’S Gluten-Free Listing – Be sure to check the unsafe lists below for Hershey’s candy that may contain gluten.
  • Hershey’s Kisses (Candy Corn flavored candy, Caramel, Caramel Apple flavored filling, Milk Chocolate, Chocolate Meltaway, Pumpkin Spice, Hugs, Hugs & Kisses, Cherry Cordial Creme, Milk Chocolate with Almonds, Special Dark) (Oct. 2012)
  • Hershey’s Milk Chocolate bars and snack-size bars “Manufactured on the same equipment that processes almonds.” (Only the 1.55 oz. size in on Hershey’s gluten-free list. Oct. 2012)
  • Hershey’s Milk Chocolate with Almonds bars and snack-size bars (Only the 1.45 oz. size in on Hershey’s gluten-free list. Oct. 2012)
  • Hot Tamales – “Gluten Free” (Oct. 2012)
  • Humphrey Popcorn Balls – “Gluten Free” (Oct. 2012)
  • Jelly Belly jelly beans
  • Jelly Belly candy corn “Manufactured in a plant that processes peanuts.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Jolly Rancher hard candy and Doubles Candy (Oct. 2011)
  • Jolly Rancher Hard Candy Stix, Lollipops and Fruit Chews (Oct. 2012)
  • Jr. Mints fun size “Milk and eggs may be present. Nut Free, Gluten Free, Peanut Free” (Oct. 2012)
  • Jujyfruits (Oct. 2009)
  • Kellogg’s Spongebob Squarepants fruit flavored snacks (Oct. 2012)
  • Kraft Jet-Puffed Boo Mallows and Ghost Mallows marshmallows (Oct. 2011)
  • Lemonheads (Oct. 2012)
  • LifeSavers Gummies including Big Ring Gummies, Sweet ‘n’ Sour, and Scary Assortment (Oct. 2012)
  • Lightning Bugs gummy candy “Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts, almonds, hazelnuts, walnuts, milk and soy.” (Oct. 2012)
  • M&M’s (original, peanut, peanut butter) Check the unsafe lists below for which M&M products to avoid. (Oct. 2012)
  • Mallo Cup (Oct. 2009)
  • Marvel Heroes Candy Sticks (Hulk, Spiderman, Wolverine) – “Gluten Free.”
  • Melster Peanut Butter Kisses “Contains peanuts, milk, soy.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Mike and Ike including Original Fruits, Red Rageous, and Zours – “Gluten Free” (Oct. 2012)
  • Milky Way Midnight Bar (Original Milky Way Bars are NOT gluten-free. See the Red Unsafe List below.) Contains milk, egg, and soy. “May contain peanuts.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Mentos (Oct. 2012)
  • Mini Sour Dudes Straws (Oct. 2009)
  • Monstaz Pops (jack-o-lantern lollipops) (Oct. 2009)
  • Monster Hunt plastic monster eggs filled with candy bones, skulls and pumpkins (made for Target 2009)
  • Mounds dark chocolate fun size bars “Manufactured on the same equipment that processes almonds. Manufactured in a facility that also processes peanuts.” (Oct. 2011)
  • Necco’s list of gluten-free products (Oct. 2012)
  • Necco’s Mary Jane Peanut Butter Kisses “Contains peanuts and soy. Manufactured in a facility that also processes tree nuts, milk, and eggs.” (Oct. 2011)
  • Necco’s Sky Bar 4 in 1 chocolate bar (Oct. 2009)
  • Nestle Milk Chocolate fun size bars (Oct. 2009)
  • Nestle Raisinets (milk chocolate) fun size “Made on equipment that also processes peanuts.”
  • Nik-L-Nip wax bottles with juice
  • Now and Later (Farley’s & Sathers) (Oct. 2011)
  • Operation Gummy Candy (Oct. 2009)
  • Palmer Peanut Butter Cups (Oct. 2009)
  • PayDay peanut caramel bar snack size
  • Peanut M&M’s (Oct. 2012)
  • Pearson’s Bun candy (maple, caramel, and vanilla) (Oct. 2012 – Pearson’s FAQ’s indicate “Gluten Free”)
  • Peeps Jack-o-lanterns, Ghosts and Chocolate Mousse Cats – “Gluten Free” (Oct. 2011)
  • PEZ candy – “PEZ candy is tree nut, peanut and gluten free.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Pop Rocks (Oct. 2012)
  • Rain•Blo Bubble Gum Eyes of Terror (Oct. 2009)
  • Raisinets (Oct. 2010)
  • Razzles candy gum
  • Not all Reese’s candy is gluten-free. Seasonal-shaped candies may contain wheat starch, or gluten. Read labels carefully.
  • Reese’s Fast Break candy bars and snack size (Oct. 2012)
  • Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups snack size and miniatures (Oct. 2012)
  • Reese’s Peanut Butter Pumpkins (Oct. 2011)
  • Reese’s Pieces (Oct. 2012)
  • Reese’s Select Peanut Butter Cremes (Oct. 2011)
  • Reese’s Select Clusters (Oct. 2011)
  • Reese’s Whipps (Oct. 2011)
  • Ring Pop (Oct. 2012)
  • Sixlets – “Gluten Free” “Made in a facility that does not process nuts.” (Oct. 2013) Does contain whey/milk. 
  • Skeleton Pops (lollipops) (Oct. 2009)
  • Skittles includes Original, Sour, Wild Berry, Fizzl’d Fruits, and Crazy Core – “Gluten Free”
  • Smarties (this is the small candies sold in rolls, not Nestle’s chocolate candies) – “Contains none of the following: gluten (from wheat, barley, oats and rye), milk, egg, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, wheat, peanuts, or soy beans.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Snickers original bars, fun size and mini’s – Contains milk, soy, peanuts, and egg. “May contain almonds.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Snickers Almond – Contains milk, soy, almonds, and egg. “May contain peanuts.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Snickers Peanut Butter Squared fun size – Contains milk, soy, peanuts, and egg. “May contain almonds.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Snickers Fudge bar mini’s (Oct. 2009)
  • Snickers Dark – Contains milk, soy, peanuts, and egg. “May contain almonds.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Sour Patch Kids candy (Oct. 2012)
  • Spooky Eyes Bubble Gum – “Gluten Free” (Oct. 2013)
  • Starburst Fruit Chews includes Original, Sour and Sweet, and Tropical – “Gluten Free” (Oct. 2012)
  • Starburst Fruit Flavored Candy Corn (Oct. 2013)
  • Starburst Gummibursts and Sour Gummibursts – “Gluten Free”
  • Sugar Babies caramel candies – “Nut free, gluten free, peanut free. Contains soy and milk. Egg may be present.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Sugar Daddy Caramel Pops  – “Nut free, gluten free, peanut free. Contains soy and milk.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Sun Cups (including milk chocolate sunflower butter cups, dark chocolate sunflower butter cups, milk chocolate caramel cups, and dark chocolate mint cups) – “Does not contain gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, corn or soy. Our facility is nut and gluten-free. Contains Dairy.” (Oct. 2013)
  • Super Bubble bubble gum (Farley’s & Sathers) – (Oct. 2012)
  • Swedish Fish (Oct. 2012)
  • Sweethearts conversation hearts Forbidden Fruits (candy packaging of The Twilight Saga, New Moon the movie) (Oct. 2009)
  • Sweet’s Candy Corn Taffy – “This product is Gluten Free. Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts and tree nuts.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Timebomb Jawbreakers – “Gluten Free” (Oct. 2013)
  • Tootsie Pops (original and miniatures) – “Nut free, gluten free, peanut free. Contains soy and milk.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Tootsie Rolls midgies and snack bars – “Nut free, gluten free, peanut free. Contains soy and milk.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Transformers Candy Mix (gummy shields, fruit chews, candy shields, gum rocks) (Oct. 2009)
  • Trolli Gummy Candy Mix including Classic Bears, Big Bold Bears, and Sour Brite Crawlers (Oct. 2012) *Trolli Sour Frite Crawlers did have a cross-contamination warning on packages in 2010.
  • Wack-O-Wax lips and fangs (Oct. 2010)
  • Warheads Extreme Sour hard candy and Sour QBZ chewy cubes (Oct. 2012) *Warheads Sour Twists contain Wheat Flour.
  • Wonka Bottlecaps – (Oct. 2012)
  • Wonka Chocolate Laffy Taffy (Oct. 2009)
  • Wonka Gobstoppers – (Oct. 2012)
  • Wonka Pixy Stix (original and giant) (Oct. 2011)
  • Wonka Laffy Taffy (original, Howlin’ Laffy Taffy, and Ropes) (Oct. 2013)
  • Wonka Lik-M-Aid Fun Dip (Oct. 2012)
  • Wonka Sluggles Gummies – Made on equipment that also processes milk. (Oct. 2012)
  • X-scream Mouth Morphers Fruit Gushers – “Gluten Free” (Oct. 2009)
  • York Peppermint Patties Pumpkins – on Hershey’s Gluten Free List (Oct. 2012)


Use Caution with these treats. (May contain traces of gluten.)

  • AirHeads – On packaging: “Manufactured in a facility that processes wheat flour.” (Oct. 2011) On Airheads.com FAQs: “Airheads do not contain gluten; however, they are processed in a facility that uses wheat flour in other items, so Perfetti Van Melle does not claim that Airheads are gluten free.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Brach’s Autumn Mix – Contains soy. “Made on equipment that processes milk, egg, and soy. Milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and soy may be present in the manufacturing and packaging area.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Brach’s Candy Corn – Contains milk and soy. “Made on equipment that processes milk, egg, and soy. Milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and soy may be present in the manufacturing and packaging area.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Brach’s Caramel Apple Candy Corn –  Contains milk, soy, and natural flavor. “Made on equipment that processes milk, egg, and soy. Milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and soy may be present in the manufacturing and packaging area.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Brach’s Caramel Candy Corn – Contains milk, soy, and natural flavor. “Made on equipment that processes milk, egg, and soy. Milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and soy may be present in the manufacturing and packaging area.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Brach’s Chocolate Caramel Candy Corn – Contains milk, soy, and natural flavor. “Made on equipment that processes milk, egg, and soy. Milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and soy may be present in the manufacturing and packaging area.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Brach’s Halloween Mellowcremes – Contains soy and natural flavor. “Made on equipment that processes milk, egg, and soy. Milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and soy may be present in the manufacturing and packaging area.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Brach’s Indian Corn – Contains soy. “Made on equipment that processes milk, egg, and soy. Milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and soy may be present in the manufacturing and packaging area.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Brach’s Mellowcreme Pumpkins – “Made on equipment that processes milk, egg, and soy. Milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and soy may be present in the manufacturing and packaging area.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Brach’s Sweet and Salty Mix – Contains milk, soy, and peanuts. “Made on equipment that processes milk, egg, and soy. Milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and soy may be present in the manufacturing and packaging area.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Brach’s Milk Maid Royals Nougats  “Manufactured in a facility that also manufactures products containing traces of wheat, peanuts and/or tree nuts.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Chuckles Ju Jubes – “Packed on equipment that also packages products containing traces of milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, and/or soy protein.” (Oct. 2009)
  • Farley’s Harvest Mix and Candy Corn – This product is made by Brach’s. See the Brach’s listings.
  • Flash Pop Ring! – Contains High Maltose Syrup. “This product may contain traces of gluten, soy, peanuts, tree nuts and seed.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Hershey’s Bliss (Milk Chocolate, Milk Chocolate with Almonds, Milk Chocolate with Meltaway Center, White Chocolate with Meltaway Center, Milk Chocolate with Raspberry Meltaway Center, Dark Chocolate)  (Oct. 2012 – Although I found no gluten ingredients, this is not on Hershey’s gluten-free list 2012.)
  • Hershey’s Nuggets (Milk Chocolate, Milk Chocolate with Almonds, Milk Chocolate with Toffee and Almonds, Special Dark, Special Dark with Almonds) There does not appear to be any gluten in the ingredients, nor does the packaging have a statement warning of possible cross-contamination. Hershey’s claims that these have no gluten in them. (2012) There were, however, some readers who commented in 2010 that they had reactions to these. That doesn’t mean these candies do have gluten, but if you are like some other readers, you may experience similar reactions.
  • Hershey’s Mr. Goodbar fun size (Oct. 2012 – Although I found no gluten ingredients, this is not on Hershey’s gluten-free list 2012.)
  • Hershey’s Rolo chocolate covered caramels (Oct. 2012 – Although I found no gluten ingredients, this is not on Hershey’s gluten-free list 2012.)
  • Milk Duds (Oct. 2012 – Although I found no gluten ingredients, this is not on Hershey’s gluten-free list 2012.)
  • Palmer Fright Bites (vampire teeth) – “Manufactured on equipment which also processes peanuts, wheat, and tree nuts” (Oct. 2009)
  • Palmer Bag of Boo’s fudge bars – “Manufactured on equipment which also processes peanuts, wheat, and tree nuts” (Oct. 2009)
  • Palmer Tricky Treats (mix of Googly Eyes, Boneheads, and Pumpkin Patch chocolate candies) – “Manufactured on equipment which also processes wheat, peanut butter and tree nuts.” Be very careful with these Palmer candies. I found another package labeled Palmer Trick or Treat Mix that contains barley malt.
  • Russell Stover’s Assorted Chocolates – “Products have been produced on shared equipment with peanuts, tree nuts, eggs and wheat.” (Oct. 2009) Statement on the Russell Stover website: “Most of our products do not contain gluten from added ingredients. Those that do contain wheat gluten, such as S’Mores and the Cookies and Cream Rabbit, clearly show the presence of wheat in the ingredient listings. However, please be aware that products containing wheat are produced on equipment that’s also used to make our other products. So, we can’t rule out the possibility of cross-contact, despite efforts to prevent it. Because of that possibility, we do not declare any of our products to be gluten-free.
  • Spongebob Squarepants Gummy Krabby Patties – “Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts, almonds, wheat, and eggs.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Trolli gummy candy Sour Frite Crawlers“Packaged on equipment that also packages products containing traces of milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.” (Oct. 2010) 
  • Wonka Spooky Nerds – “Made in a facility that also processes wheat and egg.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Wonka Chewy Runts – Contains egg. “Made in a facility that also processes wheat.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Wonka Chewy Spree – Contains egg.  “Made in a facility that also processes wheat.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Wonka Shockers – “Made in a facility that also processes wheat.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Wonka SweeTarts Boo Bag – Packages of SweeTarts, SweeTarts Twist and Mini Chewy SweeTarts were labeled with “Made in a facility that also processes egg and wheat.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Wonka Mix-Ups (SweeTarts Skulls and Bones, Bottle Caps, Spooky Nerds, Howlin’ Laffy Taffy) The Laffy Taffy did not have a warning, but the other candies were labeled with this warning: – “Made in a facility that also processes egg and wheat.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Wonka Monster Treats (SweeTarts Skulls and Bones, Spooky Nerds, Howlin’ Laffy Taffy) The Laffy Taffy did not have a warning, but the other candies were labeled with this warning: – “Made in a facility that also processes egg and wheat.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Wonka Giant and Mini Chewy SweeTarts – “Made in a facility that also processes wheat.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Wonka Nerds – “Made in a facility that also processes egg and wheat.” (Oct. 2013)
  • Wonka SweeTarts – “Made in a facility that also processes egg and wheat.” (Oct. 2013)
  • Wonka SweeTarts Variety Mix – “Made in a facility that also processes egg and wheat.” (Oct. 2013)
  • Zed Candy Skulls and Bones (fruit flavored hard candy) (Oct. 2009) Not sure if these candies are out this year (2010). Last year, there were news reports of recalling this candy due to foreign material being present. To be clear, I saw no indication of them containing gluten.

Unsafe Candy and Treats (Do not eat these if you cannot tolerate gluten in your diet.)

  • 100 Grand – contains barley malt “Made on equipment that also processes peanuts, egg, and soy.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Butterfinger Crisp – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2012)
  • Chex Mix – contains wheat (Oct. 2012)
  • Clark Bar Wicked Mix (includes mini Clark, Dark Clark, Clark Coconut and Clark Peanut Butter Crunch) – contains malt flavoring, peanuts, milk, soy, wheat and barley. “Processed in a facility that also processes eggs and tree nuts.” (Oct. 2009)
  • Farley’s Chewy Mix (includes Caramel Creams, Bit-O-Honey, Slo Poke and Assorted Toffees) – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2009)
  • Frankford Fun Size Mix (Peanut Butter, Caramel and Crispy Chocolate Covered Candies) Crispy Candies contain malt extract. Contains milk and peanuts. (Oct. 2010)
  • Goetze’s Caramel Creams – Contains wheat flour, milk, and soy. (Oct. 2010)
  • Good & Plenty – contains wheat flour. (Oct. 2012)
  • HERSHEY’S gluten-free list
  • Hershey’s Cookies & Creme snack size bars – contains wheat flour “Manufactured on same equipment that processes almonds.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Hershey’s Kisses Cookies and Creme – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2010)
  • Hershey’s miniatures – contains malt (Oct. 2010)
  • Hershey’s Take 5 Bar – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2010)
  • Keebler Gripz Chips Deluxe cookies – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2009)
  • Kit Kat snack size – “Contains milk, wheat, and soy. Manufactured in a facility that also processes peanuts.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Licorice – Almost ALL brands of licorice and licorice flavored candy contain wheat flour.
  • Lindt milk chocolate with smooth filling truffle balls with jack-o-lantern wrapping – contains barley malt powder (Oct. 2010)
  • Milky Way bars, fun size and mini’s – Contains milk, egg, soy, and malted barley. “May contain peanuts.”
  • Mini Oreo packs – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2010)
  • Nestle Crunch bars and fun size – contains barley malt; “Made on equipment that also processes peanuts, nuts and wheat” (Oct. 2010)
  • Nestle Crunch Crisp – contains wheat flour and barley malt (Oct. 2010) “Contains milk and soy ingredients. May contain peanuts, nuts and wheat.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Palmer Double Crisp Googly Eyes – contains barley malt; “Manufactured on equipment which also processes peanuts, wheat, and tree nuts” (Oct. 2009)
  • Palmer Double Crisp Monster Munny – contains barley malt; “Manufactured on equipment which also processes peanuts, wheat, and tree nuts” (Oct. 2009)
  • Palmer Ghostly Goodies – contains barley malt; “Manufactured on equipment which also processes peanuts, wheat, and tree nuts” (Oct. 2009)
  • Palmer Trick or Treat Mix – contains barley malt “Manufactured on equipment which also processes wheat, peanut butter and tree nuts.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Pepperidge Farm Goldfish cheddar crackers – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2012)
  • Quaker Chewy Fright Night Chocolate Chip granola bars – contains rolled oats, malted barley, whole grain rolled wheat, whole wheat flour (Oct. 2009)
  • Reese’s Sticks wafer bars – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2009)
  • Rice Krispies Treats mini squares – contains malt flavoring (Oct. 2009)
  • Riesen Chocolate Caramels – “Contains milk, wheat, and soybeans. Processed in a facility where peanuts, hazelnuts, almonds, and other tree nuts are found.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Ritz Bits peanut butter sandwiches – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2009)
  • Snyder’s Pretzel snack sacks – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2012)
  • Stauffer’s Animal Crackers – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2009)
  • Teddy Grahams packs – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2009)
  • Toad-Ally Snax Popcorn Plus – contains wheat flour and malt “May contain traces of peanuts, tree nuts, milk, soy, wheat, and eggs.” (Oct. 2010)
  • Twix fun size – “Contains milk, soybean and wheat products. May contain peanuts.” (Oct. 2012)
  • Twizzlers (twists and rainbow twists) – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2012)
  • Twizzlers Pull-n-Peel Candy – contains wheat flour (Oct. 2012)
  • Utz Halloween Pretzel treats – contains wheat flour and malt syrup (derived from barley) (Oct. 2009)
  • Warheads Sour Twists contain wheat flour. (Oct. 2012)
  • Whoppers – contains barley malt and wheat flour (Oct. 2012)
  • Wonka Kazoozles – Contains wheat flour. “Made in a facility that also processes egg. (Oct. 2011)


[Oct. 23, 2010 – The candy list is updated! I made some changes to the list because I get so many questions and comments. First of all, you should know that the category I put the candy in is determined by me, a concerned parent, based on reading the ingredients, allergy statements, and cross-contamination warnings on candy packages I find in the stores in our area. I also review websites for product information and contact companies if necessary. If you see a date after the product, that is the last date I actually read the label. If you see any statements in quotation marks, that means I have taken it directly from the packaging. If, while I’m shopping, I read allergy statements that refer to other allergens, I may include them in my list for people avoiding them. It’s always best if you can check the ingredients of the candy yourself because it can vary if they were packaged or manufactured in different facilities or on different dates. But let’s face it, there is a lot of different candy out there. So, I hope this helps some of you.

Second, I’ve reorganized the candy list a little. The first green section is candy that I believe to be safe for people avoiding gluten. I didn’t find any questionable ingredients on the labels, nor did I find cross-contamination warnings. Or, I was able to confirm with the company through their website or emails that the candy is safe. The second section I created is for questionable candies. These are candies that appear to have no gluten in the ingredients. However, I feel uncertain about its gluten status, or the candy packaging may include a statement that warns of possible cross-contamination with gluten. Whatever, the case, I have listed the reason for being in this section so you can determine what you are comfortable eating. I personally do not allow my kids to eat any candy unless it is in the safe, green section. The last red section is for the Unsafe Candy. This is the candy that I would not recommend to anyone on a gluten-free diet. The packaging labels clearly state that the candy has gluten in the ingredients. I color-coded the sections to make it easier to determine which list you were reading. Let me know if you think that it makes it easier to read or worse.

Now, my disclosure statement: I’m not a doctor, nor an expert about candy or gluten. I’m simply someone who has been trying to keep gluten out of my family’s diet for 7+ years. I hope that the information I’ve provided helps other families, too. If you find additions or corrections to make to the list, please put them in the comments so that others may benefit from the information. Thanks. I hope you have a Happy Halloween!]

History of my Halloween Candy List:

Ever since my kids started getting candy from trick-or-treating, I’ve been trying to figure out which candy has gluten and which doesn’t. It was easy in the beginning because they didn’t really get much candy, and I could always just throw it out (or give away to non-celiacs) without them realizing it. Then, I found the list that circulates around the web every year. It’s a list that Melonie Katz and many other parents of celiac children put together. They combined resources to look up ingredients and call companies to get a list of safe and unsafe candies for celiacs. Here is the 2009 GF Candy List .

Then, my kids started having Halloween parties at school, and getting more candy from trick-or-treating. Sometimes, they would get some unusual candies that you only see at Halloween time. They are a little more difficult to look up online. As a result, I just started reading all the packages of candy in stores. I started doing it just casually, out of curiosity. Then, I started to write it down, so I could better remember come Halloween night. Now, I go to several stores (grocery, discount, dollar, etc.) to see what candy our neighbors and classmates might be offering for Halloween treats. Since not everyone is as crazy as me, I thought I would share with you my findings.


Categories : Candy, Product Advisory



I don’t have kids but love that you do this for them. It’s fabulous and so helpful!


I know this list took a lot of time and work to put together, but it is a fantastic resource for teachers, friends and families of kids who have celiac or other food allergies that require them to live gluten-free.

Great work!


[…] goodies. I made my trek to the stores last week to check out the Halloween candy and posted a list of gluten-free candy. This week, I’m going to the pumpkin farm where my daughter and I will eat apples and kettle […]


Great lists! This will really help moms too.


[…] dinner. If you’re sorting out the gluten-free candy tonight and need some help, check out the gluten-free candy list I […]


Good and Plenty is NOT gluten free! Wheat is the 3rd ingredient – sugar, corn syrup, WHEAT FLOUR! Almost all licorice contains wheat flour. Please take this off your list!


[…] Celiac Family: “Safe Gluten-Free Halloween Candy“ […]


Thanks for putting this together! What a great list. I just found out that one of the girls we invited to our Halloween party has Celiac’s disease. I plan on printing this list (both lists acutally) just to have on hand. Hopefully her mom will feel a little better about leaving her with us too!!


Gina – I’m happy I could help! How great of you to be concerned about your celiac guests.


The team at myGlutenFacts.com have developed the most comprehensive 2009 GF Candy List (over 1700 candies sold in the USA & Canada).

You can browse through the list by category, brand, GF Status or even by keyword. Every product has a dated GF Statement and GF Meter ranking, so you can easily tell which products are made in a gluten free facility.

It’s ideal to go through those bags of candy since it only takes a few seconds to get the information you need.


Thank you so much for this list! It is very helpful to me. I have to try and track down everything! My daughter is allergic to peanuts, soy & eggs so Halloween is a scary time of year for us in more than one way! Thanks again!


[…] drops, M&Ms, candy-canes, and some holiday-shaped marshmallows. Of course, you can use whatever gluten-free candy you have […]


ALRIGHT EVERYONE. I know that whoever made this was trying to help, but MOST of these items HAVE GLUTEN in them, in some form or the other. For example, candy canes are often rolled in flour before being wrapped, so they won’t stick together or to other things. Another issue is that companies will often have new leadership which will change ingredients or proccesses of manufacter and a previously gluten-free product will now contain gluten. Take Cadbury Eggs, for example. They were gluten free for so many years, and now they contain gluten. As for Hershey’s, the only Hershey’s products that are now safe for people with gluten sensitivities are their plain chocolates and jolly ranchers. M&Ms – the only ones that are currently “gluten-free” are the crunchy ones.

Most candies (and nuts) sold in packaging are processed in a factory and some type of “gluten”, i.e. flour is added to them after the processing. This is done so that the candies/nuts do not stick together in the bag/box.

“Gluten free” is not always gluten free. Google “gluten free labeling” and you will find that there are criteria that manufacturers use to say something is gluten free even though it may contain small amounts of gluten. Here’s what one website said: “To date, there is no legal definition of “gluten-free,” but there is an international standard for gluten-free products called Codex Alimentarius. The standard allows products to be labeled as gluten-free if there are less than 200 parts per million (ppm) of gluten in the final product, according to the Food Standards Agency.”

I’d stick with dark chocolates from folks we know we can trust.


Another thing – I know of a person who had an incident with dry roasted peanuts with “carmel color” by which she had a reaction. I have had the same problems. Colorings are iffy.

Also, every chocolate is usually made in multiple countries, and they are made differently in each country. So BE AWARE!

Anybody who is newly gluten intolerant should also know that many people are also (at least temporarily) lactose intolerant, so if you try something with milk chocolate that is supposed to be gluten free you may have similar symptoms because of the milk in the chocolate.


Ruth – I can certainly appreciate your concern about gluten being in candy, and everyone needs to make that decision for themselves. I offer the above lists based on my own research, and I believe the candy on the safe list above to be gluten free. To make those determinations, I review the ingredients listed on the packages and use the safe and unsafe lists at celiac.com to determine if those ingredients are gluten free. I also review any allergy statements or cross-contamination warnings listed on the packages, and indicate what is on those. If needed, I may also review manufacturer websites, send emails, or make phone calls requesting more information.

Re: food labels
Manufacturers are required to indicate if wheat in any form is used in the manufacturing of the candy, and that would include flour that is used to keep candy from sticking to together as well as added coloring and flavorings.

This press release from the FDA states “Effective January 1, 2006, the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) is requiring food labels to clearly state if food products contain any ingredients that contain protein derived from the eight major allergenic foods. As a result of the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004 (FALCPA), manufacturers are required to identify in plain English the presence of ingredients that contain protein derived from milk, eggs, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, or soybeans in the list of ingredients or to say “contains” followed by name of the source of the food allergen after or adjacent to the list of ingredients.”

Further official documents regarding food labeling:
The current regulations on food labeling in the US indicate that they are also in the process of making a determination of what “gluten free” means. The proposed recommendation is 20 ppm.
For further information on food labeling, you can check the Q&A on the FDA food labeling proposal for gluten.

You should also note that Europe’s FSA (Food Standards Agency) has changed their standards of the gluten threshold this year to 20 ppm. Companies are encouraged to update labels immediately, but they do have until Jan. 2012 to comply with the new regulation.
You can find even more information about gluten food labeling in Europe at the FSA website.

If there are specific candies on my safe list, that you think does indeed contain gluten, please let me know. I am happy to do further research to determine if it has gluten. Like you, I want to keep my family safe from gluten, too.


Ruth – If the product is made in the US or Canada, the caramel coloring should be safe. The real problem is if it was made with barley or malt syrup. Those would not have to be clearly labeled (at this time) as having gluten. Occasionally I read from people that caramel coloring can be a problem, but no one I’ve talked to has ever experienced it themselves, nor can they ever point to a specific product with caramel coloring that contains gluten. Caramel coloring in North America is made from corn, not wheat, and not barley/malt.

Gluten Free Living says “Corn is used to make caramel color in the U.S. The FDA does permit use of barley malt but all major caramel color producers say corn makes a better product.”

Registered Dietitian and respected expert on celiac disease, Shelley Case, says that “While gluten-containing ingredients can be used in the production of caramel color, North American companies are now using glucose from corn, or sometimes sucrose (table sugar). In Europe, Shelley says, companies use glucose syrup that’s derived from wheat starch, but the caramel color is highly processed and contains no gluten. Therefore, Shelley says, “Caramel color is an acceptable ingredient on the gluten-free diet and does not need to be restricted.” Read the full article by Nancy Lapid at About.com.

I believe it is the glucose syrup which is why Cadbury eggs now lists wheat in their ingredients. They use glucose syrup that is derived from wheat starch. Most people and experts consider the glucose syrup to be gluten-free due to processing. However, if the ingredient WHEAT is on the label, I will include it in the unsafe list for people to decide for themselves.


[…] gluten-free candy lists for Halloween Candy and Valentine Candy. Categories : Candy, Holidays, Product […]


Hi great website.

Watch out for the Zed Candy Halloween Products, it may be gluten free but it now comes from China, not Ireland anymore by Leaf. I just saw on google the product recall of the Halloween candy of a “foreign material”. Do a search > zed candy recall <.

Keep up the good work. JC


Julie – Thanks for the update about the Zed candies.


Thanks for warning of zed candy sweets. The web covers it about bad candy. Looks like goods made in China carry yet another health warning. They went for the cheap option !

All the best…………..Mike


[…] that I have the bad news out out of the way, consider these lists published by Celiac Family, The Gluten Free Mom, and About Celiac […]


I just came across this post while looking for ingredients in Hershey’s Nuggets Extra Creamy Milk Chocolate with Toffee & Almonds. I had 2 of those today and am having a really bad reaction. I’ve read anecdotes from others who have had bad reactions to this and other Nuggets flavors. Since Herhey’s is a bit evasive about their ingredients & they change all the time, I wanted to let you know in case others read this.


I appreciate your comments, Allison. I’ll be sure to mark this candy when I post the update for this year.


[…] out Celiac Family’s Gluten Free Candy and Sweets list as well! Please Share this […]


Thank you!! It’s great for everyone who loves candy! Not just kids! :)


Thank you! This is EXTREMELY helpful! I appreciate you putting in the time and effort to do this – and then sharing!


[…] but we had plenty of leftovers to get us through the week. I even managed to finish updating my GF Halloween Candy List this weekend. I’m making progress, but still have plenty of distractions — like […]


Please be careful of the Frankford Gummy Body Parts Halloween Candy Item# 20970. I recently purchased a bag from my local grocery store and there was visible mold on the candies. I contacted the company and this was their response:

Thank you for visiting our website. Regarding your email, Frankford has voluntarily withdrawn item #20970 from retail shelves. This withdrawal is due to elevated moisture content which has caused appearance issues and we have asked that retailers return this product to Frankford. I do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you and would like to send you some complimentary candy. Please let me know if this is okay with you and provide your address.

Customer Service Representative


Jess – Thanks for the info. Don’t want to be eating mold, I’m allergic to that, too! :)


[…] has updated her GF Candy List just in time for hallowe’en, a list that no gluten-free individual should be without!  As […]


THANKS!!! This is my first Halloween GF due to finally realizing I have a sensitivity. I’m also pregnant and NEED my chocolate. This list is awesome and will be using it all year round for my candy cravings!


Thank you, thank you, thank you – this list helps us out so much!


Thank you so much!


Thank you so much – we’ve just had our 13 yo son diagnosed and this was so helpful!


Thank you sooooo much!!! I love your blog and am so grateful for all of your helpful info!!


Thank you thank you! As a mom adjusting to my 3 year old’s celiac diagnosis this is a lifesaver!


I noticed Boo Mallows and Ghost Mallows, but I couldn’t find them in any store (during the Halloween season, of course) and haven’t been able to for years.


Johnny – Sorry you can’t get the Boo and Ghost Mallows. We had them in our stores this year. We actually used them at school for some fun counting and graphing activities. I see that you can get a box of the Ghost Mallows on Amazon.


Thank you so much for this list!! I just figured out a month or so ago that I am at least gluten intolerant (NP decided not to run tests since I was going to trial the diet either way, I have now figured out that I am, in fact, very sensitive to gluten). I didn’t feel well and was extra exhausted all last week and figured out from your list that Milky Way candies are a no-no (I stress-ate a lot of them), so thanks!!!


[…] updated the Valentine Candy List. I made some changes to the list, as I did to the Halloween Candy list last […]


you may want to be sure to mention – the Reese’s milk chocolate, filled with Reese’s Peanut Butter, net wt. 4.25 oz (the bar type) CONTAINS WHEAT.


Paula – Thanks for the additional info. I don’t think I’ve even seen those.


[…] Halloween is this weekend. Like most people, I like me a little “naughty treat” once in a very blue moon. I have found myself researching several options so I know exactly what I can and cannot have! The Celiac Family Website is always a plethora of information. I strongly recommend checking them out. Recently they published, “Safe Gluten-Free Halloween Candy.” […]


Thank you for taking the time to research all this information. I am sure this took alot of time for all who had a piece in this. My son has recently been placed on a gluten-dairy free diet, for his severe eczema and we are still learning all the ingredients for Everything, which I am sure everyone has done. I have been strict with his diet because I am unsure about all the ingredients to detect, so candy has been out of the question for him, but I am glad to inform his that his sweet tooth can still be satisfied. Thanks Again!


Michelle – Thanks for your comments. It’s always nice to hear that my efforts are appreciated. Glad you found the list helpful. If you have access to the labels, it’s always best to read them for yourself because manufacturers have been known to change them. But, hopefully, this saves you some time searching for the gluten-free goodies!


[…]  Luckily, Heather at Celiac Family has done the homework for you.  She has included a list of safe Halloween candy for both you and your GF kids.  After reviewing the list myself I immediately ran out and got a […]


This is such an awesome and helpful list. Thank you so much, Heather, for your diligence and hard work! I will be sharing this with friends.


[…] Gluten-Free Candy Lists: Sure Foods Living Allergen-Free and Gluten-Free Halloween Candy List 2011 Sure Foods Living Gluten-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2011 Jen Cafferty at GFreeLife’s 2011 Halloween Gluten Free Candy List Celiac Family: Safe Gluten-Free Halloween Candy (2010) […]


Thank you so much for publishing this site. I don’t have any children myself, but work with children a lot and have celiac myself so this is a big help when that sweet tooth comes along @ the movies. Also wanted you to know I got very sick the day I ate the candy corn dots, and I had made all my own meals that day. I went back and checked the ingredients on everything I ate that day and alas, it was the dots. The ones near me list as an ingredient modified food starch which is listed on many websites and in books as unsafe, because it is uncertain where the starch is coming from (needs to say corn starch). I assumed they were safe, because I had eaten dots before and never had a problem. Clearly, either I have gotten more sensitive or the ingredients have changed. Wanted to give you a heads up that different areas may have different ingredients. Thanks again for all you do. Btw. are you the person who wrote the book The Cake Doctor? Someone told me there is one out now that is The Cake Doctor Goes Gluten Free. If it’s you, is this true?


Kim – Thank you for letting us know about your reaction to the Candy Corn Dots. Modified Food Starch should not be the problem. Food starch used in the US is usually cornstarch. And, if it is made with wheat starch, it must be labeled as such. That being said, I’m not trying to say that the Candy Corn Dots were not your problem. Malt, barley and rye do not have to listed on labels, so that is always a possibility, especially with a seasonal product. Seasonal products are often made or packaged in separate facilities from the originals. You might want to contact the manufacturer to find out more information: Tootsie Roll Industries.

Don’t forget about cross-contamination issues too. I don’t know if you were at the movies at the time, but cross-contamination could be a problem if you were sharing with someone who was eating Whoppers or some other gluten-filled candy. Thanks for the warning. I’ll look for it in the stores, and do another check. (No, I’m not the Cake Doctor.) – Heather


I couldn’t figure out why I was having a gluten reaction– the only thing unusual that I had eaten was some Licorice Bears under the Hannaford brand (Hannaford supermarkets)

This is what the label said:


So it seemed safe.
But then I checked on their product info online, and it said this:

Allergens and Nutritional Considerations
Added Sugars, Artificial Color, Eggs, Gluten, Milk, Peanut, Soy, Wheat

So reading the label isnot always enough….


Thanks, Maria. You are right, nothing is ever guaranteed. Thanks for reminding us to be cautious.


Thank you so much for taking the time to put this list together! Its awesome!


[…] you are looking for a list of safe candy for Halloween, there is a wonderfully organized list over here on the celiac family blog.  I have also copied the information below for your […]


[…] In recognition of Halloween, here is a list from a GF blog about candy that is GF and same to consume for this weekend. Halloween candy GF […]


[…] Gluten Free Halloween candy list […]


Thank you so much for this. 2011 is our first year as gluten free and I’m glad my daughter can still enjoy trick or treating!


LOVE this list – THANK YOU for compiling it!


[…] Gluten-free Halloween candy does exist!  Image via Celiac Family. […]


[…] Other sites that might help!  The top site is allergy friendly, the bottom site is a gluten free site. Sure Foods Living Celiac Family […]


We just began to suspect my son is gluten intolorant. He’s been dealing with migraines and severe stomach aches since he was 3 – he’s now 9. This list is so very helpful. I can’t thank you enough!


I recently ate some of the Hershey’s Nuggets & I did
react to them – there must be something in there that
contains gluten.


I have also had nasty reactions to Hershey’s Nuggets… too bad, because they were my “secret indulgence” whenever I went to visit my folks. Those little creamy, chocolaty morsels used to be such great stress-relievers!! I have now substituted reading, walking the dog, and looking through seed catalogs to do the trick… as I think about those little bites of “heaven” :)


I have never before had a cross-contamination reaction but I have been having a mild yet painful reaction to something while eating 1-3 Hershey’s Nuggets Extra Creamy Milk Chocolate with Toffee & Almonds for the last couple weeks. My problem isn’t gluten accross the board either, it is wheat and wheat alone. I personally suspect the wheat is in or on the toffee bits.


The number to Hershey’s customer service is 1-800-468-1714. As Hershey’s, an otherwise responsible company, is still convinced that their Hershey’s Nuggets Extra Creamy Milk Chocolate with Toffee & Almonds is gluten free (they told me so today) I suggest that anyone who has been affected negatively give them a call. Their customer service line takes comments and complaints. To clarify my ealier conjuncture that the toffee bits are contaminated I would mention that when the still hot toffee mixture is spread, something is generally used on the spreading surface to stop it from sticking. I also couldn’t find toffee bits listed in their other products, so perhaps they are sourcing it instead of making it in-house, increasing the likelyhood of it being below the usual Hershey’s standard.


Amy – Thanks for sharing your experience. And even more thanks for the research you added! I appreciate you taking the time to share it with us. – Heather


[…] 2011. Y&#959&#965 can find a comprehensive list here. Keep in mind, b&#965t, that face paints and […]


is the wheat and the malt barley the only things that I need to look our for on the candy?


Torianna – I have found that unsafe candy usually contains gluten in the form of wheat (starch, flour, etc.), malt flavoring (barley, crisps, etc.), or cross-conatmination due to shared manufacturing equipment. However, it’s always a good idea to look through the ingredients for all forms of gluten. A complete list of unsafe ingredients can be found at celiac.com.


Thank you so much for this list! I keep coming back to it for Halloween and birthday parties, and sending it to friends who need the info you’ve provided.


Thank you so much for the work that went into this list. I am newly gluten free and was *craving* chocolate today. I went my work candy bowl and just stared at it in fear having absolutely no knowledge of what was safe or not. A Google search yielding this page and a fun-sized Butterfinger bar later, I am a happy person again :)

This list was much appreciated!


I bought mini Rolos last night because I’ve found numerous places online stating they were GF. Silly me didn’t read the label until a few minutes ago and it lists: glucose syrup (wheat) as an ingredient. I am newly GF and so I have never heard/seen this one. I am thinking they are no longer GF, right?


Stephanie – when you see “glucose syrup (wheat)” on a label it means that the sugar, in the form of glucose syrup, was derived from wheat. If you are allergic to wheat, then I definitely recommend not eating it. However, if you are simply trying to stay gluten free, then it may be OK to eat. Because it is listed as glucose, there should not be any protein (gluten) in that ingredient. So, technically, if that’s the only suspicious ingredient, it should be gluten-free. That being said, I have a hard time eating anything with the word “wheat” on it. If you are highly sensitive to gluten, proceed with caution. FYI: Glucose is often derived from wheat in Europe and other countries. In the US, glucose is more likely to come from corn. You can find more details about it on a post at Sure Foods Living.


Rolos are NOT gluten free. It states wheat on ingredients…


Jody, thanks for adding your comments about Rolos, but I’m wondering if you are looking at a specialty product? Maybe the Minis? I haven’t seen WHEAT listed on the ingredients of the regular Rolos. I have seen wheat added to other mini products that don’t have it in the regular size.


The original rollo’s are ok, the new minis that they have come out with now have glucose syrup in them. It personally made me angry when I bought them and could not eat them. Thank god I read the back before opening them.


Wanted to let you know that the jelly belly beans are normally a delicious gfree treat. However last year they came out with a new bridge mix that was very yummy and I pigged out on it. I got very sick the next day, but thought it might be from the overdose of sugar so I tried them again in limited quantities and it happened again. I contacted jelly belly after this, and they told me unequivocally that the licorice flavored and bridge mix flavored ones are NOT gfree. The bridge mix ones have some in the mix with a coating that has wheat in it. Just thought I’d pass along this info about this so that no one else gets sick.


Thanks for this information. It really helps.


[…] From Celiac Family – Safe Gluten Free Halloween Candy […]


[…] From Celiac Family – Safe Gluten Free Halloween Candy […]


On Celiac.com, they list that “Artificial Flavorings” might have gluten in them. There are two candies I am curious about that are on this “ok” list.
*Hershey’s Kisses milk chocolate
*3 Musketeers Mint fun size

These both have “Artificial Flavorings” listed, and do not say what the artificial flavorings are. Did you check with the manufacturer if the artificial flavorings are gluten free?
Thank you :)


Malinda – No, I have not contacted the manufacturer about Artificial Flavorings. My research has always shown artificial flavoring to be gluten-free. Maybe you were looking at the Safe ingredient list on Celiac.com?


Thank you so much for this list! It is obvious that it took much time and effort. I started a gluten-free diet three weeks ago. About a year-and-a-half ago, I had a stroke-like condition that has left me quite disabled in a variety of ways, including an increase in my migraine headaches. I have had migraines for years, but this new illness was a shock to say the least. I researched and found that gluten could cause migraines. I further researched and found that gluten can cause, not only celiac disease, but also another situation called gluten ataxia which attacks the neurological system with stroke-like effects. I have had dozens of tests to find out exactly what was the cause of my neurological crises (MRI, CAT, EEG, blood, etc., etc.,). All tests came back normal. When I read that gluten can cause stroke-like effects in sensitive people (not everyone–don’t get alarmed!), I immediately went on the gluten-free diet. It’s only been three weeks and I already feel SO much better. My headaches have lessened as well as other neurological symptoms. I can think better, I’m not having panic symptoms as much and my brain isn’t sending out as many weird signals and symptoms to the rest of my body. I plan to have the gluten blood test. Unfortunately, I’ve heard that you have to be eating gluten to have these tests, so I will have to go back on gluten for the test and then off again. I just want everyone to know that after a year-and-a-half of suffering, I may finally be getting some answers. For some people, gluten is poison.


[…] their candy stock for any possible contamination. To help you get started, here’s a great list of Gluten Free Halloween Candy. However, when in doubt, always make sure to read the candy’s ingredient labels or check the […]


Elisabeth – Thanks for your comments and welcome to the world of gluten-free living. I’m so glad you have finally found an answer to your health problems. Test results or not, it sounds like you’ve already found a way to start feeling better. Good health to you!


Thank you so much, this list will be very helpful to print and give copies to family, friends and my daughters pre-school class. It makes shopping easier and the times I am not there to read labels less stressful for everyone.


Manda – Great idea to share the list with family, friends, and school. Thank you for your comment.


[…] Safe Gluten Free Halloween Candy from CeliacFamily.com We pulled these Angel/Devil Costumes together two hours before our Halloween Party in Vienna. This is probably my favorite. We are Miss Scarlet and Mr. Green from Clue. We dressed up for Fasching, which is actually like celebrated as a Mardi Gras/Halloween type holiday in Austria in February. […]


[…] down on Halloween candy, make sure to check out a list of what’s GF and what’s not here. Pretzel M&Ms, damn […]


[…] Yes, I am hooked on candy…but it must be that time of year, because it’s everywhere!  As Halloween approaches, so do candy sales, discounts, and special deals for candy.  I don’t let my kids have candy treats very often, but this time of year it’s hard to say no when they know there is candy in the house.  I keep all of the candy in a bowl, which the kids then get to pick from as a reward.  It makes it easier to control intake, and I can also monitor who is taking what (except for the biggest kid of all – my husband – who helps himself without asking!).  I found this website with a huge candy list very helpful in deciding what to buy and what to avoid.  For gluten free families, this is very important to be aware of, and even more important is remembering – or keeping handy – “the list”: Safe Gluten Free Halloween Candy […]


[…] there are lists available telling which candies are safe. Here is one from Celiac Family that lists gluten-free Halloween candy that may show up in your kids’ […]


I can’t tell you how thankful I am to have found this site. I new to being gluten free and it’s a bit overwhelming sometimes. I confess I love chocolate and now have suggestions to start with and determine which work for me which don’t. Thank you!


[…] A more comprehensive list of unsafe candies for Halloween can be found at Celiac Family.  […]


I was snacking on bite sized Snickers all week and couldn’t figure out what was making me so sick! Turns out Snickers are processed in the same plant (I’ve read on the same equipment) as Milky Way, which contains barley. If you’re sensitive to cross contamination, I recommend staying away from Snickers. Baby Ruth taste better, anyway!!:)


[…] week ahead! Lots of fall and Halloween activities are keeping us busy. I posted an update to my Halloween Candy List last week, so if you’re looking for gluten information on candy this week, check it out. […]


Mandy – Thanks for sharing your experience and research with us!


I posted earlier about having a stroke-like illness earlier on this list. After many tests, I suspected that I may have Gluten Ataxia. Gluten-free eating has really helped me. However, the other day, I decided to eat some chocolate as I haven’t had any in a year-and-a-half, since this malady affected me. I did eat quite a bit because I thought it was safe for me (15-20 of the really small size Hershey’s Milk Chocolate, Special Dark and Mr. Goodbar, which are indicated as gluten-free). The next day, I had another neurological episode (shooting pain in my brain, immediate numbness of my head, major trouble thinking, tinging in my arm and leg (right side only). I think it’s because of the chocolate. Possibly not a gluten reaction this time, but maybe because of a tyramine reaction (which chocolate has). I have researched neurological ataxia (which means a variety of strange symptoms of the neurological system and brain from many causes, including gluten) and it stated not to eat tyramine foods, as well as gluten foods. So now, I’m off gluten and tyramine (doesn’t leave me much to eat, but I’ll do anything to get well). Just wanted everyone to know that if they’re having brain issues to check out tyramine as well as gluten (I don’t think that tyramine is indicated in celiac disease–just ataxia). Thanks!


Elisabeth – Thanks for your information. It occurred to me as I was reading your comment, that you may have gotten gluten if you were eating the Hershey’s miniature candy. Even though the Hershey’s milk chocolate bars, Special Dark and Mr. Goodbars are listed as gluten-free, it does not include the miniatures only the larger sizes. The miniatures are made on the same equipment that makes the Krackel miniature bars which does have gluten. So, if you were eating the miniatures, you may have gotten gluten from cross-contamination.


Thank you, Heather. I was eating the miniatures. There were also Krackels in the package which I did not eat because I wasn’t sure if they were on the gluten-free list. But, yes, you have a very good point since the miniatures are not listed as gluten-free. I very much appreciate your help, Heather. You’re great!


Hi! Thank you so much for this terrific list, I really REALLY appreciate it! I wish there was a ‘share’ button on the page so I could post to Facebook!


Great list! So very appreciated by a girl who can barely speak the word ‘wheat’ without feeling terrible! Happy Halloween!


[…] A more comprehensive list of unsafe candies for Halloween can be found at celiacfamily.com. […]


[…] Check out these lists and let them help you as you begin to make candy decisions for your family this year:  Gfreefoodie-Gluten Free Halloween Candy ListCeliacFamily-Gluten Free Halloween Candy List […]


[…] can find a long list of gluten-free candies at Celiac.com and at CeliacFamily.com. They are super specific and some even list what else is made in the same factory if it could pose […]


[…] peanut m&ms which thankfully are gluten-free! To see what candies are gluten-free, check out this great list! I’m also planning on making a delicious treat tonight that I’ll be sure to share the […]


It’s been said already, but thank you SO MUCH! This is my first Halloween as a gluten-free adult and I was starting to wonder what was ok and what was dangerous.


This is awesome!! I have a question though, you put Lemonheads in red, but when you click on the link, they are listed under their gluten free products. Am I missing something? :\ I have a teensy box in front of me waiting to be devoured…and I’m too nervous to do it!


Don’t worry, Liz. Those Lemonheads are gluten-free (as are all Ferrara Pan candies). Sorry for the confusion. Because the word “Lemonheads” has a link attached to it, my webpage changes its color to red. However, it is within the green section. If you scroll down to the Unsafe list, you will see that they are all red and contain gluten.


Thank you SO MUCH for doing all this work for our kiddos!!


Sincere thanks for this list. It’s my son’s first year trick-or-treating as a Celiac. It made the sorting process so much easier.


Good point, Teresa. I’ll have to work on that. :)


Lots of gluten hiding in these sweets! Our six year old sweet-girl thanks you for giving her the green light on her favorite yummies!!!! I thank you too; I just don’t have enough time to check it all out myself!!! TY!!!


Hi there. First of all thanks for this great work. It helps a lot to families like mine with a celiac kid at home.
I just wanted to point out that recently saw a Wonka Gobstopper Everlasting little bag and it says “Made in a facility that also processes wheat and eggs”. So it seems like sometimes it depends on the format to be completely safe or not and we always need to check the label anyways.


Javibozeman – Thanks for additions to the list. And the reminder for us to read the labels.


I checked Hershey’s website and only their milk chocolate, Carmel and cordial cherry kisses are gluten free. Please adjust your list. Several lists out there have made this same error. Thank you.


[…] ~~~> identifying gluten free candy and other goodies. We can’t assume that the miniature-sized items that are distributed on Halloween were prepared in the same way as the full-sized versions. We can’t assume that children will make wise decisions while trick-or-treating. Your grand plan is eliminate or at least minimize the role of candy in your Halloween celebration. This complete, well-researched, and updated list will help you with that challenging task. […]


[…] a complete list of gluten free Halloween candy, click […]


[…] centric websites.  Here are two I found in looking for a master list from About.com and CeliacFamily.com (updated for 2012).  Since manufacturers can change their formula without warning, ‘when in […]


Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored at work so I decided to browse your
blog on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the knowledge you present here and can’t wait
to take a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how quick your blog loaded on my phone ..

I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, great blog!


Terry – Thanks for your feedback. I appreciate the comments.


[…] is a huge list of SAFE GF candy from celiacfamily.com, a very awesome blog that I follow. That link also has lists of UNSAFE candy, which is also […]


[…] you’re looking for a more complete list of Gluten-Free Halloween Candy, check out the updated Gluten-Free Halloween Candy list, which also includes a list of unsafe candies. These are just a few new gluten-free products I […]


[…] a nice list, adapted from Celiac Family, of all the Halloween candy you and your kids can enjoy till they (and you) are […]


My son just got diagnosed with celiac disease and has to go on the gluten free diet, which I thought would ruin his Halloween etc….I know seems a small concern, but not to his 6 year old self. Thank you for this list it is something that is helping amongst all the other things I need to look up. Now to go through all the candy and separate it and then off to research the foods he can eat..thank you again for the list I know it took a lot of time to make and I appreciate it.


Crystal – So glad you found the list helpful, and Halloween wasn’t ruined. :)


According to the Hershey’s website Reese’ peanut butter cups are gluten free, but the pieces are not.
see here: http://www.thehersheycompany.com/brands/special-nutrition.aspx#/Gluten-Free

such a shame, just bought a pack as a surprise for my son. I am glad I checked before giving it to him.


Brigitte – Thanks for your comments. I realize that the Reese’s Pieces are not specifically on Hershey’s list of gluten-free candy. However, the ingredients listed on the packaging and on the website http://www.thehersheycompany.com/brands/pieces/reeses.aspx do not indicate any gluten-containing ingredients. Nor does it have any cross-contamination warnings on the packaging. Of course, you and others should always make eating decisions that you feel is best for you and/or your family.


Yoou should be ? part of a contest for one of the highest quality sites on the net.

I most certainly will highly recommend this website!

My blog … Poptropica (Stevie)


Appreciation to my father who informed me about this webpage, this blog is really amazing.


[…] Gluten-Free Halloween Candy – Celiac Family – Details and links about these items can be found at More Gluten-Free Halloween Candy Information. October 25, 2012 – You can read the 2010 update below for the …… […]


[…] Gluten-Free Halloween Candy – Celiac Family – Scroll down for the Complete Gluten-Free Halloween Candy List and unsafe halloween candy list. Check out a … Sour String, Fruit Stiks – “Gluten Free” (Oct. 2009) Fright Fingers Popcorn Kit (Oct. 2009) Frankford ‘s Bugs Gummy … Gluten-free and Gluten-safe Candy List for Halloween 2012 […]


[…] over we let the kids pick out a few pieces of candy as long as it’s gluten-free. You can use this resource to determine that. The rest goes in the garbage or traded in at the health food store (where they […]


[…] will be a lot of candy at our house soon! We will meticulously sort through the candy, check my Gluten-Free Candy List, and weed out the pieces with gluten. We usually give the gluten candy to family, friends, and/or […]


[…] monitored like environment where all food is safe might relieve a lot of stress. Here is a list of gluten-free Halloween candy brought to you by the Celiac […]


The list of GF candy has tickled my husband as he loves chocolate. My bags of Halloween candy just got smaller for the children!!!!!!!!


😀 Hope you and your husband have a great Halloween!!


This list is incorrect!!!!!!
There is gluten in the candy she has listed as gluten free!!!!
My husband got sick due to this list!!!!
Please do your own research!!!!!
Don’t trust this list!!!!


Shandy — So sorry to hear your husband got sick! You’re right, it’s always good to do your own research. However, we created the list to share research for everyone’s benefit. Can you help us with the list by telling us the candy that made him sick? Thank you.


[…] Safe Gluten-Free Halloween Candy / Celiac Family […]

Leave a Comment