- celiacfamily.com - http://celiacfamily.com -

Menu Plan Nov. 26 – Thanksgiving Leftovers

Posted By Heather On November 26, 2012 @ 12:30 am In Menu Plan | 11 Comments

[1]

[2]I hope everyone had a nice Thanksgiving.  Thanksgiving Leftovers is the theme for the Gluten-Free Menu Swap this week and the roundup is here. Do you still have leftovers from Thanksgiving? Or, did you eat it all? We’ve eaten most of the turkey, but still have plenty of ham and mashed potatoes left. Fortunately, I’ve found some creative ways to use up those leftovers. Perhaps you have some more great ideas to share, too? Feel free to join the fun by sending me your menu link, or simply put your ideas in the comments.

Turkey Leftovers - You can usually substitute turkey in recipes for chicken casseroles.

Ham Leftovers – You can easily substitute ham for bacon in recipes.

  • Dice leftover ham to add to salads.
  • Add diced ham to Egg Casserole [10], Omelettes, Frittatas, etc.
  • Add chunks of ham and leftover vegetables to create a quiche [11].
  • Try Ham Potato and Leek soup [12] at Simply Recipes.

Potato and other Vegetable Leftovers 

  • Make Potato Farls [13] or Potato Pancakes with leftover mashed potatoes.
  • Dice baked or roasted potatoes. Add to diced onions and sweet peppers in a skillet and make hash browns to serve with breakfast.
  • Make Egg Casserole [10] by using diced potatoes instead of frozen hash browns. You can even add some leftover vegetables to it before you bake it.
  • Fried Rice [14] is a good way to use up leftover vegetables, meat, and rice.

Want more ideas for meals this week? Check out the roundup below to see who else is sharing their gluten-free menus. As we continue with holiday themes for the Gluten-Free Menu Swap, the theme next week will be Holiday Cookies.

Celiac Family’s Menu This Week:
[7]

White Bean Chili with leftover turkey

[10]

Egg & Hash Brown Casserole with leftover ham

[15]

Easy Garlic Shrimp Pasta with leftover veggies

Monday -  White Chicken Chili [7] (with leftover turkey instead of chicken) served with rice.

Tuesday - Hamburgers [16], roasted potatoes, green beans

Wednesday - Egg Casserole [10] using leftover roasted potatoes and ham

Thursday - Flank Steak [17], roasted sweet potatoes, sautéed kale

Friday - Easy Garlic Shrimp Pasta [15] with leftover veggies

Saturday -  Chicken Teriyaki Tenders with Cauliflower Rice and Broccoli

Sunday - leftovers

Gluten Free Menu Swap Roundup

Paige at Not Missing a Thing! [18] doesn’t have any leftovers this week, but she does have a tasty menu planned. She’s starting the week with Stephanie’s Java Roast Crockpot Recipe [19] and her own recipe for Oven-Baked Chicken Cacciatore [20] and ending with take-out from Pei Wei Asian Diner [21] and Salad Dressing Chicken and Rice. Paige is also making gluten-free, dairy-free, and egg-free Drop Biscuits [22] this week.

Angela at Angela’s Kitchen [23] is making Turkey Stock with her leftover turkey bones. She’s also making Wild Rice Soup [24] with Turkey, Pumpkin Enchiladas [25], and Nachos using turkey seasoned with fajita spices! You could also use leftover ham to make her Ham and Cheese Scones [26]. This week, she’ll also be making Orange Apricot Pork Chops [27] for the slow-cooker, Beef and Almond Stir-Fry [28], and Spiced Chicken [29].

Lisa at Extraordinary Life [30] made Turkey Pot Pie and Chicken and Rice Soup [31] with leftovers over the weekend. This week, she’ll also be making Turkey Croquettes [32], Turkey and Dumplings [33], Turkey Burgers, Grilled Steaks, Pizza [34] with Turkey bits, and Almond and Romano Cheese Encrusted Pork Chops [35].

Sam at Awkward Girl Gets Fit [36] says she doesn’t have leftovers on the menu, but I’m thinking she could make those lettuce wraps for lunch with leftover turkey or ham. On her menu this week, she has dairy-free Butter Chicken [37] (yum!), Grilled Tri-Tip (yum!), Rosemary Pot Roast (yum!), and Coconut Flour Apple Pancakes (yum, yum, yum!). Too many yums? Well, you can check out her menu [36] for yourself.

Emily at Our Frugal Happy Life [38] has Cheeseburger Soup [39] and Cheeseburger Rice on her menu. She’s also making Italian Cream Cheese Chicken Casserole [40] and Easy Shepherd’s Pie [41]. Both, of which, are great ways to use up leftovers. You can make them however works for your taste and diet.

Thanks to everyone who joined us for this week’s GF Menu Swap. Join us next week at Extraordinary Life [42] for Holiday Cookies.

Want to join Gluten-Free Menu Swap?

  • For this week’s roundup, email your menu link to celiacfamily[AT]gmail[DOT]com. Or, simply put your menu link in the comments below.
  • Next week’s GF Menu Swap will be hosted by Lisa at Extraordinary Life [42]. We’ll be sharing our favorite Holiday Cookies!
  • The Gluten-Free Menu Swap Page [43] has the current schedule of themes and hosts [44]. If you’d like to host a future week, please send me an email (celiacfamily[AT]gmail[DOT]com) with your preferred date and theme.

Need more menu ideas?

  • Laura at OrgJunkie.com [45] hosts Menu Plan Monday every week. You’ll find links to hundreds of meal plans (not necessarily gluten-free) there.
  • Or, check out some of my past menu plans [46].

 


Article printed from celiacfamily.com: http://celiacfamily.com

URL to article: http://celiacfamily.com/menu-plan-nov-26-thanksgiving-leftovers/

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://pinterest.com/pin/create/button/?url=http%3A%2F%2Fceliacfamily.com%2Fmenu-plan-nov-26-thanksgiving-leftovers%2F&media=http%3A%2F%2Fceliacfamily.com%2Fwp-content%2Fuploads%2F2012%2F11%2FThanksgivingLeftovers.png&description=Menu%20Plan%20Nov.%2026%20%26%238211%3B%20Thanksgiving%20Leftovers

[2] Image: http://celiacfamily.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/11/ThanksgivingLeftovers.png

[3] Creamy Chicken: http://www.notmissingathing.blogspot.com/2012/02/creamy-chicken-pie-gluten-dairy-and-egg.html

[4] turkey leftovers: http://www.jennieo.com/recipes/collection/173-Cooking-with-Leftovers

[5] gluten-free meals: http://www.jennieo.com/recipes/collection/161-Gluten-Free

[6] Cranberry-Turkey Fried Rice: http://www.lhj.com/recipes/easy/sides/mad-about-cranberries/?page=10

[7] chili with white beans: http://celiacfamily.com/white-chicken-chili/

[8] Paleo Turkey Hash: http://www.elanaspantry.com/paleo-turkey-hash/

[9] CrockPot Turkey and Wild Rice Soup: http://crockpot365.blogspot.com/2008/11/crockpot-turkey-and-wild-rice-soup.html

[10] Egg Casserole: http://celiacfamily.com/eggs-hash-browns-breakfast-casserole/

[11] quiche: http://glutenfree100.blogspot.com/2012/02/gluten-free-ham-spinach-and-swiss.html

[12] Ham Potato and Leek soup: http://www.simplyrecipes.com/recipes/ham_potato_and_leek_soup/

[13] Potato Farls: http://celiacfamily.com/irish-potato-farls/

[14] Fried Rice: http://glutenfreehomemaker.com/2011/01/fried-rice-variations/

[15] Image: http://celiacfamily.com/easy-garlic-shrimp-pasta/

[16] Hamburgers: http://celiacfamily.com/better-burgers-gluten-free/

[17] Flank Steak: http://celiacfamily.com/marinated-flank-steak/

[18] Not Missing a Thing!: http://notmissingathing.blogspot.com/2012/11/meal-plan-monday-november-26-2012.html

[19] Java Roast Crockpot Recipe: http://crockpot365.blogspot.com/2008/11/java-roast-crockpot-recipe.html

[20] Oven-Baked Chicken Cacciatore: http://notmissingathing.blogspot.com/2012/05/oven-baked-chicken-cacciatore.html

[21] Pei Wei Asian Diner: http://www.peiwei.com/Menu/menu.aspx

[22] Drop Biscuits: http://notmissingathing.blogspot.com/2012/09/drop-biscuits-gluten-dairy-and-egg-free.html

[23] Angela’s Kitchen: http://angelaskitchen.com/2012/11/26/menu-plan-monday-november-26-2012/

[24] Wild Rice Soup: http://angelaskitchen.com/2007/02/27/chicken-wild-rice-soup/

[25] Pumpkin Enchiladas: http://angelaskitchen.com/2009/10/23/gluten-free-dairy-free-pumpkin-enchiladas-casserole/

[26] Ham and Cheese Scones: http://angelaskitchen.com/2012/08/07/gluten-free-dairy-free-ham-and-cheese-scones/

[27] Orange Apricot Pork Chops: http://angelaskitchen.com/2011/04/19/tuesdays-at-oamm-orange-apricot-pork-chops/

[28] Beef and Almond Stir-Fry: http://angelaskitchen.com/2007/04/02/menu-plan-monday-55/

[29] Spiced Chicken: http://angelaskitchen.com/2011/01/21/gluten-free-zer-friday-spiced-chicken/

[30] Extraordinary Life: http://my-extraordinary-life.blogspot.com/2012/11/menu-plan-monday-week-of-november-26th.html

[31] Chicken and Rice Soup: http://my-extraordinary-life.blogspot.com/2012/11/chicken-and-rice-soup.html

[32] Turkey Croquettes: http://my-extraordinary-life.blogspot.com/2010/02/leftover-chicken-croquettes.html

[33] Turkey and Dumplings: http://my-extraordinary-life.blogspot.com/2010/07/gluten-free-chicken-and-dumplings.html

[34] Pizza: http://my-extraordinary-life.blogspot.com/2011/01/gluten-free-pizza.html

[35] Almond and Romano Cheese Encrusted Pork Chops: http://my-extraordinary-life.blogspot.com/2012/10/almond-and-romano-cheese-encrusted.html

[36] Awkward Girl Gets Fit: http://awkwardgirlgetsfit.com/2012/11/26/menu-plan-monday/

[37] Butter Chicken: http://ditchthewheat.com/dairy-free-butter-chicken/

[38] Our Frugal Happy Life: http://ourfrugalhappylife.blogspot.com/2012/11/menu-plan-1125-cheeseburger-soup.html

[39] Cheeseburger Soup: http://ourfrugalhappylife.blogspot.com/2010/10/cheeseburger-soup-recipe.html

[40] Italian Cream Cheese Chicken Casserole: http://www.naturallyknockedup.com/italian-cream-cheese-chicken-casserole/

[41] Easy Shepherd’s Pie: http://www.simplyrecipes.com/recipes/easy_shepherds_pie/

[42] Extraordinary Life: http://my-extraordinary-life.blogspot.com

[43] Gluten-Free Menu Swap Page: http://celiacfamily.com/gluten-free-menu-swap/

[44] schedule of themes and hosts: http://celiacfamily.com/gluten-free-menu-swap/schedule/

[45] OrgJunkie.com: http://orgjunkie.com/2012/11/menu-plan-monday-nov-2612-pokemon-party.html

[46] past menu plans: http://celiacfamily.com../category/menu-plan/

Copyright © 2009 celiacfamily.com. All rights reserved.