- celiacfamily.com - http://celiacfamily.com -

Menu Plan Jan. 7 – Kale

Posted By Heather On January 7, 2013 @ 12:41 am In Menu Plan | 12 Comments

[2]

KaleHappy New Year! I hope everyone had a wonderful holiday season. I, for one, indulged a little too much in the sugar and processed foods. I enjoyed every bite of it. But now I find myself craving vegetables, especially the leafy green ones! I guess my body knows what it needs. And Kale has lots of good nutrition to contribute to a healthy diet — vitamins A, C, and K, calcium, fiber, and more.

Kale is the theme for this week’s Gluten-Free Menu Swap. I don’t eat a lot of Kale. I go through stages where I eat it, but then my consumption trails off after a few weeks. I prefer spinach in my salads, but I prefer kale when cooked. I often add spinach to my fruit smoothies, but this week I’m adding kale for the extra nutrition. I’m also making a quiche with kale, and stir-frying kale with bacon (love this!). I’m going to try kale chips again, too. To be honest, it hasn’t been a big hit with my family like I’ve read it has been for so many. But, I’m going to try it again. I’d love to know your favorite way of eating it.

Check out the Gluten-Free Menu Swap roundup below for more gluten-free menus, meals, recipe links, and ideas for adding kale to your meals.

Celiac Family’s Menu This Week:
Chicken Enchilada Soup [3]

Chicken Enchilada Soup

Tropical Fruit Salad [4]

Tropical Fruit Salad

Parmesan Tilapia [5]

Parmesan Tilapia

Monday – Chicken Enchilada Soup [3] with plain pupusas

Tuesday – Dairy-Free Bacon and Kale Crustless Quiche [6] served with Tropical Fruit Salad [4]

Wednesday – Parmesan Tilapia [5] with Rice and Green Beans

Thursday – Rosemary Pork Tenderloin [7] with Roasted Potatoes and Stir-fried Kale with Bacon [8]

Friday – Teriyaki Chicken Tenders with Steamed Broccoli and leftover rice

Saturday – leftovers

Sunday – Fish Sticks with Sweet Potato Fries and Baked Kale Chips [9]

Gluten Free Menu Swap Roundup

Angela at Angela’s Kitchen [10] has a variety of kale recipes to share this week: Mongolian Chicken and Veggies [11], Buckwheat Crepes with Sweet Potato, Mushroom, and Kale Filling [12], Squash and Kale Pizza [13], and Kale-idoscope Potato Salad [14]. I seem to recall a Kale, Apple and Pancetta Salad on her menu last week [15], too. For dinner this week, she’s serving Chicken, White Bean, and Kale Soup [16], as well as Cod in Green Tea Broth with Quinoa [17], Walnut-Crusted Chicken Breasts [18], Quinoa Turkey Burgers [19], and Ginger Beef Stir-fry [20]. Angela is also providing a handy grocery check-list for her menu this week that you can print out and take to the store with you.

Kimberlee at The Peaceful Mom [21] has a full menu to share, including breakfast and lunch options. The Ham and Egg Cups [22] and Peach Mango Smoothie [23] look especially tempting. This week’s dinners include Roast Beef, Beef and Veggie Soup [24], Baked Ham, Chebe Crust Pizza [25], and BBQ Pork. Check out her video for her Best Baked Potatoes [26], too.

Samantha at Awkward Girl Gets Fit [27] is going to try cooking kale in the pressure cooker this week. Lately, for her menus, she has started using a template to help her decide what to cook, so…This week, she has two easy nights of soup/crockpot cooking (Roasted Tomato Bisque and Crockpot Chicken with Gravy [28]), one night of stir-fry (Broccoli Beef), and three nights of meat plus two veggies (Burgers with Guacamole, Pot Roast [29], and Chicken). The other night of cooking is usually reserved for breakfast for dinner, but it looks like her family is celebrating a birthday and has opted for grilling instead. Looks like a great way to quickly put together a meal plan.

Emily at Our Frugal Happy Life [30] is having breakfast for dinner tonight. Ham and eggs is always a good option for us. For the rest of the week, she’s planning Pizza Chicken, Ring of Bologna, Chicken and Rice with homemade cheese sauce [31], Meatballs and Mashed Potatoes [32], and Cheddar Ham Soup.

Melissa at Mom’s Plans [33] is joining us for the first time this week as her family starts a 6-week trial of a gluten-free diet. Her menu is also dairy-free. If you get a chance, stop by her blog and say hello. On her menu this week [33], her family will be having Cabbage and Beef Soup with Paleo Cornbread, Hearty Hamburger Soup, Baked Egg Casserole [34], Pasta e Fagioli, and Pasta Pesto and Peas.

Thanks to everyone for joining us this week. Next week’s roundup of gluten-free menus will be at Gluten Free Goodness [35], and the theme will be hazelnuts.

Want to join Gluten-Free Menu Swap?

  • For this week’s roundup, email your menu link to celiacfamily[AT]gmail[DOT]com. Or, simply put your menu link in the comments below.
  • Next week’s roundup will be at Gluten Free Goodness [35]. The theme will be Hazelnuts.
  • The Gluten-Free Menu Swap Page [36] has the current schedule of themes and hosts [37]. If you’d like to host a future week, please send me an email (celiacfamily[AT]gmail[DOT]com) with your preferred date and theme.

Need more menu ideas?

  • Laura at OrgJunkie.com [38] hosts Menu Plan Monday every week. You’ll find links to hundreds of meal plans (not necessarily gluten-free) there.
  • Or, check out some of my past menu plans [39].

 


Article printed from celiacfamily.com: http://celiacfamily.com

URL to article: http://celiacfamily.com/menu-plan-jan-7-kale/

URLs in this post:

[1] : http://celiacfamily.comhttp%3A%2F%2Fceliacfamily.com%2Fmenu-plan-jan-7-kale%2F

[2] Image: http://pinterest.com/pin/create/button/?url=http%3A%2F%2Fceliacfamily.com%2Fmenu-plan-jan-7-kale%2F&media=http%3A%2F%2Fceliacfamily.com%2Fwp-content%2Fuploads%2F2013%2F01%2FKale.png&description=Menu%20Plan%20Jan.%207%20%26%238211%3B%20Kale

[3] Image: http://celiacfamily.com/chicken-enchilada-soup/

[4] Image: http://celiacfamily.com/tropical-fruit-salad-with-honey-poppyseed-dressing-recipe/

[5] Image: http://celiacfamily.com/break-from-plain-chicken/

[6] Dairy-Free Bacon and Kale Crustless Quiche: http://www.jennaseverythingblog.com/2012/03/05/bacon-and-kale-crustless-quiche/

[7] Rosemary Pork Tenderloin: http://cookingglutenfree.blogspot.com/2011/08/rosemary-pork-tenderloin.html

[8] Stir-fried Kale with Bacon: http://nomnompaleo.com/post/3082537932/quick-and-simple-stir-fried-kale-and-bacon

[9] Baked Kale Chips: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/melissa-darabian/crispy-kale-chips-recipe/index.html

[10] Angela’s Kitchen: http://angelaskitchen.com/2013/01/07/menu-plan-monday-january-7-2012-gluten-free-dairy-free-gfcf/

[11] Mongolian Chicken and Veggies: http://angelaskitchen.com/2012/05/14/secret-recipe-club-mongolian-chicken-and-veggies/

[12] Buckwheat Crepes with Sweet Potato, Mushroom, and Kale Filling: http://angelaskitchen.com/2012/03/07/gluten-free-ratio-rally-savory-buckwheat-crepes/

[13] Squash and Kale Pizza: http://angelaskitchen.com/2011/09/19/secret-recipe-club-squash-kale-pizza-and-plum-balsamic-chicken/

[14] Kale-idoscope Potato Salad: http://angelaskitchen.com/2011/05/13/kale-idoscope-potato-salad/

[15] her menu last week: http://angelaskitchen.com/2012/12/31/menu-plan-monday-december-31-2012/

[16] Chicken, White Bean, and Kale Soup: http://angelaskitchen.com/2008/09/05/chicken-white-bean-kale-soup/

[17] Cod in Green Tea Broth with Quinoa: http://angelaskitchen.com/2009/11/04/cod-in-green-tea-broth-with-quinoa/

[18] Walnut-Crusted Chicken Breasts: http://angelaskitchen.com/2008/08/27/walnut-crusted-chicken-breasts/

[19] Quinoa Turkey Burgers: http://angelaskitchen.com/2008/08/29/quinoa-turkey-burgers/

[20] Ginger Beef Stir-fry: http://angelaskitchen.com/2008/12/14/ginger-beef-stir-fry/

[21] The Peaceful Mom: http://thepeacefulmom.com/2013/01/07/simple-gluten-free-weekly-menu-17/

[22] Ham and Egg Cups: http://thepeacefulmom.com/2011/10/03/ham-and-egg-cups-gf/

[23] Peach Mango Smoothie: http://thepeacefulmom.com/2011/07/20/peach-mango-smoothie/

[24] Beef and Veggie Soup: http://thepeacefulmom.com/2011/10/19/easy-beef-and-veggie-soup-gf/

[25] Chebe Crust Pizza: http://thepeacefulmom.com/2011/10/11/simple-gluten-free-easy-gluten-free-pizza-crust/

[26] Best Baked Potatoes: http://thepeacefulmom.com/2011/08/11/best-baked-potatoes-vlog/

[27] Awkward Girl Gets Fit: http://awkwardgirlgetsfit.com/2013/01/06/whole30-weekly-menu-plan-01-06-12/

[28] Crockpot Chicken with Gravy: http://sosimplygood.com/2009/10/16/slow-cooker-chicken/

[29] Pot Roast: http://www.kalynskitchen.com/2007/01/how-to-make-pot-roast-in-crockpot.html

[30] Our Frugal Happy Life: http://ourfrugalhappylife.blogspot.com/2013/01/menu-plan-16-breakfast-for-dinner.html

[31] Chicken and Rice with homemade cheese sauce: http://ourfrugalhappylife.blogspot.com/2012/01/chicken-and-rice-with-cheese-sauce.html

[32] Meatballs and Mashed Potatoes: http://ourfrugalhappylife.blogspot.com/2012/06/recipe-meatballs-and-mashed-potatoes.html

[33] Mom’s Plans: http://www.momsplans.com/2013/01/menu-planning-for-january-6-2013/

[34] Baked Egg Casserole: http://www.momsplans.com/2013/01/baked-egg-ham-and-diced-potato-breakfast-casserole-dairy-free/

[35] Gluten Free Goodness: http://www.gfgoodness.com

[36] Gluten-Free Menu Swap Page: http://celiacfamily.com/gluten-free-menu-swap/

[37] schedule of themes and hosts: http://celiacfamily.com/gluten-free-menu-swap/schedule/

[38] OrgJunkie.com: http://orgjunkie.com/2013/01/menu-plan-monday-january-713.html

[39] past menu plans: http://celiacfamily.com../category/menu-plan/

Copyright © 2009 celiacfamily.com. All rights reserved.