- celiacfamily.com - http://celiacfamily.com -

Gluten-Free Jicama — Menu Plan July 28

Posted By Heather On July 28, 2014 @ 12:03 am In Menu Plan | 4 Comments

[1]

Jicama [2]Jicama is the theme ingredient for this week’s Gluten-Free Menu Swap. Maybe you’ve seen jicama (sometimes called yam bean or Mexican yam) at your local farmers’ market or grocery store and just passed it by because it looks like a round potato. It is a tuber like a potato, but it is very unique.

Remove the peeling and you have a white fruit inside. You can cut it into strips or cubes and eat it raw. It has a wonderfully crisp texture and a slightly sweet flavor.  Unpeeled, Jicama will keep fresh in your pantry for a few weeks, and doesn’t brown after cutting. That’s what makes it so great combined with other fruits — in a fruit salad or simply raw on a fruit platter.

You may also like to add it to other salads, soups, slaws, and stir-fries that need a little crunch. Jicama doesn’t add a lot of flavor to a dish. It adds texture and crunch. You may think of using it instead of cucumber or water chestnuts in your recipes.

Nutritionally, jicama is high in fiber and vitamin C. Just be sure to remove the peeling and stems, if present, as they contain a mild toxin.  This week, I’m adding jicama to my Chicken Salad [3], Stir-Fry, Egg Rolls [4], and Rainbow Apple Salad [5]. But, I did find some recipes with jicama that look really good, so I may need to try some of them soon.

Do you eat jicama? Tell me in the comments, your favorite ways to eat it. Don’t forget to check below our menu for more gluten-free menus, meals, and ideas for adding jicama to your meals.

Celiac Family’s Menu This Week:

Chicken Salad with curry, grapes, and pine nuts [3]

Curry Chicken Salad

Pork Egg Rolls [4]

Pork Egg Rolls

Rainbow Apple Salad [5]

Rainbow Apple Salad

Monday – Eating Out [15]

Tuesday – Cilantro Lime Shrimp [16], rice noodles, sautéed summer squash

Wednesday – Adding Jicama to my Chicken Salad [3], serving with Tropical Fruit Salad [17] and greens

Thursday – Beef and Broccoli Stir-Fry with Jicama, serving with rice

Friday – leftovers

Saturday – Gluten-Free Egg Rolls [4] with ground pork and thin strips of jicama

Sunday – Grilled Chicken Breasts, Rainbow Apple Salad [5] made with cubed jicama instead of apples

Gluten Free Menu Swap Roundup

Mom’s Plans: Gluten-Free and Dairy-Free [18]
Melissa is adjusting to her new life in Arizona by planning slow-cooker and grilled meals to keep the heat outside. Her menu includes grilled white fish and cauliflower, Hamburger Soup, Chicken Apple Sausage and Kale Soup, Pulled Pork, and Pumpkin Chili. For more recipe links, check out her full menu [18].

The Gluten Free Week: Gluten-Free
Lori has her Jicama Watermelon Salad [8] on her menu this week. She’s also planning on adding jicama to her Beef Stir Fry this week.  The rest of her meal plan includes Baked Fried Chicken, Tostadas, Cobb Salad, Turkey Burgers, and Pizza. Find more recipe links [19] at her post this week.

The Peaceful Mom: Simple Gluten-Free Menu
Kimberlee is making Crunchy Chicken Salad [20] for dinner this week. It uses celery, apple, and pecans for the crunch, but I’ll bet a little jicama in it would be great, too! On her menu this week [21], you’ll also find links for delicious gluten-free recipes for Simple Shrimp and Grits, Individual Lasagna Bake, Steak and Peppers, Chocolate Chip Pancakes, and Easy Cheese Quesadillas.

Thanks for joining us this week, check back with us next week as we share menus, recipe links, and ideas for a Quick (& Healthy!) Breakfast.

Want to join Gluten-Free Menu Swap?

  • For this week’s roundup, email your menu link to celiacfamily[AT]gmail[DOT]com. Or, simply put your menu link in the comments below.
  • Join us again next week at CeliacFamily for sharing gluten-free menus and ideas for Quick Breakfasts.
  • The Gluten-Free Menu Swap Page [22] has the current schedule of themes and hosts [23]. If you’d like to host a future week, please send me an email (celiacfamily[AT]gmail[DOT]com) with your preferred date and theme.

Need more menu ideas?

  • smallbutton [24]Laura at OrgJunkie.com [24] hosts Menu Plan Monday every week. You’ll find links to hundreds of meal plans (not necessarily gluten-free) there.
  • Or, check out some of my past menu plans [25].

 


Article printed from celiacfamily.com: http://celiacfamily.com

URL to article: http://celiacfamily.com/gluten-free-jicama-menu-plan-july-28/

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://pinterest.com/pin/create/button/?url=http%3A%2F%2Fceliacfamily.com%2Fgluten-free-jicama-menu-plan-july-28%2F&media=http%3A%2F%2Fceliacfamily.com%2Fwp-content%2Fuploads%2F2011%2F10%2FJicama2.jpg&description=Gluten-Free%20Jicama%20%26%238212%3B%20Menu%20Plan%20July%2028

[2] Image: http://celiacfamily.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/10/Jicama2.jpg

[3] Chicken Salad: http://celiacfamily.com/not-my-moms-chicken-salad/

[4] Egg Rolls: http://celiacfamily.com/gluten-free-egg-rolls/

[5] Rainbow Apple Salad: http://celiacfamily.com/rainbow-apple-salad-recipe/

[6] Jicama Cucumber Dill Simple Salad: http://bulldogbistro.com/2013/08/18/simple-summer-salad/

[7] Jicama Salad: http://pamelasglutenfreerecipes.com/vegetarian/jicama-salad/

[8] Jicama Watermelon Salad: http://www.glutenfreeweek.com/content/jicama-watermelon-salad

[9] Jicama, Zucchini, and Red Pepper Salad: http://www.bettycrocker.com/recipes/jicama-zucchini-and-red-pepper-salad/d99515c9-bb05-4be0-890a-21655fb81ecd

[10] Lime Jicama Coleslaw: http://www.livingwithout.com/recipes/Gluten_Free_Lime_Jicama_Coleslaw-2425-1.html

[11] Pulled Pork Tacos with Mango-Jicama Salad: http://www.pccnaturalmarkets.com/pcc/recipes/pulled-pork-tacos-mango-jicama-salad

[12] Salmon Lettuce Wraps with Cucumber, Jicama, and Ginger: http://www.simplyrecipes.com/recipes/salmon_lettuce_wraps_with_cucumber_jicama_and_ginger/

[13] Spicy Jicama and Orange Salad: http://www.livebetteramerica.com/recipes/gluten-free-spicy-jicama-and-orange-salad/b5eb902e-79ca-4b02-b2e2-76c4ce5aa493

[14] Tacos with Jicama Shells: http://www.primalpalate.com/paleo-recipe/tacos-with-jicama-shells/

[15] Eating Out: http://celiacfamily.com/eating-out/

[16] Cilantro Lime Shrimp: http://celiacfamily.com/cilantro-lime-shrimp/

[17] Tropical Fruit Salad: http://celiacfamily.com/tropical-fruit-salad-with-honey-poppyseed-dressing-recipe/

[18] Mom’s Plans: Gluten-Free and Dairy-Free: http://www.momsplans.com/2014/07/menu-planning-july-27-2014/

[19] more recipe links: http://www.glutenfreeweek.com/content/jicima-week

[20] Crunchy Chicken Salad: http://thepeacefulmom.com/2011/08/06/crunchy-chicken-salad-gluten-free/

[21] menu this week: http://thepeacefulmom.com/2014/07/28/gluten-free-weekly-menu-easy-gluten-free-recipes-728/

[22] Gluten-Free Menu Swap Page: http://celiacfamily.com/gluten-free-menu-swap/

[23] schedule of themes and hosts: http://celiacfamily.com/gluten-free-menu-swap/schedule/

[24] Image: http://orgjunkie.com/2014/07/menu-plan-monday-july-2814-guest-host-today.html

[25] past menu plans: http://celiacfamily.com../category/menu-plan/

Copyright © 2009 celiacfamily.com. All rights reserved.